Skip to Main Content
Books & Treatises
Asylum Case Law Sourcebook (Westlaw)
Asylum Case Law Sourcebook summarizes important federal court asylum decisions since 1980 and includes more than 1,000 decisions categorized by subject matter. It outlines the most important elements of the court's holding, provides the full citation and case history, lists the country of origin of the asylum seeker, and highlights significant topics covered by the case. The foreword provides highlights of significant developments in asylum law since publication of the last edition.
Business Immigration Law: Strategies for Employing Foreign Nationals (Lexis)
Finally, employing foreign nationals has been demystified! Business Immigration Law: Strategies for Employing Foreign Nationals guides you step-by-step through this intricate legal maze. An impressive array of specialists provides helpful and pragmatic advice on the nonimmigrant work authorization, including: specialty occupations (H-1Bs); intra-company transfers from abroad (L-1); and treaty traders and investors (E-1 and E-2). Coverage includes: tax issues; discrimination law problems raised by screening foreign nationals during hiring; how to avoid sanctions for I-9 violations; and the interaction between nonimmigrant and immigrant statuses. The appendices provide forms, guidelines, regulations and other helpful materials.
Global Issues in Immigration Law (West Academic)
opics include an introductory discussion of comparative versus international law and the relevance of both to U.S. Jurisprudence; a comprehensive overview of international migration multilateral and bilateral regimes; glimpses into the immigration law and practices of Mexico, Canada, the European Union, the United Kingdom, France, and Spain; and a final part that examines international norms on freedom of movement, the right to nationality, policing, living conditions, immigrant workers and anti-terrorism law.
Guide to Homeland Security (Westlaw)
This two-volume set provides coverage of acts and regulations in the emerging area of homeland security. It provides the full contents of acts such as the USA Patriot Act and the Bioterrorism Preparedness Act as well as analysis which helps you comply with the new requirements.
H-1B Handbook (Westlaw)
H-1B Handbook, replaced annually, provides practical advice and forms essential for navigating the H-1B nonimmigrant visa approval process.
Immigration Employment Compliance Handbook (Westlaw)
The Immigration Employment Compliance Handbook, updated annually, will help you comply with federal employment eligibility and discrimination requirements under the Immigration Control and Reform Act of 1986 (IRCA) and other federal legislation and regulations in the areas of employment discrimination and employer sanctions.
Immigration Law & Business (Westlaw)
Through definitive guidance and a wide selection of sample forms, this database addresses the immigration concerns of corporations and other businesses. It provides in-depth coverage of immigration legislation and its impact upon immigration practice.
Immigration Law & Crimes (Westlaw)
Immigration Law and Crimes addresses those aspects of immigration law and practice which pertain to the impact of criminal activity on the status of noncitizens. This publication will be of unique value not only to immigration lawyers, but to criminal defense attorneys as well.
Immigration Law & Defense (Westlaw)
Immigration Law and Defense contains detailed discussion of the acquisition of nonimmigrant and immigrant status, grounds for inadmissibility and removal, administrative proceedings and appeals, federal court review, citizenship and naturalization, employer sanctions, and asylum.
Immigration Law and Procedure (Lexis)
AUTHORS: Charles Gordon; Stanley Mailman; Stephen Yale-Loehr; Ronald Y. Wada The Premier Treatise on Immigration Law Immigration Law and Procedure provides you with the authoritative treatise on immigration law as well as an incomparable collection of easily accessible source materials with all amendments integrated directly into the text.
Immigration Law and Procedure in a Nutshell (West Academic)
This compact, comprehensive title offers a thorough overview of the history, constitutional basis, statutory structure, regulatory provisions, administrative procedure, and ethical principles related to immigration law and practice. Updated to reflect developments since the 2016 Presidential election, it is valuable both as a teaching and a practice reference.
Immigration Law Practice Expediter (Lexis)
Immigration Practice Expediter The Expediter is a Practice Guide/Roadmap to all the main areas of immigration law. Written by treatise authors, Stanley Mailman and Stephen Yale-Loehr, the Expediter leads the user through visas and other immigration processes in a very practical way, while referencing and linking out to the treatise or primary source sections relevant to the particular task being performed by the user.
Immigration Law Service (Westlaw)
Immigration Law Service provides a practical and current approach to today's immigration-related issues. This title fully integrates changes brought about by the abolition of the INS and the shift of that agency's functions to various agencies in the Department of Homeland Security
Immigration Pleading & Practice Manual (Westlaw)
Immigration Pleading and Practice Manual contains expertly drafted motions, notices, and applications most often required in judicial and administrative federal immigration practice. Each sample filing includes the authors' supporting legal memorandum. Also includes "Practitioners' Notes," which explain the legal principles and the practical considerations applicable to the use of the particular motion, annotated directories of statutes, regulations, agency memoranda, and relevant agency and judicial decisions, and references to related treatises and other publications.
Immigration Practice Court Manual (Westlaw)
This database contains the Immigration Court Practice Manual, published by the Executive Office for Immigration Review (EOIR), as directed by the U.S. Attorney General.
Immigration Procedures Handbook (Westlaw)
mmigration Procedures Handbook contains explanations of how, where, and why to present specific types of petitions and applications under today's immigration laws. This detailed sourcebook also contains analysis of current law, as well as recent changes that affect immigration practice and procedure, to assist you in determining the most effective method of proceeding with a case.
Immigration Trial Handbook (Westlaw)
Coverage includes initial preparation for court, representation at master calendar hearings, preparation for the individual hearing, evidence and objections, representation at the individual hearing, and representation before the Board of Immigration Appeals. Practice tips, cautions, and checklists are provided throughout.
J Visa Guidebook (Lexis)
The J Visa Guidebook contains: - A history of the exchange visitor program - Coverage of the J-1 program designation process, including the sponsorship requirements for each exchange visitor category - Guidance through the steps necessary to secure the U.S. State Department's approval of a J-1 program application - Subjects ranging from the appointment of responsible program officers and the preparation of DS-2019, to recordkeeping requirements, the supervision of J-1 program participants, and sanctions for noncompliance. - Issues such as the qualifications for the J-1 visa in each exchange visitor category, employment authorization, maintenance of status, reinstatement of status, extension requests, and changes in program categories - Clarification on the complex issues relating to the J-1 two-year home residence requirement and possible waivers. - No-objection letters from over 70 countries - Sample hardship applications - State-30 information from all currently participating states - And over 1,000 pages of appendix materia
Labor Certification Handbook (Westlaw)
Find expert guidance on obtaining labor certification under the DOL's PERM regulation with Labor Certification Handbook. This publication provides practical, "how to" guidance regarding the entire process of obtaining labor certification, from the client interview through approval or denial.
Law of Asylum in the United States (Westlaw)
Law of Asylum in the United States is an authoritative presentation of U.S. asylum law, long considered a must-have publication for practitioners, students, researchers, and teachers. It is frequently relied upon and cited by practitioners and decision makers. Law of Asylum describes and interprets U.S. statutes, regulations, and cases, as well as numerous international sources, providing an up-to-date analysis of all aspects of asylum law.
Law of Immigration (Westlaw)
This latest edition of The Law of Immigration serves as an introduction to the most recent changes in immigration law. It provides an overview of the history of immigration law, a discussion of the current laws, and an examination of the evolution of immigration laws post-9/11. The title addresses key issues such as the rights and obligations of the alien, entry and admission, exclusion, employment, naturalization and citizenship, asylum, deportation, and visas and limitations. The author outlines the process of becoming an American citizen through naturalization and the requirements that must be met. The structure of the Immigration Department and the Department of Homeland Security's role within the law is also explained.
State Immigration Employment Compliance Handbook (Westlaw)
State Immigration Employment Compliance Handbook includes the full text of relevant state statutes and regulations, including those specifically affecting employment by public contractors, and an introductory chapter summarizing the relationship of state laws to federal immigration laws regulating the employment of noncitizens. It also discusses state immigration enforcement laws affecting an employer's multi-state operations.
Steel on Immigration Law (Westlaw)
Steel on Immigration Law discusses the basic structure of the immigration law, nonimmigrants, permanent resident status in general, family and employment-based immigration, refugees and asylees, grounds of inadmissibility, admission and exclusion procedures, removal grounds and procedures, citizenship and naturalization, and criminal and civil penalties for violations of immigration laws.
U.S. Citizenship & Naturalization Handbook (Westlaw)
The U.S. Citizenship and Naturalization Handbook includes coverage of developments in immigration including analysis of primary law, agency cables and memoranda, and forms, and provides a comprehensive overview of the history and development of U.S. citizenship and naturalization law.
Understanding Immigration Law (Lexis Digital Library)
The Second Edition of Understanding Immigration Law lays out the basics of U.S. immigration law in an accessible way to newcomers to the field. It offers background about the intellectual, historical, and constitutional foundations of U.S. immigration law. The eBook also identifies the factors that have historically fueled migration to the United States, including the economic "pull" of jobs and family in the United States and the "push" of economic hardship, political instability, and other facts of life in the sending country. In the middle chapters, the authors provide a capsule summary of the law concerning the admissions and removal procedures and criteria in the Immigration and Nationality Act. The book ends with a chapter speculating about the future of U.S. immigration law and the challenges and opportunities facing the nation.
United States Citizenship and Immigration Services Policy Manual (Westlaw)
The U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services Policy Manual is a published by U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS). It is a centralized online repository for USCIS's immigration policies.
Statutes and Regulations
CFR Immigration Regulations, Tilte 6, 8, 20, 22, 28 & 42 (Lexis)
Lexis version of regulations that relate to the rights and disabilities of foreign persons in the United States
CFR Immigration Regulations, Tilte 6, 8, 20, 22, 28 & 42 (Westlaw)
Westlaw version of regulations that relate to the rights and disabilities of foreign persons in the United States
USCA Immigration Statutes, Titles 6, 8, & 18 (Westlaw)
Westaw version of statutes that relate to the rights and disabilities of foreign persons in the United States.
US Citizenship & Immigration Services Law & Policy (USCIS)
USCIS website has links to relevant legislation and policy documents.
USCS Immigration Statutes, Titles 6, 8, & 18 (Lexis)
Lexis version of statutes that relate to the rights and disabilities of foreign persons in the United States
Other Resouces
Immigration Law & Policy in the United States (HeinOnline)
This comprehensive database is a compilation of the most important historical documents and legislation related to immigration in the United States, as well as current hearings, debates, and recent developments in immigration law. It also includes BIA Precedent Decisions, legislative histories, law and policy titles, extradition titles, scholarly articles, an extensive bibliography, and other related works.
Practical Guidance: Immigration Compliance (Bloomberg)
This collection contains checklists, forms and articles on immigration.
