If you are unable to find a test/instrument with the finding tools listed here, remember to try the resources listed in the section on finding descriptive information about tests. You may find an article or abstract that provides the name of the company that publishes your test. Then you can research the company name to find contact information.
Note that many of the resources provided on this web page will also have descriptive and critical information about the tests.
The databases listed here act as powerful specialized portals for finding tests.
Mental Measurements Yearbook, produced by the Buros Institute at the University of Nebraska, provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. Designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced professionals, the MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership. First published by Oscar K. Buros, the MMY series allows users to make knowledgeable judgments and informed selection decisions about the increasingly complex world of testing. MMY provides coverage from Volume 9 to the present. Also produced by the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements at the University of Nebraska, Tests in Print (TIP) serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. TIP provides vital information to users including test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s).
PsycTESTS is a research database that provides access to psychological tests¸ measures¸ scales and other assessments as well as descriptive and administrative information
This site provides full text access to over 10¸000 instruments from over 120 compilation volumes of test resources. Most of these volumes are available in the OhioLINK catalog. The instruments accessed through this collection are largely unpublished. Information on published tests available from test publishers is available in the electronic version of the Mental Measurements Yearbook and in the print publication Tests in Print. Each record contains (as noted in the source volume): Test title¸ test acronym¸ copyright or publication date(s)¸ author(s)¸ source citation¸ page or accession number.
