Architecture & Interior Design Guide

Personal collection of architectural photographs taken by Professor Jeffrey Howe from Boston College and spans from perhistory through the present.

Primary and secondary resources from the University of Wisconsin.

"The Aga Khan Visual Archive (AKVA) consists of over 120,000 slides and digital images of architecture, urbanism, and the built environment in the Islamic world, donated by students, scholars, and architectural firms. The images span a 30-year period and document historic and contemporary sites in the Islamic world, often depicting sites not found in any published resource."

Theaters in the Mediterranean from Whitman College.

Early nineteenth and twentieth century buildings from the United States, Mexico, Greece, the Middle East and Europe.

Focusing on twentieth century and international architecture, online database of worldwide architects and buildings, both built and unrealized.

Community-constructed collection of information on buildings and building culture worldwide.

A collection of architecture and interior design; includes notable American homes.

The Architecture and Urban Planning Collection contains a variety of images from many sources. Included in the collection are images of urban planning projects from China, Africa, Europe, and the United States. Many of these images represent research projects of the College of Design, Architecture, Art and Planning faculty and students. Images of the built environment are from the Cincinnati Preservation Association, professional and amateur photographers, and from students and staff at the University of Cincinnati. These images are available to the general public. The collection is growing continually.

The ArchNet Digital Library offers images of Islamic Architecture. Images can be viewed by collection, country of location, building type, use or style, century or decade, and site name.

Architectural drawings, fragments, and architectural ornamental systems.

Oral histories from Chicago in the 20th century.

"The Art, Architecture and Engineering Library Lantern Slide Collection is a collection of approximately 17,000 lantern slides of architectural and geographic topics. Lantern slides are glass slides that were used from the late nineteenth century through the mid-twentieth century. They are made of two thin panes of glass that measure 3" X 4 1/4" or 3" X 3". Usually the slide is composed of a layer of emulsion laid on one pane of glass and covered by the other pane, but sometimes there is actually a layer of film sandwiched between the glass panes."

Photographic survey of Asia's architectural heritage.

The collection contains images from the early years of photography to the middle of the 20th century, including 28,400 images that are digitally accessible. The images were taken in the historic Basel Mission fields in Africa and Asia, with a principal focus on Ghana, Cameroon, South India (mainly Karnataka and Kerala), South China (mainly Hakka-speaking parts of the Guangdong province and Hong Kong), and Kalimantan.

Images of the modern Canadian city.

Castles from the Medieval to Edo Period.

Images of historically significant buildings and architects active in Chicago.

Images of buildings and cities, international in scope and spanning across time.

The Phyllis and Robert Massar Photograph Collection of Pacific Northwest Architecture is a photographic archive created when they were professional architectural photographers in the Pacific Northwest during the period 1943-1963. During the time when they were active in photographing the contemporary architecture of the PNW, Robert Massar and Phyllis Dearborn Massar were professionally known as Dearborn-Massar. Both graduates of the University of Washington, they maintained homes in Seattle and New York, photographing in the summer in the west and returning to New York City in the winter. Their images represent the work of some of the most well known architects in the Northwest and document the transition into the development of a regional variant of Modernism, sometimes called the Northwest Contemporary style of architecture.

Images of vacant structures in Detroit from the pre-depression era.

Free access to exciting modern buildings and the means to explore them: photographs, descriptions and practical information for visiting them

Online Giza archive.

The Historic American Buildings Survey (HABS) and the Historic American Engineering Record (HAER) collections are among the largest and most heavily used in the Prints and Photographs Division of the Library of Congress. Since 2000, documentation from the Historic American Landscapes Survey (HALS) has been added to the holdings. The collections document achievements in architecture, engineering, and landscape design in the United States and its territories through a comprehensive range of building types, engineering technologies, and landscapes, including examples as diverse as the Pueblo of Acoma, houses, windmills, one-room schools, the Golden Gate Bridge, and buildings designed by Frank Lloyd Wright. Administered since 1933 through cooperative agreements with the National Park Service, the Library of Congress, and the private sector, ongoing programs of the National Park Service have recorded America's built environment in multiformat surveys comprising more than 556,900 measured drawings, large-format photographs, and written histories for more than 38,600 historic structures and sites dating from Pre-Columbian times to the twentieth century. This online presentation of the HABS/HAER/HALS collections includes digitized images of measured drawings, black-and-white photographs, color transparencies, photo captions, written history pages, and supplemental materials.

Images of architecture from Ohio State's Knowlton School of Architecture.

"With a database of images, texts, charts and historical maps, Mapping Gothic France invites you to explore the parallel stories of Gothic architecture and the formation of France in the 12th and 13th centuries, considered in three dimensions"

A user-generated database that covers international contemporary buildings.

A photo blog dedicated to exploring and discovering the City of New York block by block. Updated every weekday.

Oregon State University photo archive of images of natural resources, environmental history, forestry, and agriculture.

Images and information about buildings, projects, architects, & engineers, contractors. Images and information focus primarily on structures in Philadelphia and the surrounding areas.

Encompassing pre-history to the post-modern era, the database is divided by geographic locations, and also features a chronology and artist/architect index.

Project for Public Spaces (PPS) is a nonprofit organization dedicated to helping people create and sustain public spaces that build strong communities.

Drawings and photographs of the works of Art Deco movie theaters.

Images and guide to sacred places and pilgrimage sites.

Images of architecture by Frank Lloyd Wright.

The Skyscraper Page offers the visitor access to information regarding skyscrapers throughout the world. Visitors can view diagrams, illustrations, photos, and garner information of over 27,700 structures.

The Art, Architecture and Engineering Library Lantern Slide Collection is a collection of approximately 17,000 lantern slides of architectural and geographic topics. Lantern slides are glass slides that were used from the late nineteenth century through the mid-twentieth century. They are made of two thin panes of glass that measure 3" X 4 1/4" or 3" X 3". Usually the slide is composed of a layer of emulsion laid on one pane of glass and covered by the other pane, but sometimes there is actually a layer of film sandwiched between the glass panes. In 2003 we've been cleaning and cataloging the slide collection. We've also been digitizing many of the images (not all images are high enough quality to merit scanning). Here you can browse or search the collection. You'll find data from all of the slides, and you'll find digital images for about 2/3 to 3/4 of the collection. If you have any questions about the collection, please contact Rebecca Price at rpw@umich.edu or 734-647-5274.

The internationally recognized WorldImages database provides access to the California State University IMAGE Project. . . It contains approximately 80,000 images, is global in coverage and includes all areas of visual imagery.