Skip to Main Content

DAAP Library Architecture & Interior Design Research Guide

This Guide contains some of the most used resources for architecture and interior design research including journals, books, visual resources, databases, and additional resources related to institutional and professional organizations.

Books & E-Books

American Architectural Books by Based on the Henry-Russell Hitchcock bibliography [and] Helen Park List [of architectural books available in America before the Revolution]
Call Number: Langsam Microforms microflim 1260 reel 1-128 & Micro Index Shelf Z5944.U5 E44 1973
American Architectural Books : Supplement by Based on the Helen Park List
Call Number: Langsam Microforms microfilm 1260 reel 115 & Micro Index Shelf Z5944.U5 E44 1973
Architect's Handbook of Formulas, Tables, and Mathematical Calculations by David Kent Ballast
Call Number: DAAP Stacks NA2750 .B32 1988

ISBN: 0130446866
The Architect's Handbook of Professional Practice by Joseph A. Demkin (Editor); American Institute of Architects Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: CEAS Reference NA1996 .A726 2008 Text & CD

ISBN: 0470009578
Architect's Room Design Data Handbook by Fred A. Stitt
Call Number: DAAP Stacks NA2750 .S73 1992

ISBN: 0442007167
Architectural Graphic Standards : Student Edition by Bruce Bassler (Editor); Charles George Ramsey; Harold Reeve Sleeper; American Institute of Architects Staff; Keith E. Hedges (Editor)
Call Number: E-Book

ISBN: 9780470085462
Building Security by Barbara A. Nadel
Call Number: DAAP Stacks TH9705 .B845 2004 c.2

ISBN: 0071411712
The Concise Dictionary of Architectural and Design History by Frederic H. Jones; Michael G. Crisp (Editor)
Call Number: SW Depository NA31 .J62 1992

ISBN: 1560520698

Credo Reference
Provides access to the Dictionary of Architecture & Construction

The Elements of Style : An Encyclopedia of Domestic Architectural Detail by Stephen Calloway (Editor); Elizabeth Cromley (Editor); Alan Powers (Revised by)
Call Number: DAAP Reference NA2850 .E445 2005

ISBN: 1554070791
Encyclopedia of 20th-Century Architecture by R. Stephen Sennott (Editor)
Call Number: DAAP Reference NA680 .E495 2004 v.1-3

ISBN: 1579582435
Encyclopedia of Architecture : Design, Engineering & Construction by Joseph A. Wilkes (Editor); Robert T. Packard (Editor)
Call Number: SW Depository NA31 .E59 1988 v.1-5

ISBN: 0471807478
Encyclopedia of Interior Design by Joanna Banham (Editor)
Call Number: DAAP Reference NK1165 .E48 1997 v.1-2

ISBN: 1884964192
The Encyclopedia of North American Architecture by Janice Anderson
Call Number: DAAP Reference NA703 .A53 2006

ISBN: 0785820914
Encyclopedia of Vernacular Architecture of the World by Paul Oliver (Editor)
Call Number: DAAP Reference NA208 .E53 1997 v.1-3

ISBN: 0521564220
The Fowler Collection of Early Architectural Books by Accompanied by guide The Fowler Architectural Collection of the Johns Hopkins University, compiled by Laurence Hall Fowler
Call Number: Langsam Micro Index Shelf Z5945 .J6 1982 & SW Depository microfilm 1294 reel 1-86

Oxford Art Online
(Grove Dictionary of Art) Provides extensive worldwide coverage of art, art styles, subjects, and media in addition to biographies of both Western and Non-Western artists, patrons, critics, and collections. Includes over 41,000 signed articles that provide bibliographic data and are usually illustrated.
Oxford Reference Online
Online access to the following resources: A Dictionary of Architecture and Landscape Architecture ,The Oxford Dictionary of Art and Artists, A Dictionary of Twentieth-Century Art and The Oxford Companion to Western Art

The Penguin Dictionary of Architecture and Landsacpe Architecture by Nikolaus Pevsner; John Fleming; Hugh Honour
Call Number: DAAP Reference NA31 .F5 1998

ISBN: 0670880175
Professional Practice for Interior Designers by Christine M. Piotrowski
Call Number: DAAP Stacks NK2116.2 .P57 2008

ISBN: 0471760862

Last Updated: Oct 14, 2025 2:54 PM
URL: https://guides.libraries.uc.edu/architecture
Print Page

Subjects: Design, Architecture, Art & Planning

Tags: architecture, buildings, cincinnati architecture, houses, interior design, lighting

University of Cincinnati Libraries

PO Box 210033 Cincinnati, Ohio 45221-0033

Phone: 513-556-1424

Contact Us | Staff Directory

University of Cincinnati

Alerts | Clery and HEOA Notice | Notice of Non-Discrimination | eAccessibility Concern | Privacy Statement | Copyright Information

© 2025 University of Cincinnati