Exam Study Guide (All Law Courses)

This title contains briefs for each major case in yres, Klass and Stone’s Studies in Contract Law, Tenth Edition. It provides the facts, black letter law, and holding and decision for the principal cases covered in your casebook. Additional Materials Include: Quicknotes following each case define legal terms used in the brief; a glossary in the back of the book lists and defines Latin words and phrases commonly found in the language of the law; Quick Reference Rules of Law pages open every chapter and list the rules of law that apply in each case in that chapter; How to Brief a Case provides step-by-step instructions on how to format, organize, and write your own case brief with the greatest efficiency. A fold-out Quick Course Outline highlights the main topics of the course.

This title contains briefs for each major case in Barnett and Oman's Contracts: Cases and Doctrines, 7th edition. It includes the black letter law, facts, majority opinion, concurrences, and dissents, as well as analysis of the case. Casenotes in 1L subjects include a Quick Course Outline as well.

This title contains briefs for each major case in Farnsworth's casebook on Contracts. It includes the black letter law, facts, majority opinion, concurrences, and dissents, as well as analysis of the case. Casenotes in 1L subjects include a Quick Course Outline as well.

This title contains briefs for each major case in Knapp's casebook on Contracts. It includes the black letter law, facts, majority opinion, concurrences, and dissents, as well as analysis of the case.

This work offers a contextual comparative analysis of commercial contracts from their origin until the present time. It studies their positive and living law in countries and regions representative of major legal systems and business cultures: Classical Rome, Medieval Europe and the Middle East, Codification Europe (especially France and Germany), Post-Colonial Latin America, the Soviet Union, the Peoples' Republic of China, England (eighteenth and nineteenth centuries), and Post-Colonial United States. It identifies contractual concepts, principles, rules, doctrines, methods of reasoning and commercial practices that have contributed most to mankind's economic development. It explains how certain selfish and altruistic components of standard and fiduciary commercial and financial practices combine to cause the necessary trust and cooperation that makes possible both economic growth and legal institutional longevity. The 3rd Edition additionally shows how standard and fiduciary commercial and banking good faith practices contribute to economic development alongside the "logic of the reasonable," an analytical tool traditionally used by common law, particularly in the United States. This rubric has become an integral part of the "positive" and customary laws and practices of developed and developing nations, as evidenced by the UNIDROIT Principles on the Law of Contract.

CALI currently offers a number of interactive exercises for students studying Contracts.
You will need to set up a password to use CALI online. To set up a username and password, you will be asked to enter UC Law’s authorization code. You can get this code from any reference librarian or at the Circulation Desk.

Recommended in more than 100 schools, the updated seventh edition of Concepts and Case Analysis in the Law of Contracts is a readable primer that offers first-year law students a reliable overview of the major themes and leading cases in the field of the law of contracts. This contracts primer is straightforward and uncluttered, covering the main themes of the first-year contracts course, together with related cases.

Provides treatment of the first-year contracts syllabus, written for students and designed to provide them with information, examples, and analysis of appropriate complexity and detail. Combines textual material with examples, explanations, and questions to test students’ comprehension of the materials and provide practice in applying information to fact patterns. This text covers the contractual relationship, form contracts, consideration, promissory estoppel, unjust enrichment, restitution, interpretation and construction, Statute of Frauds, Parole Evidence Rule, incapacity, mistake, public policy violations, breach of contract, remedies, assignment, and more.

This Nutshell provides a comprehensive guide to the law of contracts. It contains expert explanations of contract concepts under both the common law and Article 2 of the Uniform Commercial Code. It also includes the basics of the Law of Restitution and an introduction to digital contracting.

The author provides a detailed treatment of the basic rules, principles, and issues in contracts. Topics covered include offer and acceptance, parol evidence and interpretation, consideration, promissory estoppel, contracts under seal, capacity of parties, conditions, performance, and breach. The author also discusses damages, avoidance and reformation, third-party beneficiaries, assignments, and the statute of frauds. The discharge of contracts and illegal bargains are also the subject of separate chapters.

BARBRI & West Academic’s Cold Call Companion provides you with resources to analyze and brief a case, distill the main points of law, prepare for the kinds of questions professors may ask in class, and more. Included in each Cold Call Companion are: Animated case brief videos that bring the facts to life; A written case brief; Advice for prepping for class discussion; Contextual materials to offer additional color and background; Test Yourself questions; and Carefully curated sets of additional study materials to expand your knowledge of important concepts.

In this Stories offering, the editors are joined by other leading contracts scholars in taking the major cases in contract law -- from Britton v. Turner to Red Owl to Pro-CD to Baby M -- and putting them in their historical and cultural context.

Contains briefs for each major case in Ayres and Klass' casebook on Contracts. High Court briefs are written to present the essential facts, issue, decision and rationale for each case. Moreover, these briefs are followed by a useful legal analysis, which provides extra tips and contextual background about each case, connecting the case to the broader concepts being developed throughout the casebook. This book also supplies case vocabulary, which defines new or unusual legal words found throughout the cases. Finally, to enhance the reader’s recall, there is a corresponding memory graphic for each brief that portrays an entertaining visual representation of the relevant facts or law of the case.

This title contains briefs for each major case in this casebook.The briefs are followed by a useful legal analysis, which provides extra tips and contextual background about each case, connecting the case to the broader concepts being developed throughout the casebook. This book also supplies case vocabulary, which defines new or unusual legal words found throughout the cases. Finally, to enhance the reader's recall, there is a corresponding memory graphic for each brief that portrays an entertaining visual representation of the relevant facts or law of the case.

Dawson's High Court Case Summaries on Contracts contains briefs for each major case in Dawson's casebook on Contracts.The briefs are followed by a useful legal analysis, which provides extra tips and contextual background about each case, connecting the case to the broader concepts being developed throughout the casebook. This book also supplies case vocabulary, which defines new or unusual legal words found throughout the cases. Finally, to enhance the reader's recall, there is a corresponding memory graphic for each brief that portrays an entertaining visual representation of the relevant facts or law.

High Court Case Summaries on Contracts contains briefs for each major case in Farnsworth's casebook on Contracts. The briefs are followed by a useful legal analysis, which provides extra tips and contextual background about each case, connecting the case to the broader concepts being developed throughout the casebook. This book also supplies case vocabulary, which defines new or unusual legal words found throughout the cases. Finally, to enhance the reader's recall, there is a corresponding memory graphic for each brief that portrays an entertaining visual representation of the relevant facts or law of the case.

Fuller's High Court Case Summaries on Contracts contains briefs for each major case in this casebook. The briefs are followed by a useful legal analysis, which provides extra tips and contextual background about each case, connecting the case to the broader concepts being developed throughout the casebook. This book also supplies case vocabulary, which defines new or unusual legal words found throughout the cases. Finally, to enhance the reader's recall, there is a corresponding memory graphic for each brief that portrays an entertaining visual representation of the relevant facts or law of the case.

Contains briefs for each major case in Knapps’s casebook on Contract Law. High Court briefs are written to present the essential facts, issue, decision and rationale for each case. This book also supplies case vocabulary, which defines new or unusual legal words found throughout the cases. Finally, to enhance the reader’s recall, there is a corresponding memory graphic for each brief that portrays an entertaining visual representation of the relevant facts or law of the case.

This book ushers you inside the world of contract law. It efficiently identifies the doctrines that govern contract disputes, puts them in the context of real situations in which they apply, and addresses how the doctrines resolve those disputes. The book begins with a chapter that explores both the role contracts play in enhancing individuals’ lives and the role contract law plays in enhancing contracts, setting the stage for the entire body of contract law. Each chapter then begins with an Overview, designed to help you see how that chapter’s material fits into the range of contract doctrines being studied. Each chapter ends with Connections, exploring the relationship between the ideas just studied and those explored in other chapters. FAQs probe some of the more commonly raised concerns, dispelling fallacies that sometimes emerge from a casual study of the law. Sidebars explore interesting or amusing implications of the issues discussed in the text.

In this audio lecture, Professor David Epstein explains the important contract law concepts, the relationship among those concepts, and how a student can use the concepts to answer any question a professor might ask in class or on the exam. Tracks include: (1) Introduction; (2) Does Article 2 apply?; (2) Is there an agreement?; (3) Is there consideration?; (4) How do courts enforce a contract?; (5) What is the agreement; (6) Is there a reason the agreement should not be enforced?; (7) Did something happen that excuses performance?; (8) What are the effects of a contract on third parties?; (9) Review.

Mastering Contract Law explores the basic principles and purposes of contract law, including a discussion of background principles and traditions of private ordering. The book explains contract formation, interpretation, and the requirement of written evidence for enforcement of certain types of promises. It explores the themes and doctrines of reliance, restitution, and the importance of public policy in contract law. Chapters include all of the areas of contract law typically covered in the first-year course, including the bargained-for exchange, unenforceable contracts, performance and breach, obstacles to performance, modification, pre-contractual obligation, remedies and damages, and stakeholders other than contracting parties, including the third-party beneficiary doctrine, delegation and assignment.

The West Academic Office Hours series is a collection of short audio and video tracks that tackle some of the thorniest questions plaguing law students. The professors answer students’ most frequently asked office hour questions. These videos cover: (1) Objective theory of contracts; (2) Questions of law and questions of fact and the social contract limitation; (3) Legal analysis and strategic reading; (4) Back to 2-207; (5) Consideration; (6) Pre-existing duty and past consideration; (7) Promissory Estoppel; (8) Misrepresentation and fraud; (9) Duress; (10) Unconscionability; (11) The Parole Evidence Rule; (12) Interpretation of contracts; (13) Warranties; (14) Express conditions; (15) Constructive conditions; (16) Anticipatory repudiation; (17) Impossibility; (18) The Covenant of Good Faith and Fair Dealing.

This book discusses principles of the common law, with attention to how the subjects of tort law, contract law, and property law have developed in the United States. The focus is on modern law and how it has changed from more formalistic rules that were used in the past. It is an ideal introductory guide for law students and others interested in modern legal reasoning. The book pays special attention to parallels and correspondences between its legal subject areas, showing how they fit together into a larger picture. While teaching the material at a sophisticated level and avoiding "tips" and "tricks," the book includes notes on what to focus on when learning the common law and includes a significant amount of material that shows the subtleties of modern legal education.

This study of contract law covers both the classical cases and doctrine that comprise the foundations of contract law, and also recent cases and developments that have influenced twenty-first century contract law. To facilitate reading and understanding the rules and principles, the book includes numerous examples, illustrations, and cross-references. The text discusses the bargain theory for enforcing promises and the requirement of an agreement; additional theories for enforcing promises; Statute of Frauds; remedies; policing contracts;the Parol Evidence Rule and contract interpretation; breach; grounds for excusing performance; and third parties.

Contracts play a large part in advising companies as they transact business in today's unique environment. This book modernizes the teaching of contract law by providing a current perspective on negotiating contracts, thoughtfully explaining complex legal concepts and providing useful practitioner tips and insights based on decades of hands-on experience. This text empowers readers to learn the main terms found in nearly all business contracts. The newly released updated version explores in greater depth contract clauses that have become particularly relevant in recent times, such as force majeure clauses and data security and privacy terms, as well as many other key provisions that have become a focal point during these unique and unprecedented times.

This guide to Contracts will help you see the big picture. The authors focus on making the key concepts of contract law, and the relationship among those concepts, easier to understand and retain. The authors have set forth understandable techniques for mastering the law governing each critical aspect of the contract relationship, including, contract formation (offer and acceptance), enforcement (consideration and defenses), interpretation, performance, breach, and remedies.

In this audio series the essentials of contract law are provided in a clear and convenient format. Topics are covered in the sequence of most casebooks and are broken up into tracks so the student can quickly focus on areas which need further explanation without having to listen to material already mastered. Major cases in contract law are analyzed and explained, and numerous hypotheticals for each major topic are provided. Finally, some "tricks" used by professors in class discussion are revealed and discussed, and each major topic ends with an explanation of how to identify and approach that subject on exams.

This Understanding treatise explains common law principles of contract law using cases and examples that students commonly encounter in this first-year course. It draws illustrations from the Restatement (Second) of Contracts, and from Article 2 of the Uniform Commercial Code as it has been adopted in all fifty states.

In addition to the clear and organized structure of the doctrinal material that one finds in the Acing Series, the Second Edition of Acing Contracts separates discussion of the common law from the Uniform Commercial Code in key areas to allow students to grasp essential concepts more easily. This includes a comprehensive revision to the Chapters on Offer and Acceptance, Consideration, and the Parol Evidence Rule.This edition includes more sample problems with an emphasis on problems dealing with Article 2 of the Uniform Commercial Code. Sample answers are written in IRAC structure ("Issue, Rule, Analysis, Conclusion") to provide students with clear examples to show application of the process to written analysis.

The Black Letter Outline series contains comprehensive outlines of particular areas of law, capsule summaries of each outline, practice examinations, and examples and review questions. This outline summarizes the black-letter rules of Contracts, Outlining mutual assent; consideration; legal capacity; proper form; conditions; performance and breach; defenses; remedies; avoidance or reformation; third party beneficiaries; assignment and delegation; and more. Black Letter Outline on Contracts, 6th Edition covers everything contract-related--from the ancient roots of the subject (way before the authors were even teaching) through e-commerce and digital contracts. It also contains a glossary and sample examination questions and answers.

This CrunchTime book covers offer and acceptance, consideration, mistake, parol evidence, breach of contract, remedies, contracts involving multiple parties, warranties, and more.

E-Flash Cards are online flash cards for Contracts. These review consideration, formation, defenses to formation, statute of frauds, interpretation, performance, remedies, and third parties.

This title covers offer and acceptance, consideration, promises, mistake, parole evidence, breach of contract, anticipatory repudiation, statute of frauds, remedies, impossibility, miscellaneous defenses, warranties, and discharge of contracts. Each title includes both capsule and detailed versions of the critical issues and key topics you must know to master the course. Also included are exam questions with model answers, an alpha-list of cases, and a cross reference table of cases for all of the leading casebooks.

This Exam Pro includes over 330 objective questions covering every substantive area of Contract Law. Each answer choice includes detailed explanations as to why the correct answer was correct, and why each of the other choices was incorrect. Elements and rules for the most tested issues in Contract Law are explained in easy-to-understand, basic language, along with a step-by-step guide on how to analyze each type of question. Also included are tips on how to best use practice multiple choice questions to prepare for graded exams, and selected explanations of how professors construct multiple choice questions and how to avoid common "distracters."

This Exam Pro consists of essay questions actually given by Contracts professors throughout the United States. Every question contains a detailed explanation, along with analytical steps explained in easy-to-understand, basic language, and a step-by-step guide on how to analyze each major issue. Both Professor "model" answers and student "actual" answers are provided.

Real laws school exams test your knowledge of the key concepts and rules with a collection of essay and multiple-choice questions. Set up to mirror actual exams, the series features long essay questions as well as some that are relatively short and medium-length, giving you great practice in the length and variation of questions on the final.

This Contracts outline discusses consideration (including promissory estoppel and past consideration), offer and acceptance, interpretation, defenses (including mistake, fraud, duress, unconscionability, the Statute of Frauds, and illegality), third-party beneficiaries, assignment of rights, and delegation of duties. It also covers conditions, substantial performance, material vs. minor breach, anticipatory breach, impossibility, discharge, and remedies (including expectation damages, specific performance, and liquidated damages).

Contracts topics are broken down into manageable pieces and are explained in a conversational tone. Chapters are interspersed with hypotheticals. Multiple-choice questions are interspersed throughout each chapter (not lumped at the end) to mirror the flow of a classroom lecture. Correct and incorrect answers are carefully explained; you learn why they do or do not work.

This Law in a Flash set covers Contracts. The topics include Contract Formation, Defenses, Interpretation, Performance, Implied Contracts, Third-Party Interests, and Remedies.

The new Third Edition of Questions & Answers: Contracts contains entirely new questions. Understand better what you're learning in Contracts class by applying concepts as you learn them. Prepare more effectively for exams and the bar exam. This study guide includes 168 multiple-choice and short-answer questions arranged topically for ease of use during the semester, plus an additional set of 40 questions comprising a comprehensive "practice exam.

The Step-by-Step Guide to Contracts is an interactive workbook designed to effectively prepare students to pass exams. The most heavily tested legal rules are presented in a format that mirrors the way they arise as issues in typical testing fact patterns. Rule statements are set out in easy-to-memorize statements, with a breakdown of the element components and logical steps to take to apply new facts to each legal element. Fluency with the legal terminology is also essential to exam success, so this Step-by-Step Guide includes fill-in-the-blank spaces to help you learn and memorize definitions of key terms as they are introduced, and a glossary of selected terms at the end for further reference.
In addition to learning the law and memorizing key rules and terms, success in law school also requires the hard work of deep learning, engaging with problems to test your own knowledge, and working toward gaining a strong command of all testable topics. To that end, this Guide contains short-answer Test Yourself questions. Working through these questions and then reading the answers and explanations to determine where your understanding is clear and where you must do additional work will help you master the skill of applying the relevant rules to new and different fact patterns. In addition to the short-answer questions, this Guide also includes numerous full-length essay questions with sample answers —providing further practice to test your knowledge and deepen your learning.

Quick Review of Contracts is a short, clear, concise, and substantive outline. It is designed to make the study of law clear and convenient, and it is designed to help students prepare for their law school exams. The main body is an outline of the substantive content that a student needs to prepare for a law school exam. The concise format provides a "Big Picture" overview allowing students to review the subject quickly prior to final exams. This edition is cross-referenced with the author's Sum and Substance Audio on Contracts.