Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UC Logo
Libraries | Ask the Libraries

Researching Secondary Sources in Law

This guide is designed as an introduction to researching secondary legal sources. Secondary sources are about the law rather than the law itself. They are great research tools that can save you time and money.

Overview

Use a legal encyclopedia for background and to help you get a sense of the vocabulary for your issue.  These are an excellent place to start if you do not know much about a topic.  Although great for background material, avoid citing to an encyclopedia as your source of authority for an argument.  Why aren’t they considered very authoritative?  They  don’t supply deep analysis, they are not written by acknowledged experts in the field, and their citations to primary sources are limited.

General Legal Encyclopedias

There are two general legal encyclopedias: American Jurisprudence 2d (Am. Jur.) and Corpus Juris Secundum (C.J.S.).

State Legal Encyclopedias

Many states have legal encyclopedias that focus on state law. Ohio, for example, has Ohio Jurisprudence 3d.

Finding Tools within Encyclopedias

Index

Table of Contents

Table of Cases

Table of Laws & Rules

Desk Book

New Topic Service

Words & Phrases

Updating

Print copies of encyclopedias are updated by pocket parts or supplements.

Video Tutorials on Legal Encyclopedias

CALI Lesson on Legal Encyclopedias

CALI LogoAvailable to Law Students only (see a reference librarian if you do not have a CALI activation code).

Citation Format for Encyclopedias

Bluebook

Rule 15.8 and BT.1 of the Bluebook (20th ed.) covers the citation of encyclopedias. 

Elements

The citation should include the following:

  • Volume
  • Encyclopedia abbeviation
  • Article title (underlined or italicized)
  • Section
  • Copyright date of the volume (in the parenthetical)

Examples

88 C.J.S. Trial § 192 (1955).

17 Am. Jur. 2d Contracts § 74 (1964).

14 Ohio Jur. 3d Civil Rights § 82 (2006).

Encyclopedia on Lexis & Westlaw Example

New for the 21st edition of the Bluebook:

17 Am. Jur. 2d Contracts § 74, Westlaw. (database updated Aug. 2020).

1 Ill. Jur.Criminal Law & Procedure, Lexis (database updated June 2020).

ALWD

Rule 22.3 of the ALWD Citation Manual (5th ed.) covers the citation of legal encyclopedias.

Elements

The citation should include the following:

  • Volume
  • Encyclopedia Abbreviation (see Chart 22.1)
  • Title or Topic (italicize or underline)
  • Section
  • Year (in the parenthetical)
    • When citing an encyclopedic entry in a commercial database, rather than the year in the parenthetical, add the name of the database provider and provide the date through which the database is current.

Examples

88 C.J.S. Trial § 192 (1955).

17 Am. Jur. 2d Contracts § 74 (1964).

14 Ohio Jur. 3d Civil Rights § 82 (2006).

University of Cincinnati Libraries

PO Box 210033 Cincinnati, Ohio 45221-0033

Phone: 513-556-1424

Contact Us | Staff Directory

University of Cincinnati

Alerts | Clery and HEOA Notice | Notice of Non-Discrimination | eAccessibility Concern | Privacy Statement | Copyright Information

© 2019 University of Cincinnati