Skip to main content
UC Logo
Libraries | Ask the Libraries

Criminal Justice Complete

The Criminal Justice Resources guides provide links to a wide range of resources to facilitate course work, scholarship and career development.

Accessing Safari Books Online

Always Access the Database through UC

The database must be accessed via the UC Libraries website or UC LibGuides (like this one).

Accessing the database independent of UC and creating an account does not grant you UC-provided access and in two weeks Safari will ask you to begin paying.

Only accessing through UC gives you free, unlimited access to the database.


Directions to Access the Database

  1. Go to the library homepage: libraries.uc.edu
  2. Click the red "Databases" tab above the search bar
  3. In the search bar, type in Safari Books Online
    • The database is also linked below
  4. Open the database
  5. In the Institution drop-down list click "Unlisted? Click here."
  6. Enter your UC email address and click "Let's Go"
  7. When it loads, click "Got it"
  8. Use the search bar to locate the resource you need.

The Problem with Copy/Paste

If you copy and paste a link to a Safari Books Online resource, the link will bring the next user to a paywall.

This page gives you options for how to give your students access to these resources and avoid paywalls.

Safari Books via the Catalog

In many cases, the e-book will be listed in the UC Libraries Catalog.

Give your students the link to the catalog record which includes an access link to the resource. You can see in this catalog record, a grey box titled "Click on the following to:". Within that grey box is a link to the e-book.

The grey box titled "Click on following to" in a library catalog record.

University of Cincinnati Libraries

PO Box 210033 Cincinnati, Ohio 45221-0033

Phone: 513-556-1424

Contact Us | Staff Directory

University of Cincinnati

Alerts | Clery and HEOA Notice | Notice of Non-Discrimination | eAccessibility Concern | Privacy Statement | Copyright Information

© 2019 University of Cincinnati