Research Guides: American Sign Language and Deaf Studies: Article Databases

Key Research Databases for American Sign Language and Deaf Studies Research

The databases listed here act as powerful specialized portals for researching education and communication issues.

Communication & Mass Media Complete
This product began as the merger of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Pennsylvania State University). CommSearch provided citation indexing of 32 journals in communication studies¸ with coverage extending to the inaugural issue of each -- some from as far back as the early decades of the 20th century. Mass Media Articles Index provided citation indexing of over 60 research journals¸ as well as major journalism reviews¸ recent encyclopedias¸ and handbooks in the area of communications studies. The combined product incorporates full text for over 200 titles and contains citation coverage for additional sources.
Coverage: 1915 - present
Education Full Text
Education Abstracts indexes core international periodicals¸ monographs¸ and yearbooks in education. Topics include a wide range of contemporary education issues¸ including government funding¸ instructional media¸ multicultural education¸ religious education¸ student counseling¸ competency-based¸ and information technology. Education Abstracts cites articles in English-language periodicals and yearbooks published in the United States and elsewhere. English language books related to education published in 1995 or later are also indexed.
Coverage: 1983 - present
Education Research Complete
Education Research Complete is a bibliographic and full text database covering scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education¸ and all educational specialties¸ such as multilingual education¸ health education¸ and testing. Education Research Complete also covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration¸ policy¸ funding¸ and related social issues. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1¸500 journals¸ as well as full text for more than 750 journals. This database also includes full text for more than 100 books and monographs¸ and full text for numerous education-related conference papers.
ERIC (EBSCOhost)
ERIC indexes education-related literature¸ beginning in 1966. The ERIC database is the world's largest source of education information¸ containing abstracts of documents and journal articles on education research and practice. The database covers descriptions and evaluations of programs¸ research reports and surveys¸ curriculum and teaching guides¸ instructional materials¸ position papers¸ and resource materials. In 1993¸ ERIC began indexing education-related books¸ including the output of major publishers. More recently it includes full-text non-journal documents (issued 1993-present). ERIC may be accessed directly at http://www.eric.ed.gov. To take advantage of many links to full-text documents through OhioLINK¸ use the connect below.
Coverage: 1966 - present
MLA International Bibliography
The MLA International Bibliography provides a classified listing and subject index for books and articles published on modern languages¸ literatures¸ folklore¸ and linguistics. This database annually indexes over 45¸000 books and articles.
Professional Development Collection
The database provides a highly specialized collection of over 500 full text journals¸ designed for professional educators.
PsycINFO
PsycINFO, produced by the American Psychological Association, is a collection of electronically stored bibliographic references--most with abstracts or content summaries. It contains citations that PsycINFO has created in electronic form. Although the references themselves are all written in English, the covered literature includes material published in over 45 countries and written in 30 languages.Coverage: 1872-present
Teacher Reference Center (TRC)
A complimentrary research database for teachers, Teacher Reference Center (TRC) provides indexing and abstracts for more than 220 peer-reviewed journals. Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 220 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.