Research Guides: International Human Rights: Law Review Articles

Overview

Analysis and Commentary by Scholars and Others

As mentioned, analysis and commentary by scholars and others is used in human rights law. Below are resources for finding journal articles and more on human rights.

HeinOnline

Why use HeinOnline for analysis and commentary?

The Law Journal Library contains more than 1,800 law and law-related periodicals. Coverage is generally from the first issue published for all periodicals and goes through the most-currently published issues allowed based on contracts with publishers. Search by article title, author, subject, state or country published, full text, and narrow by date.
Law review articles clarify issues, arguments on all sides, and the reasoning in those arguments. They also identify cases and other scholarship of particular importance and the fact patterns of those cases.
In addition to the Law Journal Library, HeinOnline also features many other useful databases for analysis and commentary that can be used in human rights research.

Searching HeinOnline

Citation Search
- Use this when you have a citation to a law review article.
- The Citation Navigator link can help you with citation format when searching by citation.
Advanced Search
- Advanced Search allows you to do field searching using a template. The Field Search has a template with three blanks (you can add more blank rows as needed), menus for designating which field each blank will search, and a choice of Boolean and proximity operators.
- The Advanced Search allows you to use Boolean logic, proximity operators, and truncation in full-text searches.
Browsing
- Browsing can be done by by publication title, state (U.S.), country, subject, or most-cited.

Law Journal Library on HeinOnline This database includes more than 2,800 law and law-related periodicals featuring subjects such as criminal justice, political science, technology, human rights, and more. Coverage for all journals is from inception and goes through the most currently published issues allowed based on contracts with publishers.
European Center for Minority Issues (ECMI) The European Center for Minority Issues (ECMI) conducts practice-oriented research, provides information and documentation, and offers advisory services concerning minority-majority relations in Europe. This library contains several publications of the ECMI, including ECMI Reports, Annual Reports, Working Papers, and much more.
HeinOnline Foreign & International Law Resources Database This database has four parts: 1) International Yearbooks and Periodicals; 2) US Law Digests; 3) International Tribunals/Judicial decisions; 4) Other Significant Works Related to Foreign and International Law. The International/Judicial decisions include a couple of series of arbitral awards.
Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) on HeinOnline The Foreign Relations of the United States database presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity. It is comprised of more than 1,500 volumes containing invaluable information beginning with Abraham Lincoln's administration in 1861 and continuing to the administration of Ronald Reagan in 1988.
Harvard Research in International Law on HeinOnline The database includes access to the reprint of The Harvard Research in International Law and Contemporary Analysis and Appraisal. It also includes links to law review articles written by the contributors to the Harvard Research in International Law.
Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals on HeinOnline The Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (IFLP) is the preeminent multilingual index to articles and book reviews from over 500 legal journals published worldwide. It provides in-depth coverage of public and private international law, comparative and foreign law, and the law of all jurisdictions. IFLP also analyzes the contents of approximately fifty individually published collections of legal essays, Festschriften, Mélanges, and congress reports each year.
International Law Association Reports on HeinOnline The International Law Association's objectives are the study, clarification and development of international law, both public and private, and the furtherance of international understanding and respect for international law. The International Law Association Reports of Conferences contain the International Committees' reports and a record of the discussions at the Conference working sessions, together with the adopted Resolutions.
Law in Eastern Europe on HeinOnline This collection of books, published by Brill, showcases the development, enactment, and impact of the rule of law in Eastern Europe. Topics range from copyright to public policy, civil law, freedom of speech, citizenship, and more.
United Nations Law Collection on HeinOnline This collection contains treaties including the United Nations Treaty Series (UNTS), and the League of Nations Treaty Series (LNTS). It also has publications of the International Court of Justice, the United Nations Commission on International Trade Law, the International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea, UN yearbooks, UN serials, and more.
World Treaty Library on HeinOnline This monumental collection brings together Rohn, Dumont, Bevans, Martens, League of Nations, United States, and United Nations treaties into one easy-to-use and fully searchable database. Search a comprehensive treaty index by keywords, title, parties, sign date or citation. Also included are hundreds of related treaty publications, scholarly articles chosen by our editors, and a bibliography of related publications.

Westlaw

Why use Westlaw for analysis & commentary?

In addition to Westlaw's legal contents, it also has a large number of seconday sources of which law review articles are one. The database has many of the same items as HeinOnline's does except that they do not all have complete runs. At the same time, the publishers do not prevent them from providing the most recent issues as they do with Hein.

Searching Westlaw

On the Law Reviews & Journals page, you may search all publications by using the search box or clicking on Advanced Search to the right of the search box. You can also select by series, topic, or jurisdiction by using the filters on the left. While there is no topic for human rights law, there is an International Law topic that you can select. Searching law reviews from a particular state is not recommended.

On the Texts & Treatises page, you may search all publications by using the search box or clicking on Advanced Search to the right of the search box. You can also select by series, topic, or jurisdiction by using the filters on the left. While there is no topic for human rights law, there is an International Law topic that you can select.

International Law Reviews & Journals on Westlaw Access limited to law faculty & law students only.
Law Reviews & Journals on Westlaw Access limited to law students and law faculty. Date coverage of legal periodicals on Westlaw varies depending on the periodical.
Westlaw Texts & Treatises Law Students & Faculty Only.

Lexis Advance

Why use Lexis for analysis & commentary?

In addition to Lexis' legal contents, it also has a large number of seconday sources of which law review articles are one. The database has many of the same items as HeinOnline's does except that they do not all have complete runs. At the same time, the publishers do not prevent them from providing the most recent issues as they do with Hein.

Searching

On the Law Reviews & Journals page, you may search all publications by using the search box or clicking on Advanced Search to the right of the search box. You can also select a practice area or jurisdiction. While there is no practice area for human rights law, there is a Civil Rights and aan International Law practice area that you can select. Searching law reviews from a particular state is not recommended.
On the Treatises, Practice Guides & Jurisprudence page, you may search all publications by using the search box or clicking on Advanced Search to the right of the search box. You can also select by practice area or jurisdiction. While there is no practice area for human rights law, there is a Civil Rights and an International Law practice area that you can select.

Law Reviews & Journals on Lexis Advance
Law students & faculty only. Date coverage of legal periodicals on Lexis varies depending on the periodical. To view legal periodicals available on Lexis, go to Secondary Materials > Law Reviews and Journals.
All International Law Reviews and Journals on Lexis Advance
Law students & faculty only.
Lexis Advance International Law Treatises, Practice Guides & Jurisprudence Law students & faculty only. International Law Treatises, Practice Guides & Jurisprudences available on Lexis Advance. They primarily deal with transactional law.
Lexis Advance Treatises, Practice Guides & Jurisprudence
Law students & faculty only

Bloomberg Law

Why use Bloomberg Law for analysis & commentary?

Bloomberg Law has an International Trade practice center. Although it does not focus on human rights, trade practice often has human rights implications. Additionally, Bloomberg BNA’s authoritative coverage spans the full range of legal practice areas, including labor & employment, intellectual property, banking & securities, health care, privacy & data security, and environment, health & safety.