Research Guides: Environmental Law & Policy: Statutes & Legislative Histories

Federal & State Codes

Research Tips:

Use an index to search by subject
Use the popular name table to search by name
Use the conversion table to search by public law number
Retrieve by citation
Search online using Terms & Connectors or Natural Language

United States Code (U.S.C.)
The United States Code is the codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States.
United States Code Annotated (USCA)
Published by Thomson Reuters, the USCA provides an annotated version of the United States Code published by the Office of the Law Revision Counsel of the House of Representatives. Annotations provide access to historical notes, cross-references to other statutes/regulations, and references to relevant secondary sources. The USCA also includes general and title specific indexes.
United States Code Service (USCS)
Published by LexisNexis, the USCS provides an annotated version of the United States Code based on the Statutes at Large . Annotations provide access to historical notes, cross-references to other statutes/regulations, and references to relevant secondary sources. The USCS also includes general and title specific indexes.
Page’s Ohio Revised Code Annotated (Lexis Advanced)
Page's Ohio Revised Code Annotated includes all laws of a general and permanent nature, as enacted by the Ohio Legislature.
Baldwin's Ohio Revised Code Annotated (Westalw)
Baldwin's Ohio Revised Code Annotated includes all laws of a general and permanent nature, as enacted by the Ohio Legislature.
Ohio Revised Code
LAWriter includes all laws of a general and permanent nature, as enacted by the Ohio Legislature.
50 State Surveys: Statutes and Regs (Lexis Advance)
LexisNexis 50 State Surveys, Statutes & Regulations provide instant comparison of states' treatment of topical issues, linked to governing provisions on Lexis and prefaced by an examination of federal context and state themes.
50 State Statutory Survey (Westlaw)
Westlaw's 50 State Surveys, Statutes & Regulations provide instant comparison of states' treatment of topical issues, linked to governing provisions on West and prefaced by an examination of federal context and state themes.

Compiled Legislative Histories

Federal legislative history refers to the documents produced by Congress as a bill is introduced, studied and debated. Thus, a legislative history is an attempt to determine the intent of the legislature. The intent of the legislature is one of the arguments you can use when arguing how a ambiguous statute should be interpreted.

Below is a list of compiled legislative histories. If you don't see the one your looking for, check out our guide on Federal Legislative Histories which will provide all the tools necessary to find the information you need. If you are trying to compile an Ohio legislative history, check out our guide on Ohio Legal Research.