Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UC Logo
Libraries | Ask the Libraries

E-books at UC Libraries

This guide provides an overview of e-books in UC collections and online. Learn to find and read e-books.

Accessing Safari E-books

Safari Books Online is the premier digital library providing technology, digital media, and business books and videos online to academic and library users. The number of concurrent users is unlimited.

Please note: If you copy and paste a link to a Safari Books Online resource, the link will bring the next user to a paywall.

This page provides directions on accessing Safari books. If you are an instructor, please share this information with your students.

The brief video below describes how to access the Safari Books Online collection.

Safari Books via the Catalog and Summon

In many cases, the e-book will be listed in the UC Libraries Catalog.

To access a specific book, you can bookmark or share the link to the catalog record (permanent link at the bottom of the record screen). The record includes the access link to the resource. Alternatively, you can do a title search; make sure to select the right edition.

f you are doing a keyword search, for example, for book on computer security, use "safari" as one of your keywords to limit your search to Safari books.

On the record screen, click the link to the e-book in the grey box.

The grey box titled "Click on following to" in a library catalog record.

Safari e-books can also be found by searching Summon. Just like with the catalog, you can "safari" as one of your keywords.

Summon search screen with links to Safari books

For the book you want to access, click on the book title or "Full Text Online" link. Once you follow the link to the Safari at O'Reilly, follow the directions in the video to access the text.

For your convenience, the instructions in the text format are below.

  • On the database login screen, in the Institution drop-down list select "Not listed? Click here."
  • Enter your UC email address and click "Let's Go"
  • When it loads, click "Got it."
  • Since you followed a link to the specific book, it will be displayed.

University of Cincinnati Libraries

PO Box 210033 Cincinnati, Ohio 45221-0033

Phone: 513-556-1424

Contact Us | Staff Directory

University of Cincinnati

Alerts | Clery and HEOA Notice | Notice of Non-Discrimination | eAccessibility Concern | Privacy Statement | Copyright Information

© 2019 University of Cincinnati