Skip to main content
UC Logo
Libraries | Ask the Libraries

Law Research Assistant Guide to the Law Library

This guide is designed to assist UC Law Research Assistants.

Full-Text Legal Periodical Sources

Due to subscription and licensing agreements, certain library resources are restricted to UC faculty, staff, and currently enrolled students. Some of these databases are available to the entire University of Cincinnati community. Others are restricted to the College of Law.

Legal Periodical Indexes

Note that these are indexes, not full-text sources. The index will give you the citation to an article which you would then need to retrieve if you wanted to review the full-text. There may be some overlap in coverage by the indexes but each covers some periodicals that the others do not.

Search for Online Full Text Journals at UC

Search for Periodical Titles

Browse Periodicals by Subject

Browse Periodical Titles

0-9 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z Other

UC Article Finder

When looking for journal articles, be sure and check UCLID and the UC Article Linker.

  • For UCLID, search for the journal, not the specific article by clicking on the Journal tab and typing in the name of the journal (do not use Bluebook abbreviations).
  • Choose e-journal to look for an electronic version and Library Catalog for print.  Check both.

 If the article is unavailable through the above methods, and you need to request an article through Interlibrary Loan, fill out the ILL Form for Articles. The Law Library does not use ILLIAD at this time. Articles are usually sent electronically within a week of a request but some libraries still send articles by US mail. These articles may take up to two weeks or more to arrive. If we place an ILL request for an article that arrives by e-mail, it will be forwarded to your e-mail address. Articles that arrive through the US mail can be picked up at the Circulation Desk.

Congressional Research Service Reports

The Congressional Research Service (CRS) is a division of the Library of Congress. They produce analytical, non-partisan reports on topics of interest to members of Congress. While they do not maintain a public website for dissemination of these reports, there are a number of free and subscription sites where you can find CRS reports. You can also request copies from your Congressional Representative.

Tax Specific CRS Reports are also available on:

Selected Non-legal Periodical Databases

If writing or cite checking about an interdisciplinary topic, you may need to check non-legal periodicals. The sources that you would check will differ depending on the topic chosen. You may find it helpful to check out the subject guides developed by a UC librarian who specializes in that area. Visit our http://guides.libraries.uc.edu/ page to view all subject guides.

The following are some selected, general resources for non-legal periodicals.

JSTOR

JSTOR includes archives of over 1,000 leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs.

JSTOR Logo
Search in:
 

Need help? See the "How to Search JSTOR" guide.

Project Muse

Project MUSE provides access to articles from over 40 journals in the humanities starting in 1995. Human Rights Quarterly is published electronically through Project MUSE.

Search Project MUSE®

http://muse.jhu.edu

Summon

Summon contains a variety of quality information and access to content provided by the University of Cincinnati Library. To date, Summon content comes from 6,800+ publishers and 94,000+ journal and periodical titles, and 3+ million library catalog records. There are over 230 million items indexed in UCL’s Summon index —and UC Libraries is constantly adding new content!

Google Scholar

Google Scholar includes access to thousands of scholarly research articles, books, reports and a variety of additional formats. You may or may not find full-text resources in Google Scholar. If you are on-campus and searching Google Scholar, it will often identify resources to which the UC libraries subscribe.

 

Google Scholar

 

Article Interlibrary Loan Form

University of Cincinnati Libraries

PO Box 210033 Cincinnati, Ohio 45221-0033

Phone: 513-556-1424

Contact Us | Staff Directory

University of Cincinnati

Alerts | Clery and HEOA Notice | Notice of Non-Discrimination | eAccessibility Concern | Privacy Statement | Copyright Information

© 2019 University of Cincinnati