Research Guides: Faculty Guide to eResources: E-Books

Finding E-Books in Summon

Summon

To find streaming media titles with Summon, the library user-friendly search engine, go to the Advanced Summon Search. The link is available on the library home page in the red search box.

Enter your search term(s).
From the "Show content type" drop-down menu select "Book / eBook."
Click "Search"
From the results page, select "Full Text Online" to refine your search.

Finding E-Books in the Library Catalog

Library Catalog

One way of finding e-books is by searching the Library catalog.

On the UCBA Libraries home page click the Books tab in the red search box. Click "Advanced Catalog Search."

Enter your search term(s).
From the "Material type" drop-down menu select "book."
From the "Limit all future searches to:" drop-down menu select "Online Books, Databases, and Journals."
Click "Submit" or hit "Enter."
In the results list click on the title.

Please note that you may have more than option for accessing the e-book, including off-campus access.

Selected E-Book Packages

Electronic Book Center (OhioLINK)
Electronic Book Center contains the full texts of thousands of scholarly and reference e-books from several publishers¸ covering many subject areas.
InfoSci-Books
InfoSci-Books includes full-text books and proceedings on the following topics: IT management¸ end user computing¸ data mining¸ knowledge management¸ e-commerce¸ multimedia databases¸ telecommunications¸ and distance learning in the following areas: Business Management; Computer Science; Education Technologies; Electronic Commerce; Environmental IS; Healthcare Information Systems; Information Systems; Library Science; Multimedia Information Systems; Public Information Systems; Social Science and Technologies. Coverage starts in 2000.
Project Gutenberg
Project Gutenberg is the first and largest single collection of free electronic books¸ or e-books. Michael Hart¸ founder of Project Gutenberg¸ invented eBooks in 1971 and continues to inspire the creation of eBooks and related technologies today.
O'Reilly Ebooks
Includes electronic books and videos in computer science, information technology, business and related fields from O'Reilly and other IT and business publishers. NOTE: First time, authorized UC users, need to register for an account at O'Reilly with their UC email address to access the site.
View this video to learn more about how to access O'Reilly