Research Guides: Gender & Law: Encyclopedias

About

Encyclopedia articles are good for background information on gender and the law topics. The introductory information found in encyclopedia articles may help you choose a specific topic for a paper or research project, or give you ideas for broadening or narrowing a topic you have already chosen.

Encyclopedias

Continuum Complete International Encyclopedia of Sexuality (Print) Call Number: REF HQ21 .I68 2004
more...less...
A completely updated one-volume edition of the 4-volume International encyclopedia of sexuality (published 1997-2001), covering nearly 60 countries and places, 10 not previously included. Includes bibliographical references. The Continuum complete international encyclopedia of sexuality covers conventional sexual issues, and also includes coverage for such topics as unconventional sexual patterns, sexual dysfunctions, gender-conflicted persons and sexual issues for the aged and mentally challenged individuals.
Record date: 10/28/2014
Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender Addresses issues of sex and gender at the personal and the social level; examines issues of identity, status, class, ethnicity, race, and nation; of sexuality and the body; of social institutions and the structures of representation. Topics include changing conceptions of "the feminine," the family and masculinity, religion, morality, cultural images, medical practice, public health, economy and society and many more.
Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender: Men and Women in the World's Cultures 2 v. (Print) The central aim of this encyclopedia is to give the reader a comparative perspective on issues involving conceptions of gender, gender differences, gender roles, relationships between the genders, and sexuality. [UC]
GLBTQ: An Encyclopedia of Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender & Queer Culture A diverse group of more than 340 experts and specialists have contributed almost 2000 signed entries in literature, arts and social sciences to the glbtq encyclopedia.
The International Encyclopedia of Human Sexuality This Encyclopedia is a comprehensive A-Z reference that defines sexuality from a broad biocultural perspective and show the diversity of human sexual behavior and belief systems
Routledge International Encyclopedia of Women: Global Women's Issues and Knowledge 4 v. (Print) This alphabetically organized encyclopedia contains 900 articles relating to global women's issues and written by approximately 450 female subject experts. [UC]
Women's Studies Encyclopedia rev. and exp. 3 v. (Print) The encyclopedia contains information about women from all fields and disciplines of study, written in non-specialist language. [UC]