This Guide contains some of the most used resources for architecture and interior design research including journals, books, visual resources, databases, and additional resources related to institutional and professional organizations.
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions includes more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields. Academic Search Complete offers critical information from many sources unique to this massive collection. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
Coverage: 1865 - present
Abstracts of journal articles¸ books¸ essays¸ exhibition catalogs¸ dissertations¸ and exhibition reviews...Covers all aspects of modern and contemporary art¸ including performance art and installation works¸ video art¸ computer and electronic art¸ body art¸ graffiti¸ artists' books¸ theater arts¸ crafts¸ jewelry¸ illustration¸ and more¸ as well as the traditional fine arts of painting¸ printmaking¸ sculpture¸ and drawing.
Coverage: 1974 - present
Art Full Text is a comprehensive resource for art information featuring full-text articles from more than 300 periodicals dating back to 1995¸ high-quality indexing and abstracting of over 600 periodicals dating as far back as 1984¸ including 280 peer-reviewed journals¸ as well as indexing and abstracting of over 13¸000 art dissertations. Indexing of almost 200¸000 art reproductions provides examples of styles and art movements¸ including works by emerging artists. The database covers fine¸ decorative and commercial art¸ folk art¸ photography¸ film¸ and architecture¸ and also includes a database-specific thesaurus.
Coverage: 1984 - present
The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals indexes more than 1¸000 periodicals published worldwide on archaeology¸ city planning¸ interior design¸ and historic preservation¸ as well as architecture. Updated daily¸ the Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals covers 1977 to the present¸ with more than 229¸000 records.
Coverage: 1977 - present
A database search engine covers European and American art from late antiquity to the present¸ indexes and abstracts art-related books¸ conference proceedings and dissertations¸ exhibition and dealer's catalogs¸ and articles from more than 2¸500 periodicals.
Coverage: 1973 - present
ERIC indexes education-related literature¸ beginning in 1966. The ERIC database is the world's largest source of education information¸ containing abstracts of documents and journal articles on education research and practice. The database covers descriptions and evaluations of programs¸ research reports and surveys¸ curriculum and teaching guides¸ instructional materials¸ position papers¸ and resource materials. In 1993¸ ERIC began indexing education-related books¸ including the output of major publishers. More recently it includes full-text non-journal documents (issued 1993-present). ERIC may be accessed directly at http://www.eric.ed.gov. To take advantage of many links to full-text documents through OhioLINK¸ use the connect below.
Coverage: 1966 - present
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature¸ including peer-reviewed papers¸ theses¸ books¸ preprints¸ abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers¸ professional societies¸ preprint repositories and universities¸ as well as scholarly articles available across the web. If you are unable to access the fulltext of the item¸ please check with your university library. You may need to do searches from a campus computer or use a library proxy.
PsycINFO, produced by the American Psychological Association, is a collection of electronically stored bibliographic references--most with abstracts or content summaries. It contains citations that PsycINFO has created in electronic form. Although the references themselves are all written in English, the covered literature includes material published in over 45 countries and written in 30 languages.Coverage: 1872-present
Indexing¸ abstracts¸ and citation searching for science and social science scholarly literature. Scopus covers 14¸000 titles across 4¸000 publishers¸ providing access to over 25 million abstracts going back to 1966 and 5 years of cited reference back years¸ building up to 10 years by the end of 2005. Coverage: 1966 - present
SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. The database features more than 1¸910¸000 records with subject headings from a 19¸300 term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for 397 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1908¸ and 150 "priority" coverage journals. This database also includes full text for more than 720 books and monographs¸ and full text for 6¸743 conference papers. Coverage: 1895 - present