High Resolution Optical Satellite Imagery by
The second edition of this book has been fully updated to include information on optical sensors launched since 2012 and on new developments in technology, particularly on small satellites and on constellations. There is also a new chapter on applications which looks at how products from optical sensors are used by various organisations for the benefit of end users. Information is given on acquiring images and value added products. Examples and case studies from various disciplines and regions are included.The book is a comprehensive guide to the characteristics and use of high resolution optical images from satellite-borne sensors, concentrating on sensors designed for mapping. It considers in detail the SPOT series of satellites and sensors with a ground sample distance (GSD) of less than 15m, operational since SPOT 1 and particularly the sensors launched since 1999 with GSD of less than 1mThe book explains to students, anyone working in map production and scientists working in fields other than mapping, the way in which high resolution imagery is obtained and the issues which surround its collection and use.It deals progressively with the fundamentals of mapping from imagery, followed by the key features in the design of sensors and methods of data storage and transmission, including data compression. Subsequent chapters cover the sensors, calibration, sensor models and the methods of determining the orientation elements and extracting coordinates from the images. Rigorous orientation, use of rational polynomial coefficients (RPCs) and approximate methods are covered. Results from tests showing the accuracy which can be obtained, generation of digital elevations models, their accuracy and the production of orthoimages are included, as are image processing and data fusion. Finally, future missions and the issues which face further development are discussed.High Resolution Optical Satellite Imagery is written by a team of acknowledged international experts, is the only comprehensive text on the subject and has been well received by the geospatial community.
Thematic Cartography and Geovisualization by
This comprehensive and well-established cartography textbook covers the theory and the practical applications of map design and the appropriate use of map elements. It explains the basic methods for visualizing and analyzing spatial data and introduces the latest cutting-edge data visualization techniques. The fourth edition responds to the extensive developments in cartography and GIS in the last decade, including the continued evolution of the Internet and Web 2.0; the need to analyze and visualize large data sets (commonly referred to as Big Data); the changes in computer hardware (e.g., the evolution of hardware for virtual environments and augmented reality); and novel applications of technology. Key Features of the Fourth Edition: Includes more than 400 color illustrations and it is available in both print and eBook formats. A new chapter on Geovisual Analytics and individual chapters have now been dedicated to Map Elements, Typography, Proportional Symbol Mapping, Dot Mapping, Cartograms, and Flow Mapping. Extensive revisions have been made to the chapters on Principles of Color, Dasymetric Mapping, Visualizing Terrain, Map Animation, Visualizing Uncertainty, and Virtual Environments/Augmented Reality. All chapters include Learning Objectives and Study Questions. Provides more than 250 web links to online content, over 730 references to scholarly materials, and additional 540 references available for Further Reading. There is ample material for either a one or two-semester course in thematic cartography and geovisualization. This textbook provides undergraduate and graduate students in geoscience, geography, and environmental sciences with the most valuable up-to-date learning resource available in the cartographic field. It is a great resource for professionals and experts using GIS and Cartography and for organizations and policy makers involved in mapping projects.
Basic Probability by
The second edition represents an ongoing effort to make probability accessible to students in a wide range of fields such as mathematics, statistics and data science, engineering, computer science, and business analytics. The book is written for those learning about probability for the first time. Revised and updated, the book is aimed specifically at statistics and data science students who need a solid introduction to the basics of probability.While retaining its focus on basic probability, including Bayesian probability and the interface between probability and computer simulation, this edition's significant revisions are as follows: The approach followed in the book is to develop probabilistic intuition before diving into details. The best way to learn probability is by practising on a lot of problems. Many instructive problems together with problem-solving strategies are given. Answers to all problems and worked-out solutions to selected problems are also provided.Henk Tijms is the author of several textbooks in the area of applied probability. In 2008, he had received the prestigious INFORMS Expository Writing Award for his work. He is active in popularizing probability at Dutch high schools
Brownian Motion by
Stochastic processes occur everywhere in the sciences, economics and engineering, and they need to be understood by (applied) mathematicians, engineers and scientists alike. This book gives a gentle introduction to Brownian motion and stochastic processes, in general. Brownian motion plays a special role, since it shaped the whole subject, displays most random phenomena while being still easy to treat, and is used in many real-life models. Im this new edition, much material is added, and there are new chapters on ''Wiener Chaos and Iterated Itô Integrals'' and ''Brownian Local Times''.
Archimedes Series: All the PI Series and the Catalan Series: the College Mathematics Journal Explains Why PI is a Constant by 
Combinatorial Convexity by
This book is about the combinatorial properties of convex sets, families of convex sets in finite dimensional Euclidean spaces, and finite points sets related to convexity. This area is classic, with theorems of Helly, Caratheodory, and Radon that go back more than a hundred years. At the same time, it is a modern and active field of research with recent results like Tverberg's theorem, the colourful versions of Helly and Caratheodory, and the $(p, q)$ theorem of Alon and Kleitman. As the title indicates, the topic is convexity and geometry, and is close to discrete mathematics. The questions considered are frequently of a combinatorial nature, and the proofs use ideas from geometry and are often combined with graph and hypergraph theory. The book is intended for students (graduate and undergraduate alike), but postdocs and research mathematicians will also find it useful. It can be used as a textbook with short chapters, each suitable for a one- or two-hour lecture. Not much background is needed: basic linear algebra and elements of (hyper)graph theory as well as some mathematical maturity should suffice.
Volcanoes by
VOLCANOES Since the publication of the first edition of Volcanoes in 2010, our world of volcanology has changed in exciting ways. Volcanoes have continued to erupt (some 61 eruptions with VEI magnitudes greater than 3 have taken place since 2010), and in this revised and updated edition, the authors describe the largest of these, and the ones that have had the most impact on society. Volcanoes, Second Edition, contains more than 80 new photographs and figures to better illustrate volcanic features and processes, with an updated Bibliography that includes important papers describing recent eruptions and new findings. Volcanologic research is improving the foundations of knowledge upon which all our science rests, and we briefly summarize the most important of these advances and new research tools developed over the past eleven years. The most productive of these new tools are remotely operated, constantly monitoring volcanoes and their impacts on the Earth's atmosphere from space and exploring new volcanic worlds beyond the bounds of Earth. Remotely Operated Vehicles (ROVs) are now widely available to understand better the most active volcanoes on Earth - those beneath the sea. This superlative textbook will enable students who may never see an erupting volcano to evaluate news stories about far-away eruptions, and to distinguish between overly sensational stories and factual reporting that puts facts in context. Emergency managers, land use planners, and civic officials also need to understand volcanic processes when their communities are threatened - this book will inform and guide them in their decision-making. Avoiding overly technical discussions and unnecessary use of jargon, with the important needs of civil authorities, teachers and students particularly in mind, this second edition of Volcanoes will also be of interest to general readers who are interested in these fascinating and ever-changing features of our dynamic planet.
Encyclopedia Prehistorica Sharks and Other Sea Monsters Pop-Up by
Just when you thought it was safe to go back in the water! Celebrate the New York Times best-selling 3-D look at prehistoric creatures of the deep. While dinosaurs patrolled the lands, massive prehistoric sharks, giant scorpions, and colossal squid cruised the ancient oceans -- most with just one thing in mind: eat or be eaten. Pop-up masters Robert Sabuda and Matthew Reinhart explore the prehistoric underwater world where monsters like megalodon ruled the waves. Full of captivating facts and more than thirty-five breathtaking pop-ups, this incredible volume is sure to astonish and amaze everyone from budding marine biologists to confirmed landlubbers.
