Exam Study Guide (All Law Courses)

Nutshells are little paperback books that give a concise overview of an area of law. This nutshell is designed for use as supplemental reading in an advanced criminal procedure course on the post-investigation processing of a criminal case. Includes a clear, concise, and thorough narrative explanation of the issues involved in the prosecution and adjudication of a criminal case, from the decision to prosecute and pre-trial release through to sentencing, appeal and collateral attack.

Each brief has a succinct statement of the rule of law/black letter law, description of the facts, important points of the holding and decision, and concurrences and dissents included in the casebook excerpt. This overview is combined with a short analysis. Quicknotes at end of each brief give you short definitions of the legal terms used. A handy Glossary of common Latin words and phrases is included in every Casenote. Detailed instruction on how to brief a case is provided for you. A free Quick Course Outline accompanies all Casenote Legal Briefs in these course areas: Civil Procedure, Constitutional Law, Contracts, Criminal Law, Criminal Procedure, Evidence, Property, and Torts.

This title contains briefs for each major case in Dressler's casebook on Criminal Procedure. It includes the black letter law, facts, majority opinion, concurrences, and dissents, as well as analysis of the case.

This title contains briefs for each major case in King's casebook on Criminal Procedure. It includes the black letter law, facts, majority opinion, concurrences, and dissents, as well as analysis of the case.

This title contains briefs for each major case in Saltzburg, Capra, and Gray's 12th edition casebook on American Criminal Procedure. It includes the black letter law, facts, majority opinion, concurrences, and dissents, as well as analysis of the case.

This book walks step-by-step through the criminal adjudication process, from the post-arrest bail decision and the right to counsel through the post-trial direct appeal. It analyzes the main cases and statutes in each area, showing how the doctrine has developed and its current state. The book also places great emphasis on the Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure, working through their text, explaining not only the law but the strategic issues that a lawyer might face.

CALI currently offers a number of interactive exercises for students studying Criminal Procedure. You will need to set up a password to use CALI online. To set up a username and password, you will be asked to enter UC Law’s authorization code. You can get this code from any reference librarian or at the Circulation Desk.

This study aid provides an overview of Criminal Procedure, together with examples that illustrate how these principles apply in typical cases. The text gives students a sense of the theoretical flow and logic of law enforcement by following police procedural order. New to the 10th edition: Fourth Amendment limits on cell phone and computer searches; police accountability and the limits of the exclusionary rule; and the recent cutback on Miranda as a constitutional doctrine. A series of problems at the end of each section or chapter assist you in testing your understanding. Answers are provided for these problems.

This study aid provides an overview of Criminal Procedure, together with examples that illustrate how these principles apply in typical cases. The text additionally contains information on non-criminal trial remedies for prosecutorial misconduct; treatment of ABA standards, especially those relating to effective assistance of counsel; emphasis on the continuing struggle with rules of discovery, both as a constitutional matter, and as a matter of court rules, both federal and state; the expansion of the right to counsel, in Rothgery and other cases; and the Court’s willingness to impose on counsel, but not on judges, the duty to provide defendants prior to entry of a guilty plea of important information on collateral matters. A series of problems at the end of each section or chapter assist you in testing your understanding. Answers are provided for these problems.

This title analyzes the law governing all major steps in the criminal justice process, beginning with investigation and ending with post-appeal collateral attacks. The coverage is comprehensive, including federal and state statutes and court rules and descriptions of practice as well as constitutional limitations, with an emphasis upon those issues deemed most significant in the case law and literature. Because of their special importance, leading Supreme Court opinions are given in-depth treatment. All Hornbook sections are cross-referenced to comparable sections of the authors' 7-volume Criminal Procedure treatise (readily available on Westlaw database CRIMPROC) containing more detailed analysis and citations to additional supporting authorities.

This Nutshell is a succinct analysis of the constitutional standards of major current significance. It covers search and seizure (including wiretapping), interrogation, identification, right to counsel, self-incrimination, bail, trial rules, and appellate process. The book does not cover state or federal statutes or other non-constitutional standards.

This title goes with greater detail into the human stories and the social, political, and legal contexts of the "big" Supreme Court cases regarding criminal justice. It unearths details not available anywhere else. In addition to great narrative enrichment, it provides the provocative thoughts of highly respected scholars who are each experts on the particular cases they address. This book will greatly addresses police practices (a/k/a "Cops and Robbers") and criminal adjudication (a/k/a "Bail to Jail") and provides context not available in any casebook.

Here is an overview of constitutional issues that arise when searches, seizures, and interrogations occur outside the United States. Global Issues examines prosecutions in U.S. courts that involve evidence obtained abroad and the reach of the Fourth Amendment when the searches and seizures involve U.S. citizens abroad compared with non-U.S. citizens. Cases such as Verdugo-Urquidez and Alvarez-Machain are included, along with sections on electronic surveillance and the reach of the Fifth Amendment and Due Process Clause abroad, plus materials on torture and extraordinary renditions. There is also a short discussion of indefinite detention in places like Guantanamo Bay, Cuba, Afghanistan, and in other sites.

Dressler's High Court Case Summaries on Criminal Procedure contains briefs for each major case in this casebook. High Court briefs are written to present the essential facts, issue, decision and rationale for each case. These briefs are followed by a useful legal analysis, which provides extra tips and contextual background about each case, connecting the case to the broader concepts being developed throughout the casebook. This book also supplies case vocabulary, which defines new or unusual legal words found throughout the cases. Finally, to enhance the reader's recall, there is a corresponding memory graphic for each brief that portrays an entertaining visual representation of the relevant facts or law of the case.

This publication contains briefs for each major case in Kamisar's casebook on criminal procedure. The briefs present the essential facts, issue, decision, and rationale for each case. They are followed by a useful legal analysis. The book also supplies case vocabulary and a corresponding memory graphic for each brief, providing a visual representation of the relevant facts or law of the case.

Inside Investigative Criminal Procedure: What Matters and Why offers a big-picture view that looks at how all of the essential elements of a criminal investigation fit together as part of a coherent framework of legal theory and practice. This text on Criminal Procedure focuses on what matters and why. Overviews briefly introduce and position the topic of each chapter within the context of the course, to clearly convey to students what the topic is about and why it matters FAQs, or frequently asked questions, that address common mistakes and misconceptions Sidebars that offer additional insight and background information, or highlight important or illustrative cases Tables and Flowcharts that illustrate concepts Chapter summaries and bolded key terms Connections--brief sections at the end of each chapter that connect the material just covered to key points in other chapters'.

Inside Adjudicative Criminal Procedure: What Matters and Why discusses bail, grand jury and prosecutorial decision-making, discovery, speedy trial, jury selection, trial by jury, right to counsel, double jeopardy, guilty pleas and plea bargaining, sentencing, and post-verdict trials and strategies. Each chapter describes the most critical legal concepts, and contains succinct discussions of relevant case law and statutes. A connections section at the end of each chapter link chapter topics with other chapters in the book.

In this lecture, professor Mary Cheh of George Washington University Law School covers the basic Criminal Procedure course, which is primarily investigative criminal procedure in schools where they divide the course into two topics. One of investigative criminal procedure, and the other of criminal procedure adjudication.

Mastering Criminal Procedure, Volume 1: The Investigative Stage provides a concise treatment of the relevant federal constitutional doctrines that guide and constrain interactions between the police and individuals in the investigation of criminal conduct. The book provides an overview of the criminal process and the constitutional sources of the criminal procedure rules, including different approaches to constitutional interpretation. The Second Edition updates the analysis with the latest Supreme Court decisions. The focus is on the Fourth, Fifth, and Sixth Amendments as they relate to the warrant requirement for searches, exceptions that allow warrantless searches, the seizure of evidence and individuals, and the interrogation of suspects. The book covers the primary topics that arise in the typical law school criminal procedure course, including when the warrant requirement applies, the process for obtaining a valid warrant, the operation of the exclusionary rule, the range of exceptions to the warrant requirement, and arrests and other seizures of individuals and resultant searches of the person.

Mastering Criminal Procedure, Volume 2: The Adjudicatory Stage focuses on the process of a criminal case from the filing of charges against a defendant through the pre-trial and trial stages of the prosecution, and then post-conviction proceedings. A number of constitutional protections apply in a prosecution, including the right to a jury trial, confrontation of witnesses, the prohibition on excessive bail, and protection from double jeopardy. Many procedural rules are equally important to the judicial process, such as discovery rights, jurisdiction and venue, and post-conviction proceedings, including habeas corpus.

The West Academic Office Hours series is a collection of short audio and video tracks that tackle some of the thorniest questions plaguing law students. The professors answer students’ most frequently asked office hour questions. Videos include: A 4th Amendment Framework (4:39); What is a "search"? (5:38); Open Fields and Curtilage (5:31) ; Automobile Searches (6:37); Stop and Frisk: The Terry Doctrine (6:15); Maryland v. Buie: Sweeps, Scans and Searches (4:26); Limits and Exceptions to the Exclusionary Rule (7:16); When Does Miranda Apply? (3:39); Miranda: Waiver and Invocation (7:05); and 6th Amendment vs. Miranda (6:07).

The West Academic Office Hours series is a collection of short audio and video tracks that tackle some of the thorniest questions plaguing law students. The professors answer students’ most frequently asked office hour questions. Tracks include: Initial Appearance and the Appointment of Counsel (7:25); Bail and Preventive Detention (9:10); The Preliminary Hearing (9:44); Grand Jury Investigative Power (11:38); Grand Jury Indictment (9:15); Discovery and Brady Material (8:05); Electronically Stored Information (7:03); Compulsory Process and the Duty to Preserve Evidence (8:51); The Fifth Amendement Privilege Against Self-Incrimination in the Pretrial Phase (6:58); Discriminatory Prosecution (7:25); Judicial and Prosecutorial Vindictiveness (8:57); Requirements for a Valid Charging Document (8:00); Variances and Amending the Indictment (9:45); Venue (11:22); Joinder of Charges and Defendants (6:40); Speedy Trial and Pre-Charge Delay (9:19); Scope of the Right to Counsel (10:02); Ineffective Assistance of Counsel (10:02); Conflicts of Interest (9:05); Counsel of Choice, Disqualification, and Withdrawal on Appeal (10:58); The Right to Self-Representation (7:11); Plea Bargaining - The Art of the Deal (9:57); Ineffective Assistance of Counsel in Plea Bargaining (9:25); The Mechanics of the Jury Trial Right (13:51); Jury Voir Dire (6:10); Jury Selection (7:15); Defendant's Right to Be Present (8:44); Confrontation Clause ; Challenging the Jury Verdict (6:15); Entrapment and Outrageous Government Conduct Defenses (7:44); Double Jeopardy; Sufficiency of the Evidence and Criminal Appeals (9:27); Harmless and Plain Error (11:04); and Habeus Corpus (7:32).

This book gives you everything you need to know about basic criminal procedure principles, presented in a no-nonsense fashion. It includes references to recent, relevant decisions handed down by the United States Supreme Court. In addition, Principles of Criminal Procedure contains helpful study devices such as "focal points" at the beginning of each chapter, and "points to remember" at the end of each section.

This book is part of the concise hornbook series. Concise Hornbooks are condensed versions of the more in-depth hornbook. This book, for use in connection with a course focused upon crime detection and investigation, examines various investigative procedures, including search and seizure, network surveillance, entrapment, interrogation, lineup and photo identification, and grand jury investigation; describes the scope and administration of exclusionary rules relating to those procedures; and also discussed the right to counsel.

This book is part of the concise hornbook series. Concise Hornbooks are condensed versions of the more in-depth hornbook. This book, for use in connection with a course focused upon the formal part of the criminal process, covers counsel, bail, the charging decision, preliminary hearing and grand jury review, the prosecution's location and scope, speedy trial, pleading and discovery, guilty pleas, jury trial, pretrial publicity, the trial, double jeopardy, sentencing, appeal and collateral attack.

Principles of Investigative Criminal Procedure will assist students in learning about Fourth, Fifth, and Sixth Amendment issues associated with criminal investigations. The materials discuss and analyze the criminal procedure jurisprudence of the United States Supreme Court, with extensive use of primary source material that affects judges, prosecutors, defense counsel, and criminal defendants. Discussions relate to breakthrough decisions like Miranda v. Arizona, as well as cases adding a nuance to topics already well-developed in prior Court decisions. “The Court” is a phrase used hundreds of times as a shorthand reference to the work of the United States Supreme Court. Footnotes provide specific page citations in United States Reports for a quick reference to Westlaw. The coverage of this book extends to United States Supreme Court cases through the 2020–2021 Term.

This Short and Happy Guide makes the law about police practices and criminal trial proceedings accessible and easy to remember. Learn the key points of search and seizure law, police interrogation, the right to counsel, the exclusionary rule, pretrial release, grand jury investigations, joinder, criminal discovery, plea bargaining, jury trials, pretrial publicity, double jeopardy, appeals, and post-conviction standards.

This audio lecture covers the most important issues raised in a constitutional criminal procedure course relating to police practices. The lecture focuses on the Fourth, Fifth, Sixth, and Fourteenth Amendments and covers many issues, such as the meanings of the Fourth Amendment terms “search,” “seizure,” and “probable cause,” analysis of the exceptions to the search warrant requirement, and the doctrines of standing and the exclusionary rule. The lecture also covers police interrogation law as covered by the due process, self-incrimination, and right to counsel provisions of the Constitution, as well as the landmark Miranda v. Arizona decision. Also covered in the lecture are eyewitness identification procedures, the incorporation doctrine, and the right to counsel at trial.

The Understanding series provides an overview and analysis of legal subjects. It provides less analysis than a hornbook but more than a nutshell. Understanding Criminal Procedure Volume One: Investigation is intended for use in introductory criminal procedure courses focusing primarily or exclusively on police investigative process and constitutional concerns. A chapter on the defendant's right to counsel at trial and appeal and other non-police-practice issues is included in both volumes. The eighth edition of Investigation incorporates all of the major Supreme Court cases since the last edition was published, such as Carpenter v. United States, Mitchell v. Wisconsin, Collins v. VIrginia, and Kansas v. Glover. It also includes an in-depth discussion of the mosaic theory of searches, and contains expanded coverage of issues surrounding border searches, the third-party doctrine, and the exigent circumstances exception to the warrant requirement.

The Understanding series provides an overview and analysis of legal subjects. It provides less analysis than a hornbook but more than a nutshell. Understanding Criminal Procedure Volume Two: Adjudication covers the criminal process after the police investigation ends and the adjudicative process commences. The text covers the most important United States Supreme Court cases in the field. Where pertinent, the Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure, federal statutes, and lower federal and state court cases are considered. The broad overarching policy issues of criminal procedure are laid out and some of the hottest debates in the field are considered in depth and objectively.

This product presents in checklist format the series of issues that must be understood in order to identify and resolve the range of legal issues presented in an examination question. Checklists are provided for all topics generally covered in the basic criminal procedure course.

This outline for Basic Criminal Procedure covers the 4th, 5th, and 6th Amendments, including Exceptions to the Warrant requirement, Remedies for 4th Amendment violations, the Privilege Against Self-Incrimination, Limits on Identification Evidence and the Right to Counsel. Basic Criminal Procedure also provides sample examination questions and answers.

The Emanuel Law Outlines series is a study aid that outlines the law, gives exam tips, and offers chances for you to quiz yourself. This test covers constitutional criminal procedure generally; arrest, probably cause, and search warrants; warrantless arrests and searches; electronic suveillance and secret agents; confessions and police interrogation; lineups and other pre-trial identification procedures; the exclusionary rule; the right to counsel; and formal proceedings.

This study aid will enhance understanding of criminal procedure and sharpen exam skills. There are three comprehensive sample examinations, containing 42 questions each. It contains answers that explain why one choice is correct and why the alternatives are wrong.

A criminal procedure outline that highlights all of the key criminal procedure decisions from the U.S. Supreme Court in an easy-to-read and easy-to-understand format that includes check lists, visual aids, and practice exam questions (and answers) -- both essay and short answer. Topics covered include: Fourth Amendment search and seizure -- including arrests and other detentions; the exclusionary rule; confessions -- including the rules established by Miranda v. Arizona and the Fifth Amendment privilege against compelled self-incrimination; and a discussion of trial rights -- such as the right to a speedy trial, the right to trial by jury, and the right to counsel. The outline also discusses bail, the government's "Brady" obligations to disclose exculpatory evidence, the burden of proof, guilty pleas, sentencing, the death penalty, ex post facto issues, appellate rights, habeas corpus, prisoners' rights, double jeopardy, and juvenile offenders.

This Glannon Guide reviews the Fourth, Fifth, Sixth, and Fourteenth Amendment cases and principles typically covered in law school criminal procedure class. It mirrors the classroom experience by teaching through explanation, interspersed with hypotheticals to illustrate application. Both correct and incorrect answers are explained; you learn why a solution does or does not work.

This Law in a Flash set covers Criminal Procedure. Topics include the Exclusionary Rule, searches and seizures, arrest and probable cause, interrogations and confessions, pre-trial identifications, pre-trial procedures, pleas and plea bargaining, trial rights, sentencing and punishment, Habeas Corpus, and Double Jeopardy.

This book will assist readers' learning and exam preparation in criminal procedure courses and for the bar exam. This volume covers arrest, search and seizure, interrogation, identification, suppression issues, and entrapment.

This book assists learning and exam preparation for the Criminal Procedure—Prosecution and Adjudication (a.k.a. "bail-to-jail") course and the bar exam. Coverage includes the broad gamut of issues concerning the criminal adjudication process, including prosecutorial discretion, bail, initial appearance, preliminary hearing, grand jury, indictment and information, the right to counsel and the effective assistance of counsel, plea bargaining, joinder and severance, motion practice, discovery, time limitations, jurisdiction and venue, jury trials, double jeopardy, sentencing (including the death penalty), and post-conviction remedies. Extensive multiple choice questions and answers and short essay questions and answers are provided.

This product is a short, clear, concise, and substantive outline. It is designed to make the study of criminal procedure clear and convenient and to help students prepare for their law school exams. The main text is an outline of the substantive content. The concise format provides a comprehensive overview, allowing students to review the subject quickly prior to final exams.