Research Guides: E-books at UC Libraries: Selected UC E-book Collections

Selected E-book Collections

Databases containing e-books

The Library subscribes to many e-book collections.

To access any of the collections, you will be prompted to login with your UC credentials (6+2 and central password).

Featured e-books platforms and collections

Taylor & Francis Ebooks
Full-text of thousands of e-books and technical handbooks in engineering, technology, science, bioscience, medicine and business published by Taylor & Francis and its imprints: CRC Press, Routledge, Apple Academic Press. The CRCNetBase e-book collections are included in this database.
Early English Books Online
Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains over 125¸000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640)¸ Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700)¸ and the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661). The Early English Books Tract Supplements will also be added to EEBO soon. Among the thousands of titles featured in EEBO are works by Malory¸ Bacon¸ More¸ Erasmus¸ Boyle¸ Newton¸ Galileo; musical exercises by Henry Purcell and novels by Aphra Behn; prayer books¸ pamphlets¸ and proclamations; almanacs¸ calendars¸ and many other primary sources.
Coverage:Full Text; 1473-1700
ProQuest Ebook Central
ProQuest Ebook Central (formerly ebrary and EBL) has over 25,000 academic books online. You can search by subject¸ author¸ title¸ or publisher.
EBSCOhost Ebook Collection
Books available to browse¸ view and check out online.
Electronic Book Center (OhioLINK)
Electronic Book Center contains the full texts of thousands of scholarly and reference e-books from several publishers¸ covering many subject areas.
Knovel
Knovel is an extensive, searchable online library of full-text content, including reference handbooks, conference proceedings and databases. Provides interactive tools such as tables, graphs and an extensive unit conversion tool that allow users to manipulate, analyze, and export data.

Oxford Scholarship Online
Important scholarly books, both classic and newly-published works, in the humanities and social sciences. Oxford imprints include OUP Oxford, OUP USA, and Clarendon Press.

O'Reilly Ebooks
Includes electronic books and videos in computer science, information technology, business and related fields from O'Reilly and other IT and business publishers. NOTE: First time, authorized UC users, need to register for an account at O'Reilly with their UC email address to access the site.
View this video to learn more about how to access O'Reilly
ScienceDirect (Elsevier)
Includes abstracts, tables of contents, and full text from 2500+ journals and ebooks in the physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.

Springer Ebooks
High-quality scientific, technological and medical books. Springer imprints also include Apress, Birkhäuser, Physica-Verlag, Steinkopff, and others.
Taylor & Francis Open Access Books
Taylor & Francis Open Access Books are published across all subject areas, their strengths are in Society & Social Sciences and Humanities.
Wiley Online Library
Full-Text books from Wiley. The starting date is 2012.

Reference Collections

The Library offers many online reference works including e-books.

To access any of the collections below, you will be prompted to login with your UC credentials (6+2 and central password).

Taylor & Francis Ebooks
Full-text of thousands of e-books and technical handbooks in engineering, technology, science, bioscience, medicine and business published by Taylor & Francis and its imprints: CRC Press, Routledge, Apple Academic Press. The CRCNetBase e-book collections are included in this database.
Credo Reference
Credo Reference is a ready-reference solution for learners and librarians. Its full-text¸ aggregated content covers every major subject from the world's best publishers of reference materials. The content is enriched with images¸ sound files¸ maps and customizable data tables.
Coverage: varies
Gale Virtual Reference Library @ Gale Ebooks
Gale Ebooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library¸ but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7.
Oxford Reference Online

OhioLINK Electronic Book Center: Reference Collection
The Scholarly & Reference E-Book Collection contains electronic books purchased by Ohio academic libraries from the following publishers: ABC-CLIO (educational reference books on many specialized topics, primarily in the humanities and social sciences), Gale (reference books published mostly by Thomson Gale), Oxford University Press (important scholarly books, both classic and newly-published works, in the humanities and social sciences), Sage (encyclopedias and reference handbooks from the Sage eReference catalog, mainly in the social sciences), and Springer (high-quality scientific, technological and medical books).