Sometimes your instructor or assignment will require that you find a "scholarly article" or use a "peer-reviewed" journal. In many of our databases, you can limit your search to scholarly articles by selecting a check-box similar to ones listed below. Look for the following options when you are searching (sometimes they appear on the advanced search page):
In many database you can filter your search results to those from scholarly/academic/peer-reviewed journals - look for this option on your search results page.
Some databases and services include ONLY scholarly journals.
JSTOR is a digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. The collections include top peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports from trusted institutes, and diverse primary sources. Explore the visual side of JSTOR, including artwork, newspapers, manuscripts, photographs, and other artifacts contributed by libraries, museums, archives, and historical societies around the world
Web of Science is a multidisciplinary database with searchable author abstracts¸ covering the journal literature of the sciences. It indexes 5¸300 major journals across 164 scientific disciplines¸ covering approximately 2¸000 more journals than its SCI print and CD-ROM counterparts¸ with all cited references captured. Coverage: 1965 - present
(Modified from http://libguides.sinclair.edu/content.php?pid=196230&sid=1643048)
To do a general search for article resources, go to the UC Libraries home page and search from the Articles+ tab on the red search box. Here is what the search box looks like:
The tool that does the search of multiple databases is called Summon. For a brief introduction to Summon view the video below. Lean more about it by going to Summon FAQ.
LinkedIn Learning offers dynamic video tutorials for learning software, programming, business and creative skills, study skills, and more. All offerings are free to UC faculty, staff, and currently enrolled students.
