Exam Study Guide

This title contains briefs for each major case in Sitkoff and Dukeminier's Wills, Trusts, and Estates 11th edition casebook. It includes the black letter law, facts, majority opinion, concurrences, and dissents, as well as analysis of the case.

Concise Restatements, compilations of provisions from The American Law Institute's influential Restatements of the Law, provide a compact and comprehensive overview of the area of law they encompass. Condensing the seven volumes of the Restatement Third of Trusts and the Restatement Third of Property (Wills and Other Donative Transfers) into a single user-friendly volume, this Concise Restatement sets forth the black-letter principles of the law of trusts and estates, including relevant explanatory commentary and helpful illustrations that illuminate the law and the policies underlying it.

Nutshells are little paperback books that give a concise overview of an area of law. This nutshell provides an overview of the rules and principles of estates and future interests, including concurrent estates, marital estates (including the modern elective share), and powers of appointment. It includes new innovations from the Restatement 3d of Property, modernizing the law of future interests and dramatically changing the Rule Against Perpetuities. With respect to powers of appointment, the book incorporates the clarifications and modernizations of the law in the Restatement 3d of Property and the Uniform Powers of Appointment Act (2013, with subsequent amendments). The book also has exercises, with answers at the back.

Summarizes the law and offers critical perspectives on the federal income taxation of estates, trusts, and beneficiaries, including the decedent's final income tax return; classification of estates and trusts; income in respect of a decedent; distributable net income; simple and complex trusts; distributions; grantor trusts; charitable trusts; and foreign trusts. Additional chapters cover basic income, gift and estate tax concepts, accumulation distributions, and specially treated trusts.

CALI currently offers interactive exercises for Wills & Trusts students. You will need to set up a password to use CALI online. To set up a username and password, you will be asked to enter UC Law’s authorization code. You can get this code from any reference librarian or at the Circulation Desk.

This publication contains briefs for each major case in the casebook. High court briefs present the essential facts, issue, decision, and rationale for each. The briefs are followed by a useful legal analysis that provides extra tips and contextual background, connecting the case to the broader concepts being developed. The book also supplies case vocabulary, which defines new or unusual legal words and, to enhance the reader’s recall, there is a corresponding memory graphic for each brief that portrays an entertaining visual representation of the relevant facts or law of the case.

This publication contains briefs for each major case in the casebook. High court briefs present the essential facts, issue, decision, and rationale for each. The briefs are followed by a useful legal analysis that provides extra tips and contextual background, connecting the case to the broader concepts being developed. The book also supplies case vocabulary, which defines new or unusual legal words and, to enhance the reader’s recall, there is a corresponding memory graphic for each brief that portrays an entertaining visual representation of the relevant facts or law of the case.

This book is a thorough introduction to the vast body of law that governs the making of gifts at death. It covers intestacy; execution and revocation of wills; will contests and the testator; how wills work; nonprobate property; future interests; creation, modification, and revocation of trusts; trusts and beneficiaries' interests; powers of appointment; revocable trusts; trust duration and the Rule Against Perpetuities; protection of the family; dealing with illness and disability; charitable trusts; fiduciary obligations; and wealth transfer taxation. Overviews and Tables of Contents in each chapter act as a roadmap to guide you through topics, showing you how each relates to the larger legal framework. FAQs clarify points of law and help you avoid common mistakes and misconceptions. Sidebars give fascinating additional detail from legal history, policy, famous cases and more. The graphic design supports your visual learning, and features such as bolded key terms, summaries, and Connections help reinforce your understanding while giving you ample opportunity for self-review.

This Nutshell presents an introduction to basic concepts and techniques of estate planning. Subjects covered include transfers of property at death by will or intestacy; inter vivos gifts; survivor interests; revocable and irrevocable trusts; community property; life insurance; retirement, disability and death benefits; charitable trusts; future interests; fiduciary administration; and federal estate and gift taxes.

The four hour audio lecture on compact disc on future interests covers present possessory estates, such as fee simple, fee tail, life estates, fee simple determinable, fee simple subject to condition subsequent, and fee simple subject to executory limitation. It also discusses future interests, reversion, possibility of reverter, power of termination or right of reentry, vested remainder absolute, vested remainder subject to partial divestment, vested remainder subject to total divestment, contingent remainder, and executory interests. Other topics include rules affecting the transfer of property, doctrine of merger, doctrine of destructibility of contingent remainders, Shelly's case, doctrine of worthier title, and the rule against perpetuities.

Professor Stanley M. Johanson condenses wills and trusts into one five hour lecture. Included are exam tips and hypotheticals to help you master the subject. Tracks cover Intestate Succession; Execution; Holographic Wills; Conditional Wills; Revocation; Dependent Relative Revocation; Lapsed Gifts and Anti-Lapse Statutes; Class Gifts; Changes in the Family; Types of Testamentary Gifts; Ademption; Disinheritance; Nonprobate Assets; Elective Share Statute; Will Contests; Lack of Testamentary Capacity; Undue Influence; Creditors Claims; Creation of a Trust; Revocable Trusts; Charitable Trusts; Honorary Trusts; Resulting Trusts; Constructive Trusts; Spendthrift Trusts; Self-Dealing; Investments; Termination; and Powers of Appointment.

This book is part of the concise hornbook series. Concise hornbooks are condensed versions of the more in-depth hornbook. This book introduces students to the federal gift, estate, and generation-skipping transfer tax laws; grantor trust rules affecting the wealth disposition process; and the income tax rules applicable to estates and trusts. It covers recent cases and secondary literature and, reflecting the current trend toward globalization, it also includes a discussion of comparative law. It emphasizes the lawyer's role as drafter or estate planner and suggests ways to avoid problems that otherwise lead to litigation.

Most students view the Rule against Perpetuities as the most difficult rule in law school. Moreover, the Rule is still covered on MBE for Property and MEE for Wills and Trusts and yet few student-centered resources exist. The Little Book on Perpetuities fills this gap. An ideal subject for self-study, this guide covers all key parts of the Rule, including problems for self-testing. It presents the Rule in its historical context but in a fun, engaging, and accessible way that is simple and clear for students to use. It can be used for Property classes, as well as Wills & Trusts and can supplement a casebook or be used as a separate, self-continued unit. Coverage includes: the common-law Rule and all the famous classics traps; modern statutory reforms, including the new generations-based rule by the Restatement Third of Property; recent efforts by some states to abolish the Rule; and the history and policies of the Rule.

This audio lecture is designed to enhance your understanding of the topics covered in courses in wills, trusts, and estates. The discussion begins with intestate succession, that is, how a person’s property is distributed when he or she dies without a will, with special attention given to the issues that arise in determining whether a person qualifies as an heir. Attention then turns to wills, with coverage divided into sections dealing with the requirements of a valid will, changing circumstances after will execution, will revocation, will interpretation and construction, and will contests. The process of administering a decedent’s estate is covered next. Trusts are covered in detail starting with how trusts operate and why they are popular, the creation of trusts, trust administration, and trust enforcement. The audio lecture also covers related subjects such as disability planning, non-probate assets, the basics of estate planning, resulting and constructive trusts, and examination strategies.

The Fourth Edition of Concepts and Insights on Trusts and Estates makes complex doctrinal rules easier to understand by exploring the history and rationale behind those rules. The analysis is thorough, and focuses both on common law doctrines and statutory reforms--with an emphasis on the Uniform Probate Code and the Uniform Trust Code. Each substantive chapter closes with a set of exam-like problems designed to test understanding of the material included in the chapter. The authors also include thorough solutions to each of these problems. It features more than 60 review problems, each with complete solutions.

This book provides students the opportunity to draft an entire estate plan for a fairly typical couple, from the initial client meeting and retainer letter, to the will, revocable trust and the transmittal letter. Students can role-play as clients or lawyers and work in teams to draft the documents, or they can work through the documents individually. The chapters take them through the initial client meeting where they learn details about their clients’ lives and probable beneficiaries. Then the students will analyze the clients’ property and work through the advantages and disadvantages of different ways of holding the property, as well as the clients’ intentions regarding the succession of the property at death. The students will learn to calculate homestead, family allowance, exempt property, intestate shares, and the elective share, in order to understand how the estate would devolve under various default rules. Then students will draft a living will, durable power of attorney, health care proxy, and disposition of physical remains. Finally, they will draft a basic will and revocable trust. When they are done drafting the plan documents, the students will draft a letter explaining the work they have done for their clients and enclose a final bill, which they will draft from the time sheets they will have maintained throughout the representation. The final chapters offer some additional drafting exercises to deal with future interests, a special needs trust, and the clients’ acquisition of additional property that could lead to tax consequences.

The Understanding series provides an overview and analysis of legal subjects. It provides less analysis than a hornbook but more than a nutshell. This text provides discusses foundational principles of estates and trusts. Each case cited includes a brief factual description and extensive footnotes direct the reader to other sections of the book and related cases. Updates include coverage of electronic wills, new uniform act treatment of the parent-child relationship and unmarried cohabitants, directed trusts and trust protectors, and the uniform power of appointment act.

Authoritative coverage provides detailed explanation of the provisions, definitions, and concepts of the UPC and the UTC. UPC topics covered include, e.g., probate jurisdiction of the courts; intestate succession; wills and donative transfers; probate of wills; and administration of estates. UTC topics include, e.g., creation, validity, modification, and termination of trusts; discretionary and revocable trusts; creditor's claims and spendthrift trusts; duties, powers and liability of trustees; and rights of persons dealing with trustees.

This text covers intestate succession, wills, trusts, estate administration, nonprobate assets, wealth transfer taxation, disability and death planning (including elder law concerns), and malpractice and professional responsibility to augment Wills, Trusts, and Estates and related courses that expose students to estate planning, decedents' estates, and trusts. Analysis is first provided for a topic and then examples are given to help students understand the analysis. A series of problems at the end of each section or chapter assist you in testing your understanding. Answers are provided for these problems.

Nutshells are little paperback books that give a concise overview of an area of law. The fifth edition of this book updates laws affecting intestate succession, wills, guardianships and trusts. It introduces wills terminology to the lay audience and summarizes the law of trusts with references to the Uniform Trust Code and the Restatement of Trusts. It uses problems arising from celebrity peccadilloes and deaths, such as those of Prince, and the mother/daughter team of Debbie Reynolds and Carrie Fisher to illustrate legal issues. Additional relevant nutshells include Uniform Probate Code and Uniform Trust Code in a Nutshell and Introduction to Estate Planning in a Nutshell.

A comprehensive one-volume treatise on the law of trusts and estates written by leading experts. Among the topics covered are intestate succession, wills, nonprobate mechanisms, trusts, fiduciary administration, and choice of law. The book includes the very latest hot topics including electronic wills, trust decanting, directed trusts, asset protection trusts, and planning for modern families. The book incorporates the most recent provisions of the Uniform Probate Code, the Uniform Trust Code, and the many other uniform laws relating to the donative transfer of wealth. The book also includes an overview of the federal transfer tax laws.

Most students view the Rule against Perpetuities as the most difficult rule in law school. Moreover, the Rule is still covered on MBE for Property and MEE for Wills and Trusts and yet few student-centered resources exist. The Little Book on Perpetuities fills this gap. An ideal subject for self-study, this guide covers all key parts of the Rule, including problems for self-testing. It presents the Rule in its historical context but in a fun, engaging, and accessible way that is simple and clear for students to use. Coverage includes: the common-law Rule and all the famous classics traps; modern statutory reforms, including the new generations-based rule by the Restatement Third of Property; recent efforts by some states to abolish the Rule; and the history and policies of the Rule.

Black Letter Outlines help a law student recognize and understand the basic principles and issues of law covered in a law school course. Black Letter Outlines can be used both as a study aid when preparing for classes and as a review of the subject matter when studying for an examination. This Black Letter Outline covers Federal Estate Tax, Gift Tax, and Generation-Skipping Transfer Tax.

Black Letter Outlines contain outlines of particular areas of law, a capsule summary of each outline, practice examinations, and examples and review questions. This book provides an analysis of the laws of intestate succession, wills, trusts, future interests, and the construction of wills and trusts. The book relies heavily on the provisions of the Uniform Probate Code, the Uniform Trust Code, and other uniform laws relating to the transfer of wealth. The book also includes an overview of the federal transfer tax laws.

Each outline contains comprehensive coverage of the topics, cases, and black letter law found in your specific casebook. This outline covers intestacy; execution, revocation, and scope of wills; testamentary capacity; overview and creation of trusts; construing wills; will substitutes and planning for incapacity; limitations on testamentary power to transfer; trustee's duties and trust administration; charitable trusts; trust transferability and modification; powers of appointment; construing trusts; regulating trust duration and the Rule Against Perpetuities; and wealth transfer taxation. The Quiz Yourself and Essay Q&A features help you test your knowledge throughout the semester. Exam Tips alert you to the issues and fact patterns that commonly pop up on exams. The Capsule Summary provides a quick review of the key concepts covered in the full Outline. This text also contains essay exam questions and answers.

This title provides a basic introduction to estates and future interests law. Designed to offer solid knowledge of the area's central concepts, it guides readers through a series of increasingly complex conveyances. The workbook begins with an analysis of the fee simple estate and builds sequentially toward more complicated interests and conveyances. The information proceeds from the simple to more complex, later problems building on the successful command of earlier material. Each problem is followed not only by that problem's answer but also by a complete analysis of how the answer was derived. The workbook also contains an extensive glossary, summary charts, and a set of review problems that test the reader's developing mastery of the material.

The Exam Pro Series offer sample exams and answers with detailed analysis. Each Exam Pro title contains multiple choice and essay questions based on current court decisions. This study aid includes contains sample tests that cover an entire wills, trusts and estates course, as well as mini exams in discrete topics such as intestacy and future interests, as well as take. The book covers the Uniform Probate Code and general common law principles. A detailed answer key explains why the correct answer is the best choice and why other choices are not.

Set up to mirror actual exams, the series features long essay questions as well as some that are relatively short and medium-length, giving you great practice in the length and variation of questions on the final. Test your knowledge of key concepts and rules with comprehensive essay and multiple-choice questions. Find insight into what professors look for when grading.

Gilbert Law Summaries give students an outline to help prepare for exams. Students can test their knowledge and fine tune exam skills with exam questions (multiple choice, short answer, and essay) which are featured at the back of each outline. Every question comes with a fully explained answer, and each question is cross-referenced back to the main outline for further review. Topics covered include elements of a trust, trust creation, transfer of beneficiary's interest (including spendthrift trusts), charitable trusts (including the cy pres doctrine), and a trustee's responsibilities, power, duties, and liabilities. It also covers duties and liabilities of beneficiaries, accounting for income and principal, power of settlor to modify or revoke, powers of trustee beneficiaries or courts to modify or terminate, termination of trusts by operation of law, resulting trusts, purchase money resulting trusts, and constructive trusts.

Gilbert Law Summaries give students an outline to help prepare for exams. Students can test their knowledge and fine tune exam skills with exam questions (multiple choice, short answer, and essay) which are featured at the back of each outline. Every question comes with a fully explained answer, and each question is cross-referenced back to the main outline for further review. The topics included in this outline are reversions, possibilities of reverter, rights of entry, remainders, executory interests, and rules restricting remainders and executory interest. Also discussed are rights of owners of future interests, construction of instruments, powers of appointment, and the rule against perpetuities, including reforms of the rule.

The topics covered in this outline are intestate succession, simultaneous death, advancements, disclaimer, killer of decedent, elective share statutes, pretermitted child statutes, homestead, and formal requisites of a will. Also discussed are revocation of wills, incorporation by reference, pour-over gift in an inter vivos trust, joint wills, contracts relating to wills, lapsed gifts, ademption, exoneration of liens, will contests, and probate and estate administration.

The Law in a Flash series consists of flash cards for legal subjects. This one covers intestacy, wills, trusts, and estate planning.

This study guide includes multiple-choice questions, short-answer questions, and a practice final exam. This book is designed to test your students' knowledge of federal estate and gift taxation doctrine. Each multiple-choice question is accompanied by a detailed answer that indicates which of four options is the best answer and explains why that option is better than the other three options. Each short-answer question (designed to be answered in no more than fifteen minutes) is followed by a thoughtful, yet brief model answer. Q&A: Federal Estate and Gift Taxation also includes an index of Internal Revenue Code and Treasury Regulation provisions as well as a comprehensive topical index.

Q&A books consist of multiple choice and short answer questions with detailed explanations of the answers. This Q & A uses nearly 200 multiple-choice and short-answer questions to test your knowledge.

Designed to make the study of federal estate and gift taxation simple, clear, and convenient, this updated third edition provides a basic explanation of the federal gift, estate, and generation-skipping transfer taxes. Written to facilitate an understanding of the overall structure of these taxes, the text discusses critical statutory provisions as well as relevant regulations and important cases. Topics include: valuation, the definition of a gift, the gift tax requirement of completion, the annual exclusion, the gross estate, estate tax deductions, and the generation-skipping transfer tax.

This book provides an outline and analysis of Wills, Trusts, and Estates, in a convenient format both for class preparation and studying for exams. It is a clear and concise explanation of legal concepts and terms, the rationale and inter-relation of various principles, and provides hints for analysis, strategies for evaluation, and study tips. Topics covered include intestacy, will execution formalities and contest, revocation, will contracts, will substitutes, construction and interpretation, restrictions on disinheritance, trust creation and operation, fiduciary administration, powers of appointment, future interests, the Rule Against Perpetuities, and planning for incapacity. It is particularly useful in cutting through the fog of future interests, and making sense of the many ancient doctrines that befuddle students and inform modern practice. This title also includes self-testing, review questions, and detailed explanations.