The Arithmetic of Polynomial Dynamical Pairs by
Princeton University Press is proud to have published the Annals of Mathematics Studies since 1940. One of the oldest and most respected series in science publishing, it has included many of the most important and influential mathematical works of the twentieth century. The series continues this tradition as Princeton University Press publishes the major works of the twenty-first century. Book jacket.
Classical and Analytical Mechanics by
Classical and Analytical Mechanics: Theory, Applied Examples, and Practice provides a bridge between the theory and practice related to mechanical, electrical, and electromechanical systems. It includes rigorous mathematical and physical explanations while maintaining an interdisciplinary engineering focus. Applied problems and exercises in mechanical, mechatronic, aerospace, electrical, and control engineering are included throughout and the book provides detailed techniques for designing models of different robotic, electrical, defense, and aerospace systems. The book starts with multiple chapters covering kinematics before moving onto coverage of dynamics and non-inertial and variable mass systems. Euler's dynamic equations and dynamic Lagrange equations are covered next with subsequent chapters discussing topics such as equilibrium and stability, oscillation analysis, linear systems, Hamiltonian formalism, and the Hamilton-Jacobi equation. The book concludes with a chapter outlining various electromechanical models that readers can implement and adapt themselves.
Effective Results and Methods for Diophantine Equations over Finitely Generated Domains by
This book provides the first thorough treatment of effective results and methods for Diophantine equations over finitely generated domains. Compiling diverse results and techniques from papers written in recent decades, the text includes an in-depth analysis of classical equations including unit equations, Thue equations, hyper- and superelliptic equations, the Catalan equation, discriminant equations and decomposable form equations. The majority of results are proved in a quantitative form, giving effective bounds on the sizes of the solutions. The necessary techniques from Diophantine approximation and commutative algebra are all explained in detail without requiring any specialized knowledge on the topic, enabling readers from beginning graduate students to experts to prove effective finiteness results for various further classes of Diophantine equations.
Holocene Evolution of the Western Louisiana-Texas Coast, USA by
"The Western Louisiana and Texas coast is vulnerable to sea-level rise due to low gradients, high subsidence, and depleted sediment supply. This Memoir describes the response of coastal environments to variable rates of sea-level rise and sediment supply during Holocene to modern time. This volume is a wake-up call about the potential magnitude of coastal change over decadal to centennial time scales"--
Matrix Analysis and Entrywise Positivity Preservers by
Matrices and kernels with positivity structures, and the question of entrywise functions preserving them, have been studied throughout the 20th century, attracting recent interest in connection to high-dimensional covariance estimation. This is the first book to systematically develop the theoretical foundations of the entrywise calculus, focusing on entrywise operations - or transforms - of matrices and kernels with additional structure, which preserve positive semidefiniteness. Designed as an introduction for students, it presents an in-depth and comprehensive view of the subject, from early results to recent progress. Topics include: structural results about, and classifying the preservers of positive semidefiniteness and other Loewner properties (monotonicity, convexity, super-additivity); historical connections to metric geometry; classical connections to moment problems; and recent connections to combinatorics and Schur polynomials. Based on the author's course, the book is structured for use as lecture notes, including exercises for students, yet can also function as a comprehensive reference text for experts.
Surveys in Combinatorics 2022 by
This volume contains eight survey articles by the invited speakers of the 29th British Combinatorial Conference, held at Lancaster University in July 2022. Each article provides an overview of recent developments in a current hot research topic in combinatorics. These topics span graphs and hypergraphs, Latin squares, linear programming, finite fields, extremal combinatorics, Ramsey theory, graph minors and tropical geometry. The authors are among the world's foremost researchers on their respective topics but their surveys are aimed at nonspecialist readers: they are written clearly with little prior knowledge assumed and with pointers to the wider literature. Taken together these surveys give a snapshot of the research frontier in contemporary combinatorics, making the latest developments accessible to researchers and graduate students in mathematics and theoretical computer science with an interest in combinatorics and helping them to keep abreast of the field.
Non-Semisimple Topological Quantum Field Theories for 3-Manifolds with Corners by 