Exam Study Guide

This book tells the story of 15 human rights cases from around the world, including cases adjudicated by a court or commission as well as controversies decided outside the courthouse. The cases illustrate key themes, including the development of human rights norms and the work of human rights organizations; the function of individual and collective identities in human rights struggles; the role of international criminal norms in protecting human rights; globalization, foreign policy, and the economy; and human rights in a world at war. The text illustrates the dynamic interaction between advocacy and legal doctrine.

The International Criminal Court in a Nutshell is a timely and concise introduction to the International Criminal Court. After a brief history of the creation of the ICC, it covers the Court's jurisdiction and operations and the Court's procedures from the initiation of a case through trial, appeal, sentencing, and reparations. Other chapters cover the substantive law the Court applies, including modes of liability and defenses and the unique role and rights of victims in the ICC system. It also covers the ICC's complex relationships with the United Nations and the United States.

This primer presents the field of International Criminal Law (ICL), providing a concise summary of key ICL doctrines while also raising novel and interdisciplinary perspectives. Part I introduces the domain of ICL. Specific chapters are devoted to the different strands of the field's history; the web of institutions that apply and interpret ICL; how the rules of international law generally, and ICL in particular, are created; theories that attempt to explain why certain crimes are subject to international regulation; and the unique challenges posed by the principle of legality within ICL. Part II is devoted to the intersecting elements of the major crimes recognized by international law (war crimes, crimes against humanity, genocide, aggression, and terrorism), the unique development of modes of liability under international law (including superior responsibility, complicity, co-perpetration, and joint criminal enterprise), and some of the defenses that might be deployed to block or mitigate liability (immunities, amnesties, and excuses). The text ends with two synthesis chapters. The first provides an in-depth case study of Syria to illustrate the way in which members of the international community can attempt to invoke, and block access to, the architecture of ICL and related accountability mechanisms. The second revisits some of the fundamental objectives underlying ICL, the more trenchant critiques of the project of international justice, and the breadth of creativity underlying alternative mechanisms developed under the cognate fields of transitional justice and conflict resolution.

The Nutshell is intended as an introduction for students taking a first course in international criminal law as well as practitioners with little or no familiarity with the field. After a brief introduction to the history of international criminal law (from its origins through Nuremburg to the ad hoc tribunals for the Former Yugoslavia and Rwanda), it summarizes basic principles of international accountability (such as the doctrine of "legality") and concepts of international criminal jurisdiction (including "universal" jurisdiction). Several chapters focus on the International Criminal Court, in particular its substantive jurisdiction (genocide, crimes against humanity, war crimes and aggression), modes of liability and available defenses. Additional chapters cover the purposes and procedures of extradition (and its alternatives, such as "rendition") and mutual legal assistance (obtaining evidence abroad for use in criminal cases). Attention is also given to the major "transnational crimes," including terrorism, corruption, trafficking and organized crime.

This nutshell provides an overview of the international, regional and domestic human rights systems. It reviews recent developments in the field, including in the UN, European, OAS and African human rights systems and the adoption of new conventions such as those on forced disappearances and persons with disabilities. It includes chapters on the treatment of human rights treaties and norms within the U.S. legal system as well as on the role of non-governmental human rights organizations. Discover the history behind international human rights, including the institutional context from which they evolved.

This Sixth Edition of Public International Law in a Nutshell is a concise yet accurate summary of the field of public international law, covering its basic sources, actors, and procedures, and key subject matter areas, such as human rights, the law of the sea, international environmental law, the law of war, and U.S. foreign relations law. This edition is fully updated to include recent treaties, institutions, and Supreme Court decisions.

This Understanding treatise is divided into four parts: The first part of Understanding International Criminal Law provides a general overview of international criminal law, including the sources of such law, important international criminal law doctrines and concepts, definitions of key terms that appear throughout the book, and various principles of jurisdiction that form the basis for the application of domestic and international law. The second part of the book focuses on a crafted selection of areas of international criminal law. While not exhaustive, the authors have provided explanation and analysis of crimes that cover a wide array of topics that will introduce the reader to many of the most important, timely, and developing areas of international criminal law. The selected topics include developing areas such as computer and internet crimes and human trafficking, and older, more traditional areas such as piracy, narcotics trafficking, and terrorism. The book provides materials on both violent and non-violent crimes. The third part of Understanding International Criminal Law covers procedural issues. This portion of the book considers the extraterritorial application of the U.S. Constitution, including the 4th, 5th, and 6th Amendments, immunities from jurisdiction, international evidence gathering procedures, obtaining people from abroad, including through abduction, and post-conviction issues such as prisoner transfer. The final part of this treatise introduces the reader to the four crimes of most concern to the international community--Aggression, Genocide, Crimes Against Humanity, and War Crimes. The book also examines the various courts and mechanisms used to bring those accused of these atrocities to justice, beginning with the Nuremberg and Tokyo precedents. Examination of these early forms of international tribunal are followed by materials examining more recent courts and mechanisms, including the International Criminal Court, Ad Hoc tribunals, hybrid tribunals and other creative variations.

This text explains what international law is, why it exists, and the basic subjects it covers. The law of treaties is given particular attention. Understanding International Law also provides introductory coverage of topics of current relevance, such as terrorism, international criminal law, use and applicability of international law in United States courts, and the law governing the use of military force.

Black Letter Outlines are designed to help a law student recognize and understand the basic principles and issues of law covered in a law school course.This Black Letter Outline covers: Rights of Individuals; Human Rights & The United Nations; Fundamental Human Rights; Newly Emerging Rights; Fundamental Rights Recognized as Customary International Law; Derogation from Protection of Rights; The International Courts; Regional Organizations; Regional Human Rights Law & Institutions; Humanitarian Intervention by the U.N.; Humanitarian Intervention by States; The Humanitarian Law of Armed Conflict; Sources of Human Rights Law; General Principles of Law; Extradition; and Enforcement of Human Rights Law in the U.S. & other Domestic Courts.

This outline covers the concept of Public International law, sources of International Law, International Law and Municipal law, States, State Jurisdiction, IGOs, International Dispute Settlement, International Human Rights Law, Armed Conflict, Law of the Sea, Air and Space Law, International Environmental Law, and International Criminal Law.

This text offers multiple choice questions and a final practice essay exam covering a wide array of areas likely to be addressed in any International Law course. The areas covered include: Principles of International Law; Jurisdiction; Sources of International Law; The United Nations; The Use of Force and Humanitarian Law; International Criminal and Human Rights Law; Indigenous Peoples; International Environmental Law; The Law of the Sea; and International Trade Law.

This book provides a foundation for students studying international law who need to supplement knowledge from their courses or obtain a quick overview to prepare for an exam. The topics covered range from the historic foundations of international law (including an overview of the subject's founders) to the laws of wars and use of force. The book contains information on wars ranging from the 100-years war to Vietnam and the one in Iraq. The book provides a comprehensive overview of state formation and obligations, including state requirements to treat all individuals (citizens, immigrants, and aliens) humanely. Students who review the state responsibility chapter will obtain an approach to writing essay questions on international law or briefs for international tribunals.