Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UC Logo
Libraries | Ask the Libraries

E-books at UC Libraries

This guide provides an overview of e-books in UC collections and online. Learn to find and read e-books.

About the EBSCOhost E-book Collection

The EBSCOhost eBook Collection is a broad multi-disciplinary collection covering topics across the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities.

Reading Online

In EBSCOhost eBook Collection, you can do a search for your term(s) or click on eBooks in the bluer bar to browse by category.

EBSCOhost search screen

From the search results, click the check box beside a title or chapter and click either "PDF Full Text" (this format supports page level citations)  or "EPUB Full Text" (this format, available for selected books, resizes to your screen) to see the full text.

EBSCOhost search results with full text format options.

Printing and Copying

Up to 100 pages of an eBook can be saved for printing or emailing per user as a PDF file from within the eBook Full Text viewer.

Note: The number of pages may vary depending on individual publisher-specified limits.

To save eBooks pages as a PDF, do the following:

  1. Open the eBook in the eBook Full Text viewer.

  2. Go to the first page of the section of pages you would like to print and click "Save Pages" in the tools menu.
    The "Save Pages to PDF" menu is displayed.

Save Pages to PDF screen

  1. Select to include in the PDF:

    • Current Page: Save only the page you are viewing.
    • Current Page and the next XX pages: Enter the number of pages (up to the number listed next to "Number of pages available" minus 1. For example, if the limit is 30 pages, enter 29).
    • This Section (If available to select): Select to save the entire section or chapter of the eBook.
  2. Select:

    • Save PDF: To save the selected pages to your computer.
    • Send as an E-mail: To e-mail the selected pages as a PDF file to yourself.

Note: eBook pages saved as a PDF can be transferred to, and read on eReader devices such as the Nook or Kindle. Consult your device's user manual for instructions on how to manually transfer files to the device.

To print eBooks pages, do the following:

  1. Open the eBook in the eBook Full Text viewer.

  2. Go to the first page of the section of pages you would like to print and click "Save Pages" in the tools menu.
    The "Print Pages to PDF" menu is displayed.

  3. Select to include in the PDF:

    • Current Page: Save only the page you are viewing.
    • Current Page and the next XX pages: Enter the number of pages (up to the number listed next to "Number of pages available" minus 1. For example, if the limit is 30 pages, enter 29).
    • This Section (If available to select): Select to save the entire section or chapter of the eBook.
  4. Select "Print PDF."
  5. The printer dialog box will come up. Select the desired options and click "Print."

Additional Information

University of Cincinnati Libraries

PO Box 210033 Cincinnati, Ohio 45221-0033

Phone: 513-556-1424

Contact Us | Staff Directory

University of Cincinnati

Alerts | Clery and HEOA Notice | Notice of Non-Discrimination | eAccessibility Concern | Privacy Statement | Copyright Information

© 2021 University of Cincinnati