Research Guides: BME2000: Biomedical Engineering in the Clinical Environment: B. Design Constraints

Using Embase for Medical Device Searching

From Embase, click on the Medical Device search option near the top left.
Click Add Device name and enter medical device
Select appropriate device and click on Add device name
Choose appropriate subheadings, adverse effects, and enter any study limits.
Click show results

Be sure to:

Double check that the results are sorted by Relevance!
Add filters as needed --> especially the Device Trade Name

What parameters affected the design of the equipment?

UC Library Catalog for books and e-Books on medical devices or health devices.

Example: CRCnetBASE e-Book collection includes Medical Device R&D Handbook
See books on the subject of Medical Instruments and Apparatus -- Design and Construction

Also, see the guide on E-books in Science and Engineering.

PubMed
For medical research information
EMBASE
Do a 'Device' search; select Device from the pull down Search menu. Search for the device name and design.
Scopus (Elsevier)
Search on a combination of the device name and design as keywords

Engineering Standards may impact design considerations, for example:

ASTM Compass NOTE: If accessing from off-campus, use the Chrome browser for best results. ASTM Compass provides full-text access to the full set of ASTM’s Standards (both current and historical versions), Special Technical Publications (STPs) and Conference Proceedings, Technical Manuals, and research journals such as the Journal of Testing and Evaluation. Coverage 1931-present.

Selected books - Medical Device Design

Biomedical Technology and Devices Handbook
ISBN: 0849311403
Publication Date: 2003-08-14
Concise yet comprehensive, the Biomedical Technology and Devices Handbook illuminates the equipment, devices, and techniques used in modern medicine to diagnose, treat, and monitor human illnesses. With topics ranging from the basic procedures like blood pressure measurement to cutting-edge imaging equipment, biological tests, and genetic engineering, this book is organized to navigate smoothly from simple procedures and concepts to the more sophisticated and complex ones. Each section contains a description of the technique, its technical considerations, and its use according to its applications and relevant body systems.
Encyclopedia of Medical Devices and Instrumentation by John G. Webster (Editor)
Call Number: CEAS Reference R856.A3 E53 2006
ISBN: 0471263583
Publication Date: 2006-03-10
The articles in The Encyclopedia of Medical Devices and Instrumentation focus on what is currently useful or is likely to be useful in future medicine. They answer the question, "What are the branches of medicine and how does technology assist each of them?" Articles focus on the practice of medicine that is assisted by devices, rather than including, for example, the use of drugs to treat disease. The title is the only resource on the market dealing with the subject in encyclopedic detail.
Handbook of Human Factors in Medical Device Design by Daryle Gardner-Bonneau (Editor); Matthew Bret Weinger; Michael E. Wiklund (Editor)
ISBN: 9780805856279
Publication Date: 2010-12-13
Developed to promote the design of safe, effective, and usable medical devices, Handbook of Human Factors in Medical Device Design provides a single convenient source of information to support evidence-based design and evaluation of medical device user interfaces using rigorous human factors engineering principles.
Medical Device Design: innovation from concept to market by Peter J. Ogrodnik
Call Number: CEAS Stacks: R856 .O37 2013
ISBN: 9780123919427
Publication Date: 2012-12-04
This book provides the bridge between engineering design and medical device development. There is no single text that addresses the plethora of design issues a medical devices designer meets when developing new products or improving older ones. It addresses medical devices regulatory (FDA and EU) requirements--some of the most stringent engineering requirements globally. Engineers failing to meet these requirements can cause serious harm to users as well as their products commercial prospects. This Handbook shows the essential methodologies medical designers must understand to ensure their products meet requirements. It brings together proven design protocols and puts them in an explicit medical context based on the authors years of academia (R&D phase) and industrial (commercialization phase) experience. This design methodology enables engineers and medical device manufacturers to bring new products to the marketplace rapidly. The medical device market is a multi-billion dollar industry. Every engineered product for this sector, from scalpelsstents to complex medical equipment, must be designed and developed to approved procedures and standards. This book shows how.

Tools for locating full-text

Find Article Full-Text

When searching in an article database, find the "UC Article Linker" icon (or "Find Full Text" link in Google Scholar)
- From Article Linker, check if your desired volume/issue is available online. Otherwise, search for a print copy in the Library Catalog.
- If not online or in print, submit an Interlibrary Loan (also called ILLiad) request. ILLiad may automatically fill the request form with your journal article's details. NOTE: First time ILLiad users may need to complete a contact profile.
Use Full Text Journals to search by journal title and locate databases containing full-text.
Search by journal title in the Library Catalog for print and some (not all) electronic access options.

Google Scholar - Register your UC Libraries access

Tell Google Scholar you are with UC so that search results provide links to UC-licensed full-text. Access is indicated with a "Find Full-Text at UC" link.

Go to Google Scholar
Sign in to your Google account (or create one if needed)
Click the icon in the upper left and select “Settings”
Click on “Library Links”
Search for "University of Cincinnati."
Check the box next to "University of Cincinnati – Find Full-Text at UC” and click “Save”

LibKey Nomad - Browser Plug-In for Full Text

Download Nomad at www.libkeynomad.com. After download, enter University of Cincinnati as your institution. More details: thirdiron.com/products/libkey-nomad/

When full-text is available, a "Download PDF” prompt appears in the lower left corner. NOTE: You need to be on the article’s individual page (vs. a database search results page) to trigger this prompt. Try it out with this example from International Journal of Science Education https://www.tandfonline.com/doi/full/10.1080/09500693.2018.1540897 .

Click the "Download PDF" prompt. You may be asked to enter your UC Central Login. Nomad will track down the article PDF or direct you to other options for full-text as needed.

Request Articles and Books

Is the item you need not at UC? Request it via the online request system ILLiad.

Log in with your UC central login. First time users will be prompted to fill out a profile which will then automatically supply your information for any subsequent requests.