Research Guides: Interdisciplinary Research for Law Faculty & Students: Biological Sciences

Biology and Related Databases

Search these other science indexes and databases to cast a broader net for relevant journal articles, book chapters, book reviews, essays, dissertations, etc. relating to chemistry.

Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete offers full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
Coverage: 1865 - present
BIOSIS Previews (access through Web of Science)
BIOSIS Previews® combines the journal literature of Biological Abstracts® with Biological Abstracts/RRM® (Reports, Reviews, & Meetings) and focuses on life sciences research. BIOSIS Previews monitors nearly 6,000 selectively covered journals as well as a collection of international meetings, conference reports, books, and patents.
Coverage: 1969 - present
PubMed
PubMed¸ a service of the National Library of Medicine¸ includes over 14 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's. These citations are from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources. Coverage: 1950's - present
Scopus (Elsevier)
Indexing¸ abstracts¸ and citation searching for science and social science scholarly literature. Scopus covers 14¸000 titles across 4¸000 publishers¸ providing access to over 25 million abstracts going back to 1966 and 5 years of cited reference back years¸ building up to 10 years by the end of 2005. Coverage: 1966 - present
Web of Science
Web of Science is a multidisciplinary database with searchable author abstracts¸ covering the journal literature of the sciences. It indexes 5¸300 major journals across 164 scientific disciplines¸ covering approximately 2¸000 more journals than its SCI print and CD-ROM counterparts¸ with all cited references captured. Coverage: 1965 - present