Articles can offer analysis of legal policies, rules and history and can help you understand the current state of the law. Articles may also offer extensive footnotes, citing primary and secondary sources relevant to the article's topic.
Summon
Google Scholar Search
Journals
American University Journal of Gender, Social Policy & the Law (1993-current)Formerly known as: American University Journal of Gender & the Law
Ranked by the Washington & Lee University School of Law as the most cited legal periodical in the United States and selected non-U.S. regions in the topical area of gender, social policy and the law. The Journal publishes papers addressing social and political equality under the law. [H] [W] [L]
Berkeley Journal of Gender, Law & Justice (1985-current)Formerly known as: Berkeley Women’s Law Journal
The Journal publishes feminist legal scholarship that critically examines the intersection of gender with one or more axis of subordination, including, but not limited to, race, class, sexual orientation, and disability. [H] [W] [L]
Buffalo Journal of Gender, Law and Social Policy (1992-current)Formerly known as: Circles: Buffalo Women's Journal of Law and Social Policy
Formerly known as: Buffalo Women's Law Journal
The Journal publishes works that challenge traditional avenues of legal and academic thought and pursues alternative means of expressing the lives and concerns of men, women, and gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgendered, and questioning persons. [H] [W] [L]
Cardozo Journal of Law & Gender (1993-current)Interdisciplinary in outlook, the Journal publishes three issues per year on a diverse cross-section of topics, ranging from gender and sexuality, to family and children. Recent publications have included articles on the legal implications of reproductive technology and bio-engineering, rape as a war crime, foster care and gender discrimination in insurance coverage. The Journal also has the distinction of being the only publisher of a gender-related annotated legal bibliography. [H] [W] [L]
Duke Journal of Gender Law & Policy (1994-current)The Journal is an interdisciplinary publication devoted to a discussion of gender, sexuality, race, and class in the context of law and public policy. It takes an expansive view of law, engaging other disciplines including literature, sociology, anthropology, psychology, politics, and critical theory. In past years the Journal has published such wide ranging topics as Gender and Race in Adoption, HIV Law and Policy, Gender and Sports, Gender Issues in Divorce, and Queer Theory. [H] [W] [L]
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index (450 C.E. to 1500 C.E)Covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages. Not listed in the Article Resources section of the library's home page. [UC]
Gender & Society (GENDERSOCY) (1995-current)Focuses on the social and structural study of gender as a basic principal of the social order and as a primary social category, with emphasis on theory and research from micro and macrostructural perspectives. [W]
GenderWatch(1970-current) Full text collection of journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings and governmental n-g-o and special reports devoted to women's and gender issues. Contains materials dating back to the 1970's. [UC]
Gerritsen Collection (1543-1945)An international digital library that spans four centuries and documents the lives and experiences of women in public and private arenas. The database contains 265 periodicals and 4,471 monographs published from 1543-1945 in fifteen different languages. [UC]
Harvard Journal of Law & Gender (1978-current)Formerly known as: Harvard Women’s Law Journal
The nation’s oldest continuously publishing feminist law journal. The Journal is devoted to the advancement of feminist jurisprudence and the study of law and gender. By combining political, economic, historical, sociological, and legal perspectives, it seeks to clarify legal issues that have gendered aspects and implications, and to confront new challenges to full social equality. The Journal also explores the interconnections between race, class, sexuality, and gender in the law. [H] [W] [L]
Hastings Women's Law Journal (1989-current)The Journal publishes works dealing with feminism, race theory, multiculturalism, animal rights, disability rights, language rights, international human rights, criminal defendants' rights and prisoners' rights, among others. [H] [W] [L]
Journal of Gender Studies (1999-current)The Journal publishes articles relating to gender from a feminist perspective within a wide range of subject areas covering the natural and social sciences, the arts, and popular culture. [W]
LGBTQ+ SourceLGBTQ+ Source (formerly LGBT Life, formerly GLBT Life) is an index to the world's literature regarding gay¸ lesbian¸ bisexual and transgender issues. This database contains indexing and abstracts for more than 120 LGBTQ+-specific core periodicals and over 230 LGBTQ+-specific core books and reference works. The product also contains data mined from over 40 priority periodicals and over 1¸700 select titles¸ as well as full text for 50 of the most important and historically significant LGBTQ+ journals¸ magazines and regional newspapers¸ and dozens of full text monographs. The database includes comprehensive indexing and abstract coverage as well as a specialized LGBTQ+ Thesaurus containing over 6¸300 terms.
Michigan Journal of Gender & Law (1993-current)The Journal is dedicated to providing a forum for exploring how gender issues (and related issues of race, class, sexual orientation, gender identity, and culture) impact law and society. The Journal seeks to compare, contrast, and combine theoretical and practical perspectives on gender issues in order to provide a bridge between theory and practice. [H] [W] [L]
Michigan State Journal of Gender Law (2003, 2007-2008)The Journal is dedicated to providing a forum for exploring how gender issues (and related issues of race, class, sexual orientation, gender identity, and culture) impact law and society. The Journal seeks to compare, contrast, and combine theoretical and practical perspectives on gender issues in order to provide a bridge between theory and practice. [H] [W] [L]
Southern California Review of Law and Social Justice (1992-current)Formerly known as: Southern California Review of Law and Women's Rights
The Journal publishes legal narratives and analyses of case law and legislation that address the law's interaction with historically underrepresented groups and highlight the law's potential as an instrument of positive social change. [H] [W] [L]
Texas Journal of Women & the Law (1992-2009)The Journal is dedicated to publishing legal scholarship that explores the intersection of culture, race, and socio-economics with gender. [H] [W] [L]
UCLA Women's Law Journal (1991-current)The Journal focuses not only on the common struggles of women, but also on diversity as a strength in feminist legal scholarship. [H] [W] [L]
University of Maryland Law Journal of Race, Religion, Gender and Class (2001-current)Formerly known as: Margins
The Journal is dedicated to fostering intellectual discourse on issues at the intersection of public policy and the law, as well as analyzing the effects of law, policy and judicial decision on different religious, racial, ethnic, economic and social groups. Recent articles published in the Journal have explored the debate over the presence of religion in public schools, the application of the insanity defense to women suffering from postpartum depression, the legal and economic critique of eminent domain, and the impact of human trafficking in Maryland. [H] [W] [L]
Wisconsin Journal of Law, Gender and Society (1985-current)Formerly known as: Wisconsin Women's Law Journal
The Journal publishes works that examine the intersection of law and gender with issues of race, ethnicity, socioeconomic status, and sexual orientation. [H] [W] [L]
Women and the Law (Peggy)Women and the Law (Peggy) is a collection that brings together books, biographies and periodicals dedicated to womens roles in society and the law. This unique collection of materials provides a platform to research the progression of womens roles and rights in society over the past 200 years. Also included are more than 70 titles from Emory University Law Schools Feminism and Legal Theory Project which provide a platform to view the effect of law and culture on the female gender.
Women's Rights Law Reporter (1971-current)Published by the Rutgers School of Law in Newark. The oldest legal periodical in the United States focusing exclusively on the field of women's rights law, the Reporter examines legislative developments, significant federal and state court cases, judicial doctrines, litigation strategies, and the lives and careers of prominent women jurists, the legal profession, and other areas of the law or public policy relating to women's rights. [H] [W] [L]
