Research Guides: Government Documents Information: Statistics & Data Sets

To locate statistical data:

1. Start with the Statistical Abstract of the United States. It may either answer your question or lead you to the publication, program, or agency that deals with the topic in depth.

2. See if there are major statistical agencies and browse their websites to see if you can locate the information needed.

3. Use a search engine. Try FedStats which searches only statistical tables.

Major Statistical Agencies

Bureau of Economic Analysis
The Bureau collects information on national and international trade, accounts, industry, and economic indicators.
Bureau of Justice Statistics
As the United States principal source for criminal justice statistics, this site collects and publishes statistics on all aspects of criminal justice in the US at the state, federal, and tribal levels.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
A source for many key economic statistics including data un unemloyments, prices, and inflation, wages, and many more specific measures, such as employment by occupation, wages by occupation and city/state, and inflaction by city/state.
Bureau of Transportation Statistics
Provides transportation data, such as, airline on-time data, flight delays, and transportation surveys. Data available covers air, land, and sea transportation and is available by region, mode of travel, and subject.
Census Bureau
Compiles many statistics about poulation and demographics, economics, foreign trade, and other topics.
National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS)
"The mission of the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) is to provide statistical information that will guide actions and policies to improve the health of the American people. As the Nation's principal health statistics agency, NCHS leads the way with accurate, relevant, and timely data."
National Agricultural Statistics Service (NASS)
Provides statistics that cover almost every aspect of U.S. agriculture through hundreds of annual surveys and statistics counts, and periodic census counts.
National Center for Education Statistics
The primary entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education. Statistics are available at the district, municipality, state, and national level covering all ages from children to adult education.
National Center for Science and Engineering Statistics (NCSES)
NCSES provides access to statistical information about science and engineering in the United States. It includes data on research and development, the science and engineering workforce, the condition and progress of STEM education, and U.S. competitiveness in science, engineering, technology, and R&D.

Data Sets

Data.gov
Find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.
Sage Data : powered by Data Planet
Data-Planet Statistical Datasets provides easy access to an extensive repository of standardized and structured statistical data. The Data-Planet repository contains more than 90 billion data points from more than 65 source organizations. The over two billion time series in Data-Planet provide immediate access to data presented in charts, maps, graphs, and table form, via multiple points of entry. There are up to 2 billion charts, maps, views, rankings, time series and tables available for use in the Data-Planet repository. All of the data have been standardized and structured, and described with up to 37 fields of metadata, including a controlled vocabulary.

Data Planet Statistical Datasets guide
Data Planet has created a user guide to the resource. check here for information on contents, searching, etc.

PolicyMap
PolicyMap is a cloud-based data and mapping platform enabling government, commercial, non-profit and academic institutions to access data about communities and markets across the U.S. It may be used for research, market studies, business planning, site selection, grant applications and impact analysis.
SimplyAnalytics (formerly SimplyMap)
SimplyAnalytics (formerly SimplyMap) is a web-based mapping application to create professional quality, interactive thematic maps and reports using thousands of U.S. demographic, business, and marketing variables. Select, sort, and compare data across multiple geographic locations and create custom reports exportable to spreadsheets. First time users must create an account to login.
Social Explorer
Social Explorer contains historical Census data from 1790 to 2000. Database tools allow you to explore Census data visually through the use of interactive data maps and also browse and download Census data in convenient formats for offline processing. You may explore the data through interactive thematic maps of Census 1790 through Census 2000; then create a report from the view of your interest to see numbers and percent breakdowns. You may also go directly to the reports section and choose the data you wish to view and download. Social Explorer also allows you to create and export map slide shows which is very convenient for viewing data over time. Coverage: 1790-present

Key Statistical Resources

Statistical Abstract of the United States (current edition)
The Statistical Abstract of the United States is the standard summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. It is also designed to serve as a guide to other statistical publications and sources.
Statistical Abstract of the United States (previous editions)
Includes annual indexes back to 1878.
Data USA
Data USA seeks to make government statistics easier to view and understand. Covers stats from sources such as: American Community Survey; Bureau of Economic Analysis; Bureau of Labor Statistics. It also includes datasets from univeristies about education and occupations.

Federal Committee on Statistical Methodology - FCSM
The Federal Committee on Statistical Methodology (FCSM) is an interagency committee dedicated to improving the quality of Federal statistics. The FCSM was created by the Office of Management and Budget (OMB) to inform and advise OMB and the Interagency Council on Statistical Policy (ICSP) on methodological and statistical issues that affect the quality of Federal data.
Historical Statistics of the United States
Historical Statistics of the United States (HSUS) Millennial Edition Online allows users to access data on social¸ behavioral¸ humanistic¸ and natural sciences including history¸ economics¸ government¸ finance¸ sociology¸ demography¸ education¸ law¸ natural resources¸ climate¸ religion¸ international migration¸ and trade - quantitative facts of American History. It is the standard source for quantitative indicators of American history. The Millennial edition is a revised¸ updated¸ and expanded version of the previous three editions of HSUS.
Coverage: Colonial Times to 2000

Other Sources for Statistics

American FactFinder (U.S. Census Bureau)
Provides population, housing, economic, and geographic data.
Consumer Price Index
Monthly reports on changes in the prices paid by urban consumers for a representative basket of goods and services.
Current Population Survey
Joint project between the BLS and Census Bureau. Estimates obtained from the CPS include employment, unemployment, earnings, hours of work, etc.
Economy at a Glance
Provides national and regional data.
Official Statistics on the Web (Univ. of Auckland)
Provides free statistics from official sources from around the world.
Producer Price Indexes
Measures the average change over time in the selling prices received by domestic producers for their output.
State and County QuickFacts
Frequently-requested Census Bureau data for the national, state, and county levels.
Statistical Programs of the United States of America
Published by the Office of Management and Budget, this annual publication lists the 13 principal statistical agency programs of the United States. Programs provide a topical listing of programs as well as a breakdown by programs by top level federal agencies.
Stats America
Find information on the demographic and workforce data for any of the 50 states.
United States Statistics (U of Texas, Austin)
Alphabetical list of statisical sites compiled by the University of Texas, Austin.