Skip to Main Content
Books: Electronic Books and Databases
e-Books at UC Libraries
An e-book is a book in digital format. Many digital books are available online free of charge or inexpensively from book vendors, such as Amazon, etc.
University of Cincinnati Libraries provide access to thousands of e-books in a variety of subject areas. You can access e-books wherever and whenever you need them. It is important to understand that books available through UC Libraries work differently than the books you buy for your personal use.Guide introduction by Olga Hart
Electronic Book Center (OhioLINK)
Electronic Book Center contains the full texts of thousands of scholarly and reference e-books from several publishers¸ covering many subject areas.
Political Science Digital Collections
Armed Conflict Database
Site Description: Produced by the IISS Defence Analysis Dept
The Armed Conflict Database (ACD) monitors armed conflicts worldwide, focusing on political, military and humanitarian trends in current conflicts, whether they are local rebellions, long-term insurgencies, civil wars or inter-state conflicts, as well as terrorism, including information on refugees and returnees, internally displaced persons, weapons used and their flows, fatalities, costs, historical backgrounds, and timelines. Users can generate reports, download data, and browse through year-by-year analysis and fact sheets online.
Center for the Study of Federalism
The Center for the Study of Federalism is a nonpartisan, interdisciplinary research and education institution dedicated to supporting and advancing scholarship and public understanding of federal theories, principles, institutions, and processes as practical means of organizing power in free societies. [Site Description]
CIA Library Historical Collections
The CIA releases millions of pages of documents each year and frequently releases items of public interest on this website. The Library contains a wealth of information, from unclassified current publications to basic references, reports and maps.[Web Site]
CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)
CIAO is designed to be a comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 on that includes working papers from university research institutes¸ occasional papers series from NGOs¸ foundation-funded research projects¸ and proceedings from conferences. Each section of CIAO is updated with new material on a regular schedule. Working papers are augmented every month¸ as are conference proceedings¸ policy briefs and economic indicators. Links and resources¸ the schedule of events and the response files are updated weekly. New journal issues and books are added as they become available.
Coverage: Full Text; 1991 - present
Congress.gov
Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information. The site provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public. It is presented by the Library of Congress (LOC) using data from the Office of the Clerk of the U.S. House of Representatives, the Office of the Secretary of the Senate, the Government Publishing Office, Congressional Budget Office, and the LOC's Congressional Research Service.
CQ Electronic Library
CQ electronic library is a reference resource for research in American government¸ politics¸ history¸ public policy¸ and current affairs. The suite includes CQ Public Affairs Collection¸ CQ Researcher¸ CQ Supreme Court Collection¸ CQ Voting and Elections Collection and CQ Weekly.
Coverage: varies by database
Digital National Security Archives (DNSA)
The Digital National Security Archive is the most comprehensive collection available of significant primary documents central to U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945. Over 63¸000 of the most important¸ declassified documents - totaling more than 488¸144 pages - are included in the database. Supported by the Charles Phelps Taft Research Center.
Foreign Broadcast Information Electronic Index
An index to the FBIS Daily Reports issued by the U.S. Government covering political¸ economic¸ scientific¸ and cultural issues and events throughout the world. Translations of broadcasts¸ news agency transmissions¸ newspapers¸ periodicals¸ and government statements from nations around the world are the sources of this information.
Hathi Trust digital library
As a digital repository for the nation's great research libraries, HathiTrust brings together the immense collections of partner institutions. It was initially conceived as a collaboration of the thirteen universities of the Committee on Institutional Cooperation, the University of California system, and the University of Virginia to establish a repository for those universities to archive and share their digitized collections, and quickly expanded to include additional partners with fast growing treasure of digitized collections.
Homeland Security Digital LIbrary
Electronic documents made available by the Dudley Knox Library at the Naval Postgraduate School¸ searchable by keyword or by topic¸ including general U.S. policy documents¸ national strategy documents¸ theses and research papers from the Center for Homeland Defense and Security and the Naval Postgraduate School¸ and homeland security executive orders. Also includes notices of events and conferences pertaining to homeland security¸ and news items drawn from various news sources.
ProQuest Congressional Hearings Digital Collection
This database includes full transcripts of the proceedings¸ including all oral statements¸ committee questions¸ and discussion. Also included are the texts of related reports¸ statistical analyses¸ correspondence¸ exhibits and articles presented by witnesses or inserted into the record by committee members and staff. Coverage: 1824-2003 full text; indexing only 2003-present
ProQuest Congressional Publications
Provides daily updated information¸ including full text of bills starting in 1989¸ public laws starting in 1988¸ committee reports starting in 1990¸ House and Senate documents starting in 1995¸ Congressional hearings starting in 1987-88¸ Congressional Record starting in 1985¸ Federal Register starting in 1980¸ National Journal starting in 1977 and other government information. Users can search an index of congressional publications from 1970 to the present¸ retrieve CIS Legislative Histories for public laws going back to 1970¸ find testimony from congressional hearings¸ track bills as they move through the House and Senate¸ search the Congressional Record and Federal Register¸ locate information about members and committees¸ and search the National Journal.
ProQuest Congressional U.S. Serial Set Digital Collection
This database provides comprehensive¸ full-text access to the U.S. Serial Set from 1789 to the present. Coverage: 1789-present
ProQuest Legislative Insight
Congress produces a variety of publications as a bill moves through the legislative process on its way to becoming a law. A compilation of these full text primary source publications produces a legislative history that is valuable to a wide variety of researchers. Legislative Insight offers a research citation page that not only links to the full text of the associated primary source publications¸ but allows users to do a Search Within from that very page that searches the full text of all the associated publications with one-click. Full-text publication types associated with a legislative history include the Public Law¸ all versions of enacted and related bills¸ Congressional Record excerpts¸ and committee hearings¸ reports¸ and documents.
RAND Abstracts
For more than 50 years, the RAND Corporation has fulfilled its mission by providing objective research and analysis to address challenges facing the world. The rigorous quality standards of research has earned RAND a world-class reputation. As a nonprofit institution, RAND conducts independent research and provides objective research services to public and private clients. These comprehensive bibliographies include abstracts for every publicly available RAND document in a given year. After locating documents within the Selected RAND Abstracts, use our Publications Search to order a copy or to discover the many titles available online for free download. Coverage: 1988 to present
U.S. Declassified Documents Online
U.S. Declassified Documents Online provides access to previously classified federal records in the twentieth and twenty-first centuries. The collection brings together the most sensitive documents from all the presidential libraries and numerous executive agencies in a single, easily searchable database, including: intelligence studies, policy papers, diplomatic correspondence, cabinet meeting minutes, briefing materials, and domestic surveillance and military reports. The search and discovery interface for the collection allows researchers to locate the full text of documents and quickly filter their search results by document type, issue date, source institution, classification level, and date declassified as well as other document characteristics[Database Description]
U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs¸ 1832-1978
This database contains nearly 11 million pages of records and briefs brought before the U.S. Supreme Court in the period 1832-1978. The collection is derived from two essential reference sources.
World News Connection
World News Connection (WNC) is an online news service¸ only accessible via the World Wide Web¸ that offers an extensive array of translated and English-language news and information. Particularly effective in its coverage of local media sources¸ WNC provides you with the power to identify what really is happening in a specific country or region. Compiled from thousands of non-U.S. media sources¸ the information in WNC covers significant socioeconomic¸ political¸ scientific¸ technical¸ and environmental issues and events. The information is obtained from full text and summaries of newspaper articles¸ conference proceedings¸ television and radio broadcasts¸ periodicals¸ and non-classified technical reports. New information is entered into WNC every government business day. Generally¸ new information is available within 48-72 hours from the time of original publication or broadcast. Coverage: November 1995 - December 31, 2013
World Politics Review
World Politics Review was created for foreign policy professionals who have a world of online breaking news at their fingertips. Our tightly focused coverage gives context to the key trends and events in international affairs.
