This Guide contains some of the most used resources for architecture and interior design research including journals, books, visual resources, databases, and additional resources related to institutional and professional organizations.
Art Full Text is a comprehensive resource for art information featuring full-text articles from more than 300 periodicals dating back to 1995¸ high-quality indexing and abstracting of over 600 periodicals dating as far back as 1984¸ including 280 peer-reviewed journals¸ as well as indexing and abstracting of over 13¸000 art dissertations. Indexing of almost 200¸000 art reproductions provides examples of styles and art movements¸ including works by emerging artists. The database covers fine¸ decorative and commercial art¸ folk art¸ photography¸ film¸ and architecture¸ and also includes a database-specific thesaurus.
Coverage: 1984 - present
Art Index Retrospective¸ 1929 -1984¸ provides users access to over half a century of art literature covering fine¸ decorative¸ and commercial art. Content includes high-quality indexing of nearly 600 publications¸ many of which are peer-reviewed¸ and citations of over 25¸000 book reviews.
ARTstor is a non-profit initiative¸ founded by the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation¸ with a mission to use digital technology to enhance scholarship¸ teaching and learning in the arts and associated fields. It is a searchable database of more than 2.5 million digital images and related data.
NOTE: ARTSTOR CONTENT IS MOVING TO JSTOR (MUCH CONTENT IS ALREADY MOVED). ARTSTOR WILL BE RETIRED IN AUGUST 2024.
The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals indexes more than 1¸000 periodicals published worldwide on archaeology¸ city planning¸ interior design¸ and historic preservation¸ as well as architecture. Updated daily¸ the Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals covers 1977 to the present¸ with more than 229¸000 records.
Coverage: 1977 - present
JSTOR is a digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. The collections include top peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports from trusted institutes, and diverse primary sources. Explore the visual side of JSTOR, including artwork, newspapers, manuscripts, photographs, and other artifacts contributed by libraries, museums, archives, and historical societies around the world
Material ConneXion is the world's leading knowledge base for information about new and innovative materials. The database provides comprehensive information about over 3¸500 innovative materials and processes¸ with more being added each month.
Oxford Art Online is an authoritative¸ inclusive¸ and easily searchable online art resource. Through a single gateway users can access-and simultaneously cross-search-an expanding range of Oxford's art reference works: Grove Art Online¸ the Benezit Dictionary of Artists¸ the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics¸ The Oxford Companion to Western Art¸ and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms¸ as well as many specially commissioned articles and bibliographies available exclusively online.