Skip to main content
UC Logo
Libraries | Ask the Libraries

RET: Research Experience for Teachers

Off Campus Login

RET Research Assignment

Due to
Lora Buchanan on
June 18, 2021  

 

How to Connect: Click on the Login to Proxy Server for Off Campus Access button to login with your UC ID username and password. Once you login, you will be directed back to this guide.

(Note: UC's AnyConnect VPN no longer authenticates you to access library e-resources.  If you use AnyConnect for remote desktop/virtual machines, you CAN log in to proxy while on AnyConnect VPN).

Contacts:

If you need assistance, stop by the library or contact a librarian:

Where to Begin

The CEAS Library website offers detailed information about resources and services available in science and engineering. You can access the UC Library Catalog, electronic full-text resources, links to useful websites, and contact information for CEAS Library staff who can help you find what you need.

http://libraries.uc.edu/ceas

Find BOOKS using the library catalog and e-book collections

  • The University of Cincinnati Library Catalog (UCLID) is a primary source for searching for library books and other items.  See uclid.uc.edu/
    • The Library Catalog can be searched by author, title, keyword, subject, or call #.
    • The Library Catalog also links out to the statewide OhioLINK catalog. More information about OhioLINK below.
  • Catalog search tips: http://uclid.uc.edu/screens/tips/index.html
    • Use AND, OR, and AND NOT to relate words within a search
    • Use keyword to get more specific and subject headings to focus on a certain topic
    • Request books using the Request button
       
  • Use OhioLINK catalog to find and request books not available at UC:  http://olc1.ohiolink.edu/search/
     
  • Use SearchOhio to find and request books from public libraries around Ohio, including the Public Library of Cincinnati and Hamilton County
  • E-Books and Proceedings (Online) http://guides.libraries.uc.edu/ceasebooks offer other ways to search for books and proceedings on a publisher's own website (some allow for special features).  Some e-book collections do not have records in the library catalog.

Some e-book and e-proceedings collections in science & engineering:

Where to find RESEARCH ARTICLES -- General:

Where to find RESEARCH ARTICLES -- Specialized:

_____________________________________________________________________________________________

Tools for locating full-text

  • When searching in an article database, find the "UC Article Linker" icon ("Find Full Text" in Google Scholar)

ArticleLinker icon

  • From Article Linker, check if your desired volume/issue is available online.  Otherwise, search for a print copy in the Library Catalog.
  • If not online or in print, submit an interlibrary loan (ILLiad) request.  ILLiad will automatically populate the request form with the journal article information. 
    • NOTE: First time ILLiad users will be prompted to fill in a profile. The "M number" is on your UC ID card in the upper left corner.  Enter the M number so it looks like this: M12345678.
  • Use Full Text Journals to search for full-text sources by journal title.
  • Search by journal title in the Library Catalog.

Configure Google Scholar for UC Libraries access

Enable Google Scholar to identify UC-licensed full-text of journal articles.  Access appears as a "Find Full-Text at UC" link.

  1. Go to Google Scholar
  2. Sign in to your Google account (or create one if needed)
  3. Click the icon in the upper left and select “Settings”
  4. Click on “Library Links”
  5. Search for "University of Cincinnati” and add.
  6. Check the box next to "The University of Cincinnati – Find Full-Text at UC” and click “Save”

LibKey Nomad - Browser Plug-In for Full-Text

Download Nomad at www.libkeynomad.com.  Available for Firefox, Chrome, Edge, Vivaldi and Brave browsers. After download, enter University of Cincinnati as your institution.  More details: https://thirdiron.com/products/libkey-nomad/.

When you reach available full-text, a blue & green "Download PDF” prompt appears in the lower left.  NOTE: You need to be on the article’s page (vs. database search results page) to trigger this prompt.  See this example from an International Journal of Science Education article - https://www.tandfonline.com/doi/full/10.1080/09500693.2018.1540897 .

Libkey Nomad graphic

 

 

 

 

Click the "Download PDF" prompt.  You may be asked to enter your UC Central Login.  Nomad will locate and download a PDF of the article for you or direct you to other options.

Now that you’ve found articles and began your research – MANAGE YOUR INFORMATION and DATA:

University of Cincinnati Libraries

PO Box 210033 Cincinnati, Ohio 45221-0033

Phone: 513-556-1424

Contact Us | Staff Directory

University of Cincinnati

Alerts | Clery and HEOA Notice | Notice of Non-Discrimination | eAccessibility Concern | Privacy Statement | Copyright Information

© 2019 University of Cincinnati