Chemistry

Welcome!  This Chemistry guide is your portal for information and data resources in chemistry, including books, research journals and much more. For information on library services and hours, please visit the Chemistry-Biology Library website.

Have questions or need help with chemical information research?  Contact your Chemistry Librarian, Ted Baldwin - Ted.Baldwin@uc.edu.

Current workshops - can include SciFinder, Reaxys, Python, R, LaTeX, GitHub, data management, citation managers

Data & Computational Science Series (DCSS) - a series of workshops focused on programming, HPC and data-based skills.  Free to attend!

UC Data Day - annual event sponsored by Research & Data Services and OoR Research Computing and Data. Highlights current topics and concerns surrounding research and personal data. Go to: Registration open for UC DATA Day scheduled for Oct. 8 | LiBlog. Free to attend!

The Oesper Collections in the History of Chemistry are a special jewel of UC's campus. It is one of only a few museum / library collections in the world focused solely on the history of chemistry. Collections include historical chemical apparatuses, a ca. 1900 replica laboratory, extensive library collections, and a pictures and portraits collection.

Requests for tours are welcome. We love to show off the collections! Contact mark.chalmers@uc.edu.

• More details on the Oesper Collections in the History of Chemistry, https://libraries.uc.edu/oesper 
• From the Oesper Library Collections: Digitized Rare books, 17th-18th centuries
• Oesper Museum Notes - 2-3 page article featuring a special topic on the history of chemistry and items from the collections.
• Oesper Museum Booklets on the history of chemical apparatuses, featuring various apparatuses from the collections.
• Online Gallery of the Oesper Collection's Historic Chemical Apparatus

• Research & Data Services website

• Data Management Planning Guide

Contact: Amy Koshoffer, Assistant Director, Research & Data Services: amy.koshoffer@uc.edu

Other tools and services for researchers

• Data & GIS Collab (GMP Library), 240 Braunstein Hall - large dual monitors, collaboration space, consulting on data and geospatial analysis
• Visualization Laboratory (GMP Library), 240 Braunstein Hall - large wall for collaboration & multi-input projection, consultation on data visualization
• Contact AskData@uc.edu for data, informatics, GIS project consultation, reserving lab space
• OneDrive - (access through Office 365 - https://mail.uc.edu) (storage and backup - more info) 
• Scholar@UC (data archiving, DOI/permanent URL)

• Informationist Services

  Contact AskData@uc.edu for assistance.

• Open Science Framework

  Electronic lab notebook & project management system - http://osf.uc.edu

• ORCID researcher ID tool

  Create your unique researcher "social security number"

UC Libraries access to some popular newspapers and magazines (including current day):

• New York Times
• Wall Street Journal
• Cincinnati Enquirer
• Cincinnati Business Courier

Find more by searching the Full-text E-Journal Finder or check out the Newspapers Research Guide

Music & Theater/Opera Video and Audio (with thanks to CCM's college library)

• Met Opera on Demand (video recordings)
• Kanopy video (documentaries, live performances)
• Many other performances/recordings - Streaming video and audio

Research Your History and Family 

Cincinnati Public Library

• Cincinnati Public Library (many popular e-books and books)
• New York Times direct access - Group pass instructions
• Options to get a public library card