Skip to Main Content
Advertising Law Generally
-
Advertising Claim Substantiation Handbook (Lexis)
Claim substantiation refers to the obligation of advertisers to ensure that the messages they communicate about their products or services are truthful and not misleading. This handbook will assist marketers and their attorneys in navigating the uncertain waters of claim substantiation and help them in evaluating risk and providing sound legal advice on remedies, liabilities and opportunities.
-
Advertising Law Guide (CCH) (Westlaw)
The CCH Advertising Law Guide is published by CCH in a loose leaf print volume and is also available via the internet. It is authored by Lewis Rose and D. Reed Freeman, Jr.
-
Corporate Counsel's Guide to Advertising Law & Agreements (Westlaw)
Corporate Counsel's Guide to Advertising Law and Agreements addresses the legally sensitive area of advertising law. It cautions counsel to be sure all advertising receives a careful review before being used, and suggests that this includes not only contracts for the creation of advertising, but also those involved in its use. This book was prepared specifically for corporate counsel and covers FTC Rules, advertising to children, warranties, advertising on the Internet, privacy, copyrights, trademarks, insurance, and Robinson-Patman Advertising Allowances.
-
Federal Trade Commission: Law, Practice and Procedure (Lexis)
Federal Trade Commission: Law, Practice and Procedure provides a detailed analysis of all areas of FTC responsibility, including rule making procedures; trade regulation statutes and rules; rules and procedures for investigations and litigation; application of U.S. antitrust laws to overseas conduct; Hart-Scott-Rodino premerger rules; evolving concepts of unfairness and deception; and asset freezes, injunctions and actions for civil penalties and consumer redress
-
Lexology Panoramic: Advertising & Marketing (Lexis)
Advertising and Marketing seeks to provide local answers to international questions concerning advertising and marketing law. Chapters provide expert advice on the legislation and regulation of advertising and marketing, including the legislative processes arising from advertising disputes and challenges, the regulation of misleading advertising and the control, prohibition and restrictions in place on certain type of goods and services and to certain audiences, regulations affecting direct and indirect marketing and promotion, and up-to-date analysis of social media and the latest advertising trends.
Defamation
-
Law of Defamation (Westlaw)
The Law of Defamation provides step-by-step guidance to all aspects of modern libel law, First Amendment issues, and libel litigation. Includes checklists and charts.
False Advertising
-
False Advertising and the Lanham Act (Lexis)
In False Advertising and the Lanham Act Thomas Williams addresses false advertising claims under Section 43(a)(1)(B) of the Lanham Act. The product focuses on false advertising claims under Section 43(a), and specifically, Section 43(a)(1)(B). It connects the dots in false advertising precedent, from standing to sue through monetary relief, and includes analysis of key cases where courts have developed essential analytical tools for fleshing out the sparse statutory language.
Intellectual Property
-
Nimmer on Copyright (Lexis)
Contains: * In-depth insights into copyright protection in the digital age as well as discussions of traditional copyright issues * Extensive analysis covering specific media such as printed works; plays and motion pictures; music; artistic property; and digital technological developments such as copyright protection systems and the Internet * Interpretation of all provisions of the Copyright Act, and thorough coverage of the Digital Millennium Copyright Act
-
McCarthy on Trademarks & Unfair Competition (Westlaw)
McCarthy on Trademarks and Unfair Competition is a treatise which explains trademark law with clear, concise analyses of cases and statutes, providing advice on registering and protecting trademarks.
Unfair Trade Practices
-
State Unfair Trade Practices Law (CCH) (Westlaw)
Individual states began enacting laws targeting unfair trade practices as a basic remedy against fraud, deception, and abuse in the market place. Included are a topically-arranged explanation of key legal issues, state-by-state summaries, full text of the state laws, pending legislation and full-text coverage of court decisions interpreting the laws.