Skip to Main Content
Databases
Ad*Access
The Ad*Access Project¸ funded by the Duke Endowment "Library 2000" Fund¸ presents images and database information for over 7¸000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. Ad*Access concentrates on five main subject areas: Radio¸ Television¸ Transportation¸ Beauty and Hygiene¸ and World War II¸ providing a coherent view of a number of major campaigns and companies through images preserved in one particular advertising collection available at Duke University.
AdForum
AdForum containts over 110¸000 ads from over 100 countries produced in the last 10 years with an emphasis on notable and award winning creative work. AdForum has ads from all media types (TV¸ print¸ billboard¸ radio¸ case studies interactive) and all ads are viewable in a high resolution video player that includes zoom-in functionality and full screen viewing on print ads. A large number of these ads also include full production credits. An advanced search tool allows users to find the ads they need quite easily.
Coverage: 2000 - present
Advertising Archives: Historical & Current Print Ads
The Advertising Archives was established in 1990 by Larry and Suzanne Viner and is the largest and most comprehensive resource of its kind in Europe. The collection comprises over 1 million catalogued images, 50¸000 of which are searchable online. This includes press and TV advertising¸ magazine covers¸ cinema posters¸ ephemera¸ and comics and chidren's annuals.
Mintel Reports
Market research reports primarily for the U.S. and covers a variety of sectors including beauty and personal¸ health and medical¸ electronic¸ consumer goods¸ lifestyles¸ travel and tourism¸ financial industry¸ internet industry¸ retail¸ and food & drink. Reports discuss market drivers¸ market size & trends¸ market segmentation¸ supply structure¸ advertising and promotion¸ retail distribution¸ consumer characteristics¸ and future and forecasts. Users will need to click on "I Agree" with the "Conditions of use" statement - each time they enter the database¸ and to establish and login into a profile with a UC e-mail address. Coverage: current
Winmo
Provides information on over 20¸000 U.S. and international advertisers who each spend more than $200¸000 annually on advertising. Each listing includes advertising expenditures by media¸ current agency¸ fiscal year-end and annual sales¸ contact information on key personnel¸ brand name info¸ S.I.C. & NAICS classifications¸ and other key data. This resource also includes detailed profiles of nearly 15¸000 U.S. and international advertising agencies¸ including accounts represented by each agency¸ fields of specialization¸ breakdown of gross billings by media¸ contact information on agency personnel and much more.
Electronic Journals
Advertising & Society Quarterly
A scholarly journal devoted entirely to advertising and its relationship to society, culture, history, and the economy. Published quarterly online, ASQ features articles, essays, interviews, roundtable discussions, and other scholarship relevant to a broad, interdisciplinary audience interested in advertising.
Advertising Age
Includes articles on national and international marketing, news about individuals in advertising, statistics on advertising and special reports.
Advertising in the United States
Advertising Industry Profile: United States. A resource of information on key vertical markets. This industry profile identifies market size, competitive landscape and provides forecast data of market performance.
Advertising Standards Authority Annual Reports
Advertising Standards Authority Ltd. (ASA) and Committee of Advertising Practice Ltd.(CAP) Annual Report archive, featuring reports from the 1960's to the present day.
