Skip to Main Content
General Books & Treatises
ABA Model Rules of Professional Conduct (Lexis)
The CODES file contains the American Bar Association's Model Rules of Professional Conduct, the Model Code of Professional Responsibility and the Code of Judicial Conduct. Amendments to these rules are included as well, so when searching on a particular rule, both the original rule and any subsequent amended versions of that rule will be retrieved.
Attorney's Practice Guide to Negotiations (Westlaw)
This treatise is the most comprehensive and established book on the market today for attorneys interested in understanding both the law and strategies employed by leading attorneys negotiating in an array of practice areas.
Attorney-Client Privilege: State Law (Westlaw)
Attorney-Client Privilege: State Law is content created for Westlaw by the late Paul R. Rice as a companion to his masterwork Attorney-Client Privilege in the United States, which provides everything attorneys and judges need to understand the scope and limitations of the attorney-client privilege. Like its federal counterpart, this content discusses the history, theory, and purpose of the attorney-client privilege. This content provides practitioners, on a state-by-state basis, with a comprehensive examination of legislation and court interpretations of the privilege, as well as procedures for asserting, establishing, resolving, and appealing privilege matters.
The Attorney-Client Privilege and the Work-Product Doctrine (Lexis)
In addition to providing a comprehensive overview of the current law of the attorney-client and work-product immunities, the new edition of The Attorney-Client Privilege and Work-Product Doctrine includes many more case illustrations and contextual examples, as well as numerous practical tips and guidance.
Attorney-Client Privilege in the United States (Westlaw)
The purpose for attorney-client privilege is to encourage open communications between the attorney and client. Every client of every attorney, regardless of the legal advice or assistance sought, is subject to discovery demands that could reveal privileged information. This content provides instant access to the history, theory, and purpose of this privilege.
Becoming a Lawyer: Discovering and Defining Your Professional Persona (West Academic)
The difference between your success and failure is you. Success is not about your degrees or technical skills. It has nothing to do with law at all. A successful professional masters concepts and behaviors not taught in law school or practice. This guide will help you see the profession and what is required to succeed in a new light. Whether you are a new or more seasoned professional, Becoming a Lawyer will help you define and develop your professional persona and become the best legal professional you can be.
Excellence in the Workplace, Legal and Life Skills in a Nutshell (West Academic)
The people-skills book for new lawyers, law students, paralegals, and pre-law students. Identifies skills lawyers need; addresses getting practical lawyering skills and help you need—on the job and in law school. Chapters on emotional intelligence, diversity, meetings, time management, managing writing and research assignments, meeting with clients, working with your supervisor, supervising others. How to get feedback, cope with stress and conflict, seek balance, master public speaking and oral communication. Addresses the first day, shyness, meals, dress, cultural differences, networking, judgment, values, ethics, e-mail, and e-professionalism, building a career plan, career office resources, deciding if a job is right for you, negotiating salary, law firm economics, managing money. Advice from employers, insights from students. Excellent advice for new professionals in any field.
Fundamentals of Litigation Practice (Westlaw)
This work not only addresses practice under the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, but also more broadly conveys strategy, tactics and techniques applicable to litigation in both state and federal court and also in arbitration and administrative law settings. In short, Fundamentals is a quickly accessible introduction to issues and tasks a litigator might face in the day-to-day battle to resolve disputes, whatever their posture or forum.
Gilbert Law Summary on Legal Ethics (West Academic)
Using the ABA Model Rules of Professional Conduct, the ABA Model Code of Judicial Conduct, and the ALI Restatement (Third): The Law Governing Lawyers as key authorities, the author puts what otherwise could be abstract rules into context in order to illuminate what led to adoption of each rule, why the rules require what they do, and where changes in lawyer regulation may be coming. Substantive issues covered include how a lawyer and a client form their relationship, what fiduciary duties are and which ones a lawyer owes to his or her clients, how a lawyer markets and gets paid for his or her services, and various ways both confidentiality obligations and conflicts of interest can arise. In addition, the author calls attention to a lawyer's obligations to a client's opponents, courts and other tribunals, and the broader public interest, as well as a final chapter on the special responsibilities of judges.
The Legal Career: Knowing the Business, Thriving in Practice (West Academic)
This first-of-its kind business of law coursebook covers critical topics in the evolving legal profession. A fascinating, informative read for any law student or lawyer or person hoping to learn more about today’s legal landscape, the book features chapters on the structure and business of a law firm; the corporate law department; the emergence of law companies; legal technology; access to justice; employment and diversity in the legal profession; lawyer well-being; and legal education reform. Students will learn from detailed, insightful interviews of people working in law, including a co-founder of a leading law company; a legal innovation designer; the vice president and chief risk officer of a global medical technology company; a deputy legal counsel for an artist crowdfunding platform startup; a national pro bono counsel; law school deans; a law firm managing partner; and a senior director of knowledge and innovation delivery. Interactive exercises and questions for reflection and discussion are included throughout the book. This book, with its innovative holistic approach to the business of law, is ideal for business of law or legal professions courses, law school orientation, legal career services programs, and seminars on the legal profession.
Legal Drafting in a Nutshell (West Academic)
Legal Drafting in a Nutshell, 5th Edition, provides guidance on producing transactional documents, contracts, instruments, legislation, and regulations that solve existing problems and prevent future problems. The book provides both a large scale, macro overview of the drafting process as well as small scale, micro focused discussion of the mechanics of legal documents at the sentence, word, and punctuation level. The book incorporates current and developing perspectives regarding subjects like plain English, legal typography, and document preparation in the 21st century. This is especially the case in sections of the text dealing with contracts and instruments, although it is true throughout the text. Legal drafting is as much a thought process as a writing process; clear thinking leads to clear drafting. This book is a guide for clear, structured thinking about drafting in order to provide readers with a structured process to follow when assembling useful legal documents.
Legal Ethics, Professional Responsibility, and the Legal Profession (West Academic)
As the legal profession undergoes structural changes, longstanding principles of ethics still govern the day-to-day lives of practicing lawyers. This new Hornbook on professional responsibility provides both a snapshot of ongoing systemic changes and a thorough examination of the fundamentals of lawyer and judicial ethics. As a multi-dimensional work by scholarly experts in several fields, the Hornbook (1) begins with the changing environment in which legal services are provided in the modern economy; (2) continues with a theoretical grounding of legal ethics in moral philosophy; (3) offers empirical evidence and discussion about professional formation and moral development; (4) provides a comprehensive analysis of the law of lawyer ethics; (5) includes a rich discussion of the modern law of legal malpractice, and (6) concludes with exploration of the rules of judicial ethics.
Legal Ethics in a Nutshell (West Academic)
Many law professors aim to probe deep ethical issues in class. But they also need to cover the material that the Multistate Professional Responsibility Examination requires. The Rotunda Nutshell fulfils that need as it digests the Model Rules in an engaging, analytical, and often critical way. In a surprisingly pithy manner, this book places the Rules in an historic context that lets the student understand problems with prior versions of the Rules, which led to the present version. The Nutshell also analyzes the American Law Institute's Restatement of the Law Governing Lawyers, Third. This approach frees up precious class time for important normative issues. And, this Nutshell helps your students come up with better answers to your Socratic questions than you anticipated. This book has proved so popular as an explanation of the basic principles of legal ethics that it has been translated into Japanese and used there to teach American legal ethics.
Legal Writing Style (West Academic)
Legal Writing Style promotes the art of good writing by teaching students and practitioners the tools to make their prose clear, precise, simple, and forceful. With examples of what works and what doesn’t, this short but comprehensive treatise provides an invaluable resource for recasting writing for maximum impact and ultimate success.
Mastering Professional Responsibilty (Lexis Digitial Library)
This second edition of Mastering Professional Responsibility presents a concise explanation of the rules and concepts of lawyer professional responsibility. In creating the book, the author's goal is to provide students in the typical law school professional responsibility course with a source that explains the relevant rules and concepts in a way understandable to novices to the legal profession. In furtherance of that goal, the book provides a straightforward treatment of the subject, with special attention to the Model Rules of Professional Conduct and all recent amendments to those rules through the date of publication. For each topic, the book briefly addresses any relevant rationales, but primarily focuses on explaining the parameters of the applicable standards in a clear, understandable, step-by-step manner. A typical treatment of a topic includes not only a clear explanation of each standard, often broken into manageable concepts, but also a simple example illustrating the application of that standard. These easy-to-understand examples are designed to facilitate learning in students who, in contrast to practicing lawyers, have not yet had the opportunity to develop an understanding of the context of law practice. This book is an excellent accompaniment to the typical professional responsibility course. The book is also a good preparatory tool for the Multistate Professional Responsibility Exam, which is a requirement for admission for most states.
Mediation: Law, Policy & Practice (Westlaw)
This book analyzes the mediation-related law and social science research as these bear on a number of roles that lawyers play: advisors to clients weighing whether and how to use a mediator; advocates for clients involved with mediation; mediators, and advisors to courts and agencies dealing with the difficult trade-offs involved in planning and implementing mediation programs. Mediation has a broader reach, but this book focuses on the kinds of cases that lawyers tend to encounter.
The Organized Lawyer (Lexis Digital Library)
Organizational skills and professionalism go hand-in-hand, and the topic belongs in any course related to lawyering skills. Now in its second edition, this book addresses the organizational needs and challenges of modern lawyers and law students, and it includes fresh and useful tips for even the most seasoned practitioners. We each have an organizational type that dictates how we live among our things. With topics ranging from attorney attire and effective marketing to developing attractive and efficient workspaces in the office, at home, and on the go, The Organized Lawyer is an essential reference for lawyers at all levels.
Professional Responsibility and Regulation, 2d (West Academic)
This comprehensive examination of professional responsibility law contains in-depth, substantive discussion supported by expert analysis and commentary, case citations, statutes, and court rules. Subjects include conflicts of interest, qualifications for the bar, regulating the market for legal services, competency standards, and disciplinary measures.
Psychiatry in the Practice of Everyday Law (Westlaw)
Psychiatry in the Everyday Practice of Law, by Dr. Martin Blinder, provides a leading expert's guidance on every aspect of psychiatry as it applies to the law.
Questions & Answers: Professional Responsibility (Lexis Digital Library)
The book offers a comprehensive review of the Model Rules of Professional Conduct, the Model Code of Judicial Conduct, and related doctrines of professional responsibility such as malpractice and disqualification law. It includes 208 questions, both multiple choice and short answer, along with complete explanations of the right and wrong answers. The book is a hands-on tool for testing your knowledge.
A Short & Happy Guide to Being a Lawyer (West Academic)
A Short and Happy Guide to Being a Lawyer is a concise and entertaining tour of some basic lawyering skills for law students and new lawyers. The authors – two experienced law professors – use humor and apt quotes to introduce (or refresh) readers in many of the basic competencies that lawyers need to acquire. This short guide offers insights into interviewing, counselling, legal writing, trial preparation, trial skills and other stuff with some “Advice for All Seasons” – all designed to help young lawyers approach the many challenges and rewards of being a lawyer.
A Short & Happy Guide to Legal Writing (West Academic)
This book takes you through the history, meaning, and purpose of legal writing in the American law. You will learn the essential form and substance necessary to craft an inter-office legal memo, helpful ideas for persuasive brief-writing, and tips for excelling in legal writing.
Swimming Lessons for Baby Sharks: The Essential Guide to Thriving as a New Lawyer (West Academic)
The go-to book for new lawyer success at leading firms and schools, Swimming Lessons for Baby Sharks contains critical advice new graduates need to thrive. Completely revised and updated, the Third Edition includes vital new information on navigating a hybrid work environment. The new edition also includes expanded guidance on networking, client service, business development, time and project management, and many other topics. The goal is simple: to help new lawyers start strong, because experience is the most expensive way to learn. With an easily readable style, Swimming Lessons for Baby Sharks helps new lawyers finesse unwritten rules and stay afloat in a challenging profession. The book contains hundreds of tips with inside information from successful lawyers nationwide. Humorous, real-life examples illustrate the lessons along with checklists to provide comprehensive advice quickly. The book has been called a “game changer” and partners at firms nationwide recommend it for associates.
Trial Communication Skills (Westlaw)
Trial Communication Skills provides a comprehensive discussion and analysis of verbal and nonverbal communication techniques and their impact on the outcome of a case. It contains valuable insight and expert opinion from experienced judges, trial attorneys and psychologists about the keys to effective communication skills for every stage of a trial, from pretrial to closing. Topics such as body language and posture, face language and eye contact, voice and psychological projections, touch, gestures, space, persuasion, oratory, pace of delivery, choice of words, methods of enhancing your message, use of metaphors, communication on videotape, and practical tools and techniques are all discussed. Also included is a case study of the O. J. Simpson trial.
Writing a Legal Memo (West Academic)
This legal writing book is designed to help students learn and remember the basic elements of writing a legal memo. It focuses on the type of assignment that many young lawyers are given, which is to write a memo answering a specific legal question. It discusses each step in completing such an assignment, providing specific instructions and explanations. Students can also use this book as a reference when they begin practicing law.
Ohio Books & Treatises
Baldwin's Ohio Trial Practice (Westlaw)
Ohio Trial Practice provides fast access to basic principles of Ohio trial law and their proper application, as well as a step-by-step guide for preparing and pleading cases. The text clearly and concisely discusses both procedural and substantive aspects of trial law. Analysis of recent trial caselaw, rules, and statutes keeps you updated.
Ohio Legal Ethics Law Under the Rules of Professional Conduct (Lexis)
Jones Day offers its Treatise, Ohio Legal Ethics Law Under the Rules of Professional Conduct, for the use of Ohio attorneys, judges, legal educators and law students. The Treatise analyzes the Rules against the backdrop of Ohio legal ethics law, as reflected in disciplinary, malpractice, and disqualification decisions and in formal and advisory ethics opinions. The Treatise is updated annually.
