Research Guides: Interdisciplinary Research for Law Faculty & Students: Psychology

Psychology Databases

Core Psychology Research Literature Databases

These are the core databases for the psychological research literature. PsycINFO, the primary database for this research literature, is listed first; the remainder are given alphabetically.

Additional Databases Relevant to the Psychology Literature

The databases listed in this group provide a substantial volume of literature relevant to the field of psychology.

PsycINFO News

Catch up with all the latest information about PsycINFO from this RSS feed.

EndNote and Refworks

These citation & reference management tools can be a critical asset in the management of the resources you find in the research literature databases.

Core Psychology Research Literature Databases

PsycINFO
PsycINFO®, produced by the American Psychological Association, is the primary database to scholarly research for the psychology. It is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health, and contains over 3 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s. Ninety-nine percent of its content is peer-reviewed.
more...less...
PsycINFO includes information on the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others. Journal coverage, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages. PsycINFO is indexed with controlled vocabulary from APA's Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms®.
Record date: 8/25/2016
PsycINFO Tutorials
This APA Youtube channel includes a treasure trove of tutorials on PyscINFO (on various platforms), PsycTESTS and myriad other specialized topics, e.g. publishing, finding reliability and validity data on tests, etc.
more...less...
Record date: 12/12/2017
PsycArticles
PsycArticles is largely a subset of PsycINFO database, but all 188,000+ articles are full text. PsycARTICLES runs on the APA PsycNet platform.
more...less...
Go to the "Course Guides & Tutorials" page for video tutorials on this and other APA database products.
Record date: 8/26/2016
Annual review of psychology
more...less...
Indexes and contains the full text of literature review articles in psychology and related areas. Coverage is from 1950 to the present. Published annually.
Record Date: 10/10/2012
Psychology & behavioral sciences collection
more...less...
Provides selected full text articles from 574 journals (title list found at http://epnet.com/titleLists/pb-complete.htm) covering topics such as behavioral characteristics, psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. Coverage is from 1918 to the present. Nearly all of the journals covered in this database are indexed in PsycINFO. However, a substantial number of the articles indexed in "Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection" are indexed "full text." This is not the case with PsycINFO. Therefore, you will likely find some articles on your topic in "Psychology & Behavioral Sciences" that you will not find in PsycINFO, but you must search the "All Text" field in your "Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection" search.
Record Date:10/10/2012
PsycCritiques (1956 -- 2017)
PsycCRITIQUES®, produced by the American Psychological Association (APA), is a database of full-text book reviews featuring current scholarly and professional books in psychology. It also publishes reviews from a psychological perspective of popular films and trade books, and includes approximately 40,000 reviews dating back to 1956. NOTE: PsycCritques will terminate on 12/31//17. The archives of this database are currently available from the "Center for the History of Psychology."
more...less...
The archives of this database will soon be available via a link to Portico, a digital repository (www.portico.org).
Record date: 1/9/2018
Scopus
more...less...
Scopus provides indexing, abstracting and citation searching for science and social science scholarly literature. Scopus includes over 19, 500 peer reviewed titles from 5,000 publishers, providing access to over 46 million abstracts going back to 1966 and 5 years of cited reference back years, building up to 10 years by the end of 2005. Coverage also includes over 500 million quality web sites, over 20 million patents and 200 book series.
Record Date: 10/10/2012
ISI Web of knowledge
more...less...
Consists of 3 separately searchable databases: Science citation index expanded (SCI-Expanded), indexing 5,300 major journals across 164 scientific disciplines; Social sciences citation index (SSCI), indexing 1,700 journals spanning 50 disciplines and selectively indexing relevant items from over 3,300 scientific and technical journals; and, Arts and humanities citation index (A&HCI), indexing 1,100 arts and humanities journals and selectively indexing relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals. Updated weekly. Database coverage is from 1980 to the present. Book Reviews: To locate book reviews limit your search to the document type "Book Review."
Record Date: 10/10/2012