Skip to Main Content
General Books & Treatises
Advising the Elderly Client (West)
Advising the Elderly Client offers a comprehensive survey of the major legal issues facing elderly clients. It provides in-depth analysis and guidance in the field of elder law and the special planning needs of older clients: financial planning; estate planning; major entitlement programs such as Social Security income, pension and retirement benefits, Medicare, and Medicaid; health care considerations; planning for incapacity, including living wills, durable powers of attorney, and right-to-die issues; and discrimination against the elderly.
Durable Powers of Attorney & Health Care Directives Scope Information (West)
Durable powers of attorney and health care directives affect not just an individual's property, but also decisions about his or her health care, estate planning, business transactions and personal matters. With Durable Powers of Attorney and Health Care Directives 4th, the practitioner can confidently draft documents that are personalized, accurate and complete.
Elderlaw: Advocacy for the Aging (Westlaw)
Elderlaw: Advocacy for the Aging, 2nd, focuses on related areas of elder law in the areas of social security, public benefit programs, long-term care, handling incapacity, medical decision-making, age discrimination, family rights and responsibilities and health care for senior citizens.
Estate Planning Collection (RIA) (Westlaw)
This content contains the Research Institute of America's Estate Planning Collection Complete. This collection contains planning tips and recommendations from expert estate planning editors. Practice aids, such as sample client letters and interview questionnaires, sample wills and clauses, and checklists. Summaries of every states inheritance, estate & gift tax laws, with current tax rates. The RIA Estate Planning tools that can be accessed in this database include; Estate Planning, Estate Planning Analysis, State Summaries, Estate Checklists, Client Letters, IRS Sample Correspondence, Wills & Trusts Forms and Clauses, Estate Filled In Forms.
Family Estate Planning Guide (Westlaw)
Give your clients a vital edge in all their estate planning goals, no matter how complex their assets, needs or family relationships. Family Estate Planning Guide, 4th provides expert answers to all your clients' estate planning questions, with treatment of such issues as marital deduction planning, charitable lead and remainder trusts, insurance planning, estate and gift tax, generation-skipping transfer tax, annual exclusion planning, and will provisions.
Federal Income, Gift and Estate Taxation (Lexis)
Description: AUTHORS: Jacob Rabkin; Mark Johnson. CONTRIBUTING AUTHOR: Mary Howley Federal Income, Gift and Estate Taxation covers a wide variety of federal tax issues relating to: individuals; corporations; partnerships; estate and gift transactions; pensions; debtors and creditors; foreign transactions; and charities.
Fundamentals of Special Needs Trusts (Lexis)
As a result of changes in the law, Special Needs Trusts (SNTs) began to be used as a planning tool to preserve an individual's eligibility for public benefits while providing a fund to supplement the services and benefits provided to the individual under means tested programs. A SNT allows the beneficiary to have an improved quality of life by providing funds for additional care and services to the beneficiary. This source is an introduction to Special Needs Trusts and provides the reader with an understanding of the laws, issues and practices involving SNT.
Gilbert Law Summaries on Trusts (West Academic)
Topics covered include elements of a trust, trust creation, transfer of beneficiary's interest (including spendthrift trusts), charitable trusts (including the cy pres doctrine), and a trustee's responsibilities, power, duties, and liabilities. It also covers duties and liabilities of beneficiaries, accounting for income and principal, power of settlor to modify or revoke, powers of trustee beneficiaries or courts to modify or terminate, termination of trusts by operation of law, resulting trusts, purchase money resulting trusts, and constructive trusts.
Gilbert Law Summaries on Wills (West Academic)
The topics covered in this outline are intestate succession, simultaneous death, advancements, disclaimer, killer of decedent, elective share statutes, pretermitted child statutes, homestead, and formal requisites of a will. Also discussed are revocation of wills, incorporation by reference, pour-over gift in an inter vivos trust, joint wills, contracts relating to wills, lapsed gifts, ademption, exoneration of liens, will contests, and probate and estate administration.
Handling Federal Estate and Gift Taxes (West)
Handling Federal Estate and Gift Taxes, Revised 6th simplifies the complexities of the federal estate and gift tax, providing crystal clear analysis of the law, practice and procedures.
Irrevocable Trusts (Westlaw)
Helps determine who the irrevocable trust is for, then helps weigh the pros and cons concerning your client's situation.
Living Trusts: Forms & Practice (Lexis)
AUTHOR: Dwight F. Bickel. n one volume, Living Trusts: Forms and Practice is a practice-oriented publication, featuring incisive analysis of the law by an estate planning expert and a comprehensive collection of practice-tested legal forms that you can use to establish and fund living trusts.
Mastering Elder Law (Lexis Digital Library)
Mastering Elder Law explores concerns that commonly arise when representing the elderly client. The book focuses on public benefits, retirement systems, age discrimination, wealth transfers, medical decision making (including "the right to die"), guardianships and conservatorships, durable powers of attorney, long-term care, housing, abuse, and ethical problems. The book also explores overarching themes such as the tension that results when the state simultaneously attempts to protect its vulnerable citizens and promote their autonomy. The text includes examples throughout and provides a straightforward description of complex topics such as Social Security, Medicare, and Medicaid.
Modern Estate Planning (Lexis)
Coverage includes: * Estate and gift taxation/general principles * Transfers and interests subject to estate and gift taxation * Estate and gift tax deductions, exclusions and credits * Generation-skipping transfer taxation * Special valuation provisions * Basic principles of income taxation of trusts and estates * Income taxation of non-grantor trusts and estates * Income taxation planning issues * Grantor trusts * Future estate planning issues * Client focused planning * Valuation techniques and drafting considerations * Forms and clauses, tax returns, state taxation * Practice and procedure.
Murphy's Will Clauses: Annotations and Forms with Tax Effects (Lexis)
AUTHORS: Joseph H. Murphy; Other Contributors Over 1,400 thoughtfully framed will and trust clauses with related documents. Murphy's Will Clauses: Annotations and Forms with Tax Effects offers: * Detailed guidelines with suggestions * Annotations with laws of all states * Invaluable estate planning advice * Large selection of complete wills and trusts * Sample computations * Summary of estate, gift, generation-skipping transfer and fiduciary income taxes * Living wills and health care proxies * Fiduciaries' and guardianship compensation.
Page on Wills (Lexis)
AUTHOR: Jeffrey A. Schoenblum This seven-volume, comprehensive set, Page on Wills, by Jeffrey A. Schoenblum features an examination of topics such as the History of the Law of Wills and Testaments, the Elements of the Will. Alteration and Spoliation. Probate and Contest, construction and much, much more.
Planning an Estate: A Guidebook of Principles & Techniques (Westlaw)
Planning an Estate: A Guidebook of Principles and Techniques provides tools and techniques for solving frequently encountered problems regarding estate planning. With this guidebook, get clear information regarding:
The advantages, disadvantages, and tax ramifications of estate planning alternatives
Marital deductions
QTIPS
Second tax deductions
Minor children
Lifetime transfers
Probate avoidance
The handling of business interests
Principles of Wills, Trusts and Estates (West Academic)
This book introduces students to the federal gift, estate, and generation-skipping transfer tax laws; grantor trust rules affecting the wealth disposition process; and the income tax rules applicable to estates and trusts. It covers recent cases and secondary literature and, reflecting the current trend toward globalization, it also includes a discussion of comparative law. It emphasizes the lawyer's role as drafter or estate planner and suggests ways to avoid problems that otherwise lead to litigation. It closely tracks the authors? more detailed hornbook, using the same section numbers for easy retrieval of information in the longer version.
Revocable Trusts (Westlaw)
Get everything you need to analyze, draft, present, and execute a contemporary living trust in any of its many forms and constructions. Drafts drawn up with practice-tested forms on disk, and the sample client letters, wills, and graphically-illustrated procedural charts will ease your task and lend confidence in the resultant document. All the "pros" and "cons" are at your fingertips in these volumes, including a comprehensive survey of estate planning trusts, income tax implications of estate planning trusts, asset calculations for trust transfers, and all necessary forms.
Tax, Estate & Financial Planning for the Elderly (Lexis)
AUTHORS: John J. Regan; Rebecca C. Morgan; David M. English The first and still the very best text on elder law, Tax, Estate and Financial Planning for the Elderly covers every aspect of elder law practice. Topics covered include: * Health (Medicare, Medicaid, advance health care directives, long-term care, nursing homes) * Financial (income, estate and gift taxes, pensions, financial planning, estate planning, property management) * Government Benefits (Social Security, SSI, veterans' benefits) * Personal (housing, elder abuse, guardianship) * Practical Advice for the Attorney (client relationships, ethical considerations.)
Trusts and Estates (West Academic)
he Fourth Edition of Concepts and Insights on Trusts and Estates makes complex doctrinal rules easier to understand by exploring the history and rationale behind those rules. The analysis is thorough, and focuses both on common law doctrines and statutory reforms—with an emphasis on the Uniform Probate Code and the Uniform Trust Code. Each substantive chapter closes with a set of exam-like problems designed to test understanding of the material included in the chapter. The authors also include thorough solutions to each of these problems. This is the only book in the field that combines thorough doctrinal analysis with more than 60 review problems, each with complete solutions.
Understanding Estate and Gift Taxation (Lexis Digital Library)
The book consists of 26 chapters, each addressing one of the basic topics typically covered in a course on the transfer tax system, for example, the computation of estate, gift, and generation-skipping transfer taxes; the gift tax annual exclusion; the estate and gift tax marital deductions; the estate and gift tax implications of transfers with retained powers or interests; etc. Because the Internal Revenue Code and Treasury Regulations are the primary source materials for the transfer tax system, the book includes numerous excerpts of those provisions. Each chapter also includes summaries of the leading cases and IRS rulings, plus examples of how this area of the law applies to common fact patterns.
Uniform Probate Code and Uniform Trust Code in a Nutshell (West Academic)
Authoritative coverage provides detailed explanation of the provisions, definitions, and concepts of the UPC and the UTC. UPC topics covered include, e.g., probate jurisdiction of the courts; intestate succession; wills and donative transfers; probate of wills; and administration of estates. UTC topics include, e.g., creation, validity, modification, and termination of trusts; discretionary and revocable trusts; creditor's claims and spendthrift trusts; duties, powers and liability of trustees; and rights of persons dealing with trustees.
Will Contests (Westlaw)
Will Contests, by Prof. Thomas Reed and Hon. Eunice Ross, focuses on the practical elements of contesting wills, providing substantive law and theory as well as discussing practical techniques in bringing or defending against a will contest. Historical context for the modern American law of wills and probate is also provided.
Wills (Westlaw)
Wills is an invaluable resource offering more than 30 carefully written wills, including:
Simple wills without trust provisions
Wills containing trust provisions that are not tax-planning documents
Tax-planning wills based exclusively on QTIP planning
Tax-planning wills with pre-residuary marital dispositions and residuary applicable exclusion dispositions
Tax-planning wills with pre-residuary applicable exclusion dispositions and residuary marital dispositions
Tax-planning disclaimer wills
Spousal companion wills
Wills with a primary objective of charitable giving
Wills, Trusts and Estates Including Taxation and Future Interests (West Academic)
A comprehensive one-volume treatise on the law of trusts and estates written by leading experts. Among the topics covered are intestate succession, wills, nonprobate mechanisms, trusts, fiduciary administration, and choice of law. The book includes the very latest hot topics including electronic wills, trust decanting, directed trusts, asset protection trusts, and planning for modern families. The book incorporates the most recent provisions of the Uniform Probate Code, the Uniform Trust Code, and the many other uniform laws relating to the donative transfer of wealth. The book also includes an overview of the federal transfer tax laws. An essential guide for students and practitioners.
Wills and Trusts in a Nutshell (West Academic)
The sixth edition of this book updates laws affecting intestate succession, wills, guardianships, and trusts. It introduces wills and trust terminology to the lay audience and summarizes the law included in the Uniform Probate Code, Uniform Trust Code, Uniform Principal and Income Act, Uniform Guardianship and Protective Proceedings Act, Uniform Prudent Investor Act, and the Restatement of Trusts. To illustrate legal issues this book utilizes problems arising from celebrity peccadilloes and well-known deaths, such as those of Abraham Lincoln, Elvis Presley, Michael Jackson, Prince, and the mother/daughter team of Debbie Reynolds and Carrie Fisher. The book can be adopted to supplement a traditional wills and trusts class or as the sole text for a seminar.
Ohio Books & Treatises
Anderson's Ohio Elder Law Practice Manual (Lexis)
Authors: Ruth R. Longenecker with Richard T. Taps. Supplement by Ralph Conrad Anderson's Ohio Elder Law Practice Manual is an up-to-date and comprehensive manual that covers a broad range of financial and health care planning issues affecting Ohio seniors. This edition covers powers of attorney, living trusts, joint trusts, Medicaid, long-term care and Medigap insurance, durable powers of attorney for health care, and living wills. Financial and Health Care Planning for the Elderly in Ohio gives thorough explanations of applicable Ohio and federal law, as well as other selected states, such as Kentucky, Indiana and Florida.
Ohio Elder Law--Baldwin's Ohio Handbook (Westlaw)
Ohio Elder Law provides practical information and guidance on how to comply with Ohio's statutes and regulations in the area of elder law and related practice areas, including probate law, health care law, estate planning, financial concerns, and tax law. Forms, checklists, and sample documents are provide
Ohio Probate (Lexis)
AUTHORS: Rosemary Durkin; Trisha Zeller Ohio Probate provides practical guidance regarding the various procedures involved in the Ohio probate process. The text includes analysis, tools such as forms and checklists to be used at various stages of the process, as well as citations to authorities.
