Research Guides: BME2000: Biomedical Engineering in the Clinical Environment: C. How Device Works

How does the device work, based on engineering principles?

UC Library Catalog - includes many e-books in addition to print books. Do a basic word search to locate books on a particular device.

Library of Congress Subject Headings can provide targeted browsing: Medical instruments and apparatus (sort results by Reverse Year)
Some devices have specific medical subject headings, such as Angioplasty, Balloon, Coronary
- Hint: scroll down on any book's catalog record to locate subjects ABOUT the topic.

------------

E-Book search (Summon) - across all topics and publishers

Encyclopedia of Biomedical Engineering
Online encyclopedia with extensive coverage of medical devices and medical imaging (volume 2)
Compendium of Biomedical Instrumentation

Knovel
Provides leading science and engineering books¸ conferences¸ and technical data sets, all embedded with productivity and analysis tools. The Knovel product provides the ability to perform deep searches and interact with technical data and charts.

Technical article databases:

Compendex Compendex provides abstracts and full bibliographic citations for worldwide engineering and technical literature and encompasses all engineering disciplines¸ as well as related fields in science and management. The records in the database are drawn from over 2¸600 published journals¸ conference proceedings¸ and individual conference papers¸ technical reports¸ monographs¸ and other materials. The database provides access of over 11 million records covering over 120 years of engineering literature. Over 650¸000 records are added annually for 190 engineering disciplines. Coverage: 1884 - present
Scopus (Elsevier) Indexing¸ abstracts¸ and citation searching for science and social science scholarly literature. Scopus covers 14¸000 titles across 4¸000 publishers¸ providing access to over 25 million abstracts going back to 1966 and 5 years of cited reference back years¸ building up to 10 years by the end of 2005. Coverage: 1966 - present
PubMed PubMed¸ a service of the National Library of Medicine¸ includes over 14 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's. These citations are from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources. Coverage: 1950's - present