Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UC Logo
Libraries | Ask the Libraries

International Human Rights

Human rights may be inalienable rights but they depend on State actors to enforce through laws and policies. This guide helps you research those laws and policies.

Overview

Analysis and Commentary by Scholars and Others

As mentioned, analysis and commentary by scholars and others is used in human rights law. Below are resources for finding journal articles and more on human rights.

HeinOnline

Why use HeinOnline for analysis and commentary?

  • The Law Journal Library contains more than 1,800 law and law-related periodicals. Coverage is generally from the first issue published for all periodicals and goes through the most-currently published issues allowed based on contracts with publishers. Search by article title, author, subject, state or country published, full text, and narrow by date.
  • Law review articles clarify issues, arguments on all sides, and the reasoning in those arguments.  They also identify cases and other scholarship of particular importance and the fact patterns of those cases.
  • In addition to the Law Journal Library, HeinOnline also features many other useful databases for analysis and commentary that can be used in human rights research.

Searching HeinOnline

  • Citation Search
    • Use this when you have a citation to a law review article.
    • The Citation Navigator link can help you with citation format when searching by citation.
  • Advanced Search
    • Advanced Search allows you to do field searching using a template. The Field Search has a template with three blanks (you can add more blank rows as needed), menus for designating which field each blank will search, and a choice of Boolean and proximity operators.
    • The Advanced Search allows you to use Boolean logic, proximity operators, and truncation in full-text searches.
  • Browsing
    • Browsing can be done by by publication title, state (U.S.), country, subject, or most-cited.

Westlaw

Why use Westlaw for analysis & commentary?

In addition to Westlaw's legal contents, it also has a large number of seconday sources of which law review articles are one. The database has many of the same items as HeinOnline's does except that they do not all have complete runs. At the same time, the publishers do not prevent them from providing the most recent issues as they do with Hein.

Searching Westlaw

  • On the Law Reviews & Journals page, you may search all publications by using the search box or clicking on Advanced Search to the right of the search box. You can also select by series, topic, or jurisdiction by using the filters on the left. While there is no topic for human rights law, there is an International Law topic that you can select.  Searching law reviews from a particular state is not recommended.
  • On the Texts & Treatises page, you may search all publications by using the search box or clicking on Advanced Search to the right of the search box.  You can also select by series, topic, or jurisdiction by using the filters on the left. While there is no topic for human rights law, there is an International Law topic that you can select. 

     

Lexis Advance

Why use Lexis for analysis & commentary?

In addition to Lexis' legal contents, it also has a large number of seconday sources of which law review articles are one. The database has many of the same items as HeinOnline's does except that they do not all have complete runs. At the same time, the publishers do not prevent them from providing the most recent issues as they do with Hein.

Searching

  • On the Law Reviews & Journals page, you may search all publications by using the search box or clicking on Advanced Search to the right of the search box. You can also select a practice area or jurisdiction. While there is no practice area for human rights law, there is a Civil Rights and aan International Law practice area that you can select.  Searching law reviews from a particular state is not recommended.
  • On the Treatises, Practice Guides & Jurisprudence page, you may search all publications by using the search box or clicking on Advanced Search to the right of the search box.  You can also select by practice area or jurisdiction. While there is no practice area for human rights law, there is a Civil Rights and an International Law practice area that you can select. 

Bloomberg Law

Why use Bloomberg Law for analysis & commentary?

 

University of Cincinnati Libraries

PO Box 210033 Cincinnati, Ohio 45221-0033

Phone: 513-556-1424

Contact Us | Staff Directory

University of Cincinnati

Alerts | Clery and HEOA Notice | Notice of Non-Discrimination | eAccessibility Concern | Privacy Statement | Copyright Information

© 2021 University of Cincinnati