Environmental Law & Policy

This state-of-the-art Dictionary defines terms employed in international agreements, national legislation and scholarly legal studies related to comparative and international environmental law and the emerging law of climate change. In acknowledgement of China's growing role in this arena, each term also includes its pinyin translation in order to facilitate access to the Mandarin variants.The international community is developing increasingly complex environmental provisions and participating in a number of international treaties and agreements related to environmental law and regulation. The complicated and highly specific nature of environmental law has led to the development of localized terminology that is not easily understood outside its country of origin. Jointly prepared by scholars in China and the US, the Dictionary provides a linguistic bridge between English and Chinese speakers as well as an essential reference for those interpreting and applying international environmental law, multilateral environmental agreements, and domestic laws that implement these treaties. Students, scholars and practitioners in the area of environmental law will find this groundbreaking Dictionary an invaluable addition to their libraries.

Thoroughly revised and updated to include the latest research in the field, A Dictionary of Environment and Conservation provides over 9,000 A to Z entries on scientific and social aspects of the environment - its key thinkers, treaties, movements, organizations, concepts, and theories.Covering subjects such as sustainable development, biodiversity, and environmental ethics, it is at the cutting edge of environmental and conservation studies.This is the ideal reference for students studying these subjects and anyone with an interest in environment and conservation.

Navigate your way through 40 CFR with this time-saving resource The fourth edition of this popular reference provides definitions for more than 5,000 terms of the Environmental Protection Agency's Code of Federal Regulations Title 40 (40 CFR) to help readers better understand and follow these complex compliance regulations. Presented in alphabetical order for easy access, each term is defined using the exact wording found in 40 CFR, and every definition for a given term is included to ensure thoroughness.

The Encyclopedia of Sustainability Science and Technology (ESST) addresses the grand challenge for science and engineering today. It provides unprecedented, peer-reviewed coverage in more than 550 separate entries comprising 38 topical sections. ESST establishes a foundation for the many sustainability and policy evaluations being performed in institutions worldwide. An indispensable resource for scientists and engineers in developing new technologies and for applying existing technologies to sustainability, the Encyclopedia of Sustainability Science and Technology is presented at the university and professional level needed for scientists, engineers, and their students to support real progress in sustainability science and technology. Although the emphasis is on science and technology rather than policy, the Encyclopedia of Sustainability Science and Technology is also a comprehensive and authoritative resource for policy makers who want to understand the scope of research and development and how these bottom-up innovations map on to the sustainability challenge.

Explores major topics related to global warming and climate change-ranging geographically from the North Pole to the South Pole, and thematically from social effects to scientific causes. Covers the science and history of climate change, the controversies over climate-change theories, the role of societies, the industrial and economic factors, and the sociological aspects of climate change.

The subject of climate change has become an important issue over the past few years. Encyclopedia of Global Warming is designed to help the student or patron understand the environmental science, social issues and controversies surrounding this important issue. Essays explore a wide variety of topics, including fossil fuels, glaciology, conservation, human rights, pollution, society, science and water resources.

The topic of our natural resources has become an important issue over the last few years. The abundance of some (and scarcity of others) has sparked many a debate. The four volumes in this set discuss not only the aspects of the resources themselves, but their economic and social impact as well. Plus, complimentary online access is provided through Salem Science.

Simplify the enormous array of U.S. environmental regulations. This popular handbook simplifies the complex world of environmental law and regulations so you can quickly see which ones impact your job, project or course of study. This quick guide provides

West's Encyclopedia of American Law fully illuminates today's leading cases, major statutes, legal terms and concepts, notable persons involved with the law, important documents and more. Legal issues are fully discussed in easy-to-understand language, including such high-profile topics as the Americans with Disabilities Act, capital punishment, domestic violence, gay and lesbian rights, physician-assisted suicide and thousands more.

A landmark in legal publishing,The Oxford Companion to the Supreme Courtis a now classic text many of whose entries are regularly cited by scholars as the definitive statement on any particular subject. In the tradition of that work, editor in chief Kermit L. Hall offers up The Oxford Companion to American Law, a one-volume, A-Z encyclopedia that covers topics ranging from aging and the law, wiretapping and electronic eavesdropping, the Salem Witch Trials and Plessy vs. Ferguson. The Companion takes as its starting point the insight that law is embedded in society, and that to understand American law one must necessarily ask questions about the relationship between it and the social order, now and in the past. The volume assumes that American law, in all its richness and complexity, cannot be understood in isolation, as simply the business of the Supreme Court, or as a list of common law doctrines. Hence, the volume takes seriously issues involving laws role in structuring decisions about governance, the significance of state and local law and legal institutions, and the place of American law in a comparative international perspective. Nearly 500 entries are included, written by over 300 expert contributors. Intended for the working lawyer or judge, the high school student working on a term paper, or the general adult reader interested in the topic, the Companion is the authoritative reference work on the subject of American law.

American Jurisprudence provides an unparalleled breadth of coverage of all fields of American law - state and federal, civil and criminal, substantive and procedural. The articles collect, examine, and summarize the broad principles of American law and, at the same time, provide direct leads to supporting cases and related annotations.

This set is alphabetically arranged in more than 400 topics or chapters. It provides prompt answers to client questions, helps propose sound courses of action, and provides a quick look at unfamiliar areas of the law. A new Topic Service Binder reviews new areas of law until they can be placed accurately within the set.

In nearly 275 entries, this 3-vol. set examines landmark pieces of legislation, explaining the historical factors that led to the proposal of each act, looking at the adoption process and assessing each act's impact on American life. A great addition to collections in needof resources on government, civics, citizenship, history and the law.