New Books in the Science Libraries July-August 2022
Tourism in the Caribbean by David Timothy Duval (Editor)The Caribbean is one of the premier tourist destinations in the world. Changes in travel patterns, markets and traveller motivations have brought about considerable growth and dramatic change to the region's tourism sector. This book brings together a high calibre team of international researchers to provide an up-to-date assessment of the scope of tourism and the nature of tourism development in the Caribbean. Divided into three parts, the book: gives an overview of existing tourism trends in the region addresses tourism development issues, including sustainability, ecotourism, heritage tourism, community participation, management implications, and linkages with agriculture considers future trends, including an assessment of recent world events and their impacts on tourism in the region, and future trends in terms of airlift, economic sustainability and markets. A valuable resource for students of tourism and Caribbean studies, as well as governments, and national and regional tourism offices, this topical volume brings together excellent contributions to assess and analyze the state of the Caribbean tourism; past, present and future.
Call Number: sci G155.C35 D88 2004
Publication Date: 2004-03-10
Charting Louisiana by Alfred E. Lemmon (Editor); John T. Magill (Editor); Jason R. Wiese (Editor)New Orleans thrived under Spanish rule (1762-1803), linked through trade and empire to the nerve centers of the circum-Caribbean. Curator Alfred E. Lemmon's introduction in this bilingual volume explores the far-reaching ways in which the Spanish influence is evident in the city to this day, in architecture, agriculture, science, and the arts. Two additional essays by noted scholars examine other facets of the city's development during this period: Light Townsend Cummins reflects on the city's role as an outpost of the Enlightenment in the Americas, while Richard Campanella explores the growth of city planning and urbanism. The Spanish period saw shifts in the legal landscape surrounding slavery, as well as the dramatic growth of the city's population of free people of color. The daily lives of New Orleanians, and the city's constant interaction with the Caribbean and the greater Spanish empire, are documented in the surviving examples of material culture, maps, manuscripts, and artworks presented here. Distributed for The Historic New Orleans Collection
Call Number: sci GA427 .C48 2003
Publication Date: 2003-09-01
The Routledge Handbook of Scientific Communication by Christina Hanganu-BreschGiven current science-related crises facing the world such as climate change, the targeting and manipulation of DNA, GMO foods, and vaccine denial, the way in which we communicate science matters is vital for current and future generations of scientists and publics. The Routledge Handbook of Scientific Communication scrutinizes what we value, prioritize, and grapple with in science as highlighted by the rhetorical choices of scientists, students, educators, science gatekeepers, and lay commentators. Drawing on contributions from leading thinkers in the field, this volume explores some of the most pressing questions in this growing field of study, including: How do issues such as ethics, gender, race, shifts in the publishing landscape, and English as the lingua franca of science influence scientific communication practices? How have scientific genres evolved and adapted to current research and societal needs? How have scientific visuals developed in response to technological advances and communication needs? How is scientific communication taught to a variety of audiences? Offering a critical look at the complex relationships that characterize current scientific communication practices in academia, industry, government, and elsewhere, this Handbook will be essential reading for students, scholars, and professionals involved in the study, practice, and teaching of scientific, medical, and technical communication.
Call Number: sci Q223 .R668 2022
Publication Date: 2022-01-01
The Einstein-Klein-Gordon Coupled System by Alexandru D. Ionescu; Benoît PausaderA definitive proof of global nonlinear stability of Minkowski space-time as a solution of the Einstein-Klein-Gordon equations This book provides a definitive proof of global nonlinear stability of Minkowski space-time as a solution of the Einstein-Klein-Gordon equations of general relativity. Along the way, a novel robust analytical framework is developed, which extends to more general matter models. Alexandru Ionescu and Benoît Pausader prove global regularity at an appropriate level of generality of the initial data, and then prove several important asymptotic properties of the resulting space-time, such as future geodesic completeness, peeling estimates of the Riemann curvature tensor, conservation laws for the ADM tensor, and Bondi energy identities and inequalities. The book is self-contained, providing complete proofs and precise statements, which develop a refined theory for solutions of quasilinear Klein-Gordon and wave equations, including novel linear and bilinear estimates. Only mild decay assumptions are made on the scalar field and the initial metric is allowed to have nonisotropic decay consistent with the positive mass theorem. The framework incorporates analysis both in physical and Fourier space, and is compatible with previous results on other physical models such as water waves and plasma physics.
Call Number: sci QA1 .A63 no.213
Publication Date: 2022-03-15
Analysis and Partial Differential Equations on Manifolds, Fractals and Graphs by Alexander Grigor'yan (Editor); Yuhua Sun (Editor)The series is devoted to the publication of high-level monographs and specialized graduate texts which cover classical and modern analysis, partial differential equations with natural connections to geometry and the interplays between these fields and their applications to mathematical physics. Editor-in-Chief Jie Xiao, Memorial University, Canada Editorial Board Der-Chen Chang, Georgetown University, USA Goong Chen, Texas A&M University, USA Andrea Colesanti, University of Florence, Italy Robert McCann, University of Toronto, Canada De-Qi Zhang, National University of Singapore, Singapore Kehe Zhu, University at Albany, USA Please send any book proposals to Jie Xiao.
Call Number: sci QA373 .A53 2021
Publication Date: 2021-01-18
Facets of Algebraic Geometry 2 Volume Paperback Set by Paolo Aluffi (Editor); David Anderson (Editor); Milena Hering (Editor); Mircea Mustaţă (Editor); Sam Payne (Editor)Written to honor the 80th birthday of William Fulton, the articles collected in these volumes present substantial contributions to algebraic geometry and related fields, with an emphasis on combinatorial algebraic geometry and intersection theory. Featured topics include: commutative algebra, representation theory, tropical geometry, moduli spaces, Schubert calculus, quantum cohomology. The range of these contributions is a testament to the breadth and depth of Fulton's mathematical influence. The authors are all internationally recognized experts, and include well-established researchers as well as rising stars of a new generation of mathematicians. The text aims to stimulate progress and provide inspiration to graduate students and researchers in the field.
Call Number: sci QA564 .F33 2022 v.1 & v.2
Publication Date: 2022-04-07
New Frontiers for Metrology: from Biology and Chemistry to Quantum and Data Science by M. J. T. Milton (Editor); D. S. Wiersma (Editor); C. J. Williams (Editor)The use of standard and reliable measurements is essential in many areas of life, but nowhere is it of more crucial importance than in the world of science, and physics in particular.This book contains 20 contributions presented as part of Course 206 of the International School of Physics Enrico Fermi on New Frontiers for Metrology: From Biology and Chemistry to Quantum and Data Science, held in Varenna, Italy, from 4 -13 July 2019. The Course was the 7th in the Enrico Fermi series devoted to metrology, and followed a milestone in the history of measurement: the adoption of new definitions for the base units of the SI. During the Course, participants reviewed the decision and discussed how the new foundation for metrology is opening new possibilities for physics, with several of the lecturers reflecting on the implications for an easier exploration of the unification of quantum mechanics and gravity. A wide range of other topics were covered, from measuring color and appearance to atomic weights and radiation, and including the application of metrological principles to the management and interpretation of very large sets of scientific data and the application of metrology to biology. The book also contains a selection of posters from the best of those presented by students at the Course.Offering a fascinating exploration of the latest thinking on the subject of metrology, this book will be of interest to researchers and practitioners from many fields.
Call Number: sci QC1 .V33 no.206
Publication Date: 2021-12-22
Advances in Thermoelectricity: Foundational Issues, Materials and Nanotechnology by D. Narducci (Editor); G. J. Snyder (Editor); C. Fanciulli (Editor)The field of thermoelectricity has continued to develop rapidly in recent years and remains one of the most exciting areas of research for a materials physicist. The need for sustainable energy has added a technological momentum to the challenge of devising materials with exceptional properties such as low thermal conductivity, high electrical conductivity and a large Seebeck coefficient, and has triggered a global, interdisciplinary effort. More recently, research on thermoelectric materials has promoted and motivated a major research endeavor to clarify the factors affecting thermal conductivity in nanostructures as part of a more general effort to apply nanotechnology to enhance the performance of thermoelectric materials for use in thermoelectric generators and coolers.This book contains the lectures presented as Course 207 of the International School of Physics Enrico Fermi, Advances in Thermoelectricity: Foundational Issues, Materials, and Nanotechnology, held in Varenna, Italy from 15 - 20 July 2019. This comprehensive course aimed to provide students with a modern vision of the physics of thermoelectric phenomena, starting from the thermodynamics of thermoelectricity and from the physics of transport processes and demonstrating how material structure and nanostructure, together with defects, have been used to tailor the physical properties of advanced thermoelectrics. Special attention was also given to areas of current research - from spin-caloritronics to charge transport in polymers - and to a selected number of applications for heat recovery.Encompassing the full complexity of modern thermoelectricity and covering the most cogent themes relevant to current research, the book will be of interest to all those working in the field.
DNA Damage, DNA Repair and Disease by Miral Dizdaroglu (Editor); R. Stephen LLoyd (Editor)The DNA of all organisms is constantly being damaged by endogenous and exogenous sources. Oxygen metabolism generates reactive species that can damage DNA, proteins and other organic compounds in living cells. Exogenous sources include ionizing and ultraviolet radiations, carcinogenic compounds and environmental toxins among others. The discovery of multiple DNA lesions and DNA repair mechanisms showed the involvement of DNA damage and DNA repair in the pathogenesis of many human diseases, most notably cancer. These books provide a comprehensive overview of the interdisciplinary area of DNA damage and DNA repair, and their relevance to disease pathology. Edited by recognised leaders in the field, this two-volume set is an appealing resource to a variety of readers including chemists, chemical biologists, geneticists, cancer researchers and drug discovery scientists.
Call Number: sci QH465.A1 D53 2021 v.1 & v.2
Publication Date: 2020-11-18
Degrees of Latitude by Margaret Beck PritchardThe maps of the 16th, 17th and 18th centuries held by the Colonial Williamsburg Foundation provide an invaluable resource for those studying the history of settlement in America. In the colonies, maps were essential in facilitating trade and travel, substantiating land claims and settling boundary disputes.
Call Number: sci GA405 .P75 2002
Publication Date: 2002-10-08
A Checklist of the Orchidaceae of India by André Schuiteman; B. R. Kailash; Uttam Babu ShresthaAn in-depth look at India's 1,200 species of orchids. The Indian subcontinent--rightfully renowned for its ecological lushness--is home to more than 1,200 species of orchids, about a quarter of which can be found nowhere else on the planet. Fortunately, the Missouri Botanical Garden Press's new book enumerates and carefully classifies each one, following the latest insights from molecular phylogenetic studies. A Checklist of the Orchidaceae of India features typification, synonymy, distribution, habit, and conservation, as well as a key to the identification of orchid genera. The book is part of the Checklist of Indian Plants, a major collaborative project spearheaded by Peter H. Raven of the Missouri Botanical Garden, the Ashoka Trust for Research in Ecology and the Environment, and the Harvard University Herbaria.
Call Number: sci QK95 .M66 v.139
Publication Date: 2022-04-11
3D Data Creation to Curation: by Jennifer Moore (Editor); Adam Rountrey (Editor); Hannah Scates Kettler (Editor)While there has been rapid growth in the creation and use of 3D data over the last decade, the ongoing development and evolving usage of these data have left many unresolved questions about their stability, durability, and long-term accessibility. 3D Data Creation to Curation: Community Standards for 3D Data Preservation collects the efforts of the Community Standards for 3D Data Preservation (CS3DP) initiative--a large practicing community of librarians, researchers, engineers, and designers--to move toward establishment of shared guidelines, practices, and standards. Using a collaborative approach for standards development that promotes individual investment and broad adoption, this group has produced a work that captures the shared preservation needs of the whole community. Chapters cover best practices for 3D data preservation, management, metadata, legal issues, and access. Beginning with surveys of current practices, the authors provide recommendations for implementing standards and identify areas in which further development is required. A glossary of key terms and acronyms is included for easy reference. 3D Data Creation to Curation is intended for a broad audience from 3D data novices to seasoned practitioners, as well as those who may not be involved in the creation of the data but are tasked with curating, migrating, and sustaining access to these data long-term.