Skip to main content
Libraries

E-books at UC Libraries

This guide provides an overview if e-books in UC collections and online. Learn to find and read e-books.

Finding E-books with Summon

To find e-book with Summon, the library user-friendly search engine, go to the Advanced Search. The link is available on the library home page in the red search box.

Enter your search term(s). From the "Show content type" drop-down menu select "Book/eBook." Under "Show only" check the box for "Items with full text online."

summon search sreen with a menu option for books and e-books

On the results page click on the link for the book full text (there may be more than one).

Summon search results for e-books

Finding E-books in the Library Catalog

One way of finding e-books is by searching the Library catalog.

On the UC Libraries home page click the Books tab in the red search box. Click "Advanced Search."

Catalog search box with the Advanced Search option

  • Enter your search term(s).
  • From the "Material type" drop-down menu select "book."
  • From the "Limit all future searches to:" drop-down menu select "Online Books, Databases, and Journals."
  • Click "Submit" or hit "Enter."

Library catalog keyword search screen with limit options

In the results list click on the title.

Search results for ebooks in the library catalog

You may have more than option for accessing the e-book, including off-campus access.

Catalog record for an e-book with multiple access options

Databases with E-books

On the On the UC Libraries home page click the Databases tab in the red search box. Click "Browse Databases."

Databases search box with the Browse Databases option

To see databases that include e-books click "All Database Types" ands select "e-books" from the drop-down menu.

Database menu with e-books highlighted

You can filter further either by selecting a subject from the drop-down menu under "All Subjects" or by typing keywords in "Search for Databases" box.

University of Cincinnati Libraries

PO Box 210033 Cincinnati, Ohio 45221-0033

Phone: 513-556-1424

Contact Us | Staff Directory

University of Cincinnati

Alerts | Clery and HEOA Notice | Notice of Non-Discrimination | eAccessibility Concern | Privacy Statement | Copyright Information

© 2019 University of Cincinnati