Skip to Main Content
UC Logo
Libraries | Ask the Libraries

Library Resources for Canvas

This guide is available to assist instructors with utilizing library resources in Canvas.

UC Library Proxy Changes

Important Note:

UC Libraries upgraded their proxy authentication server in May 2021, which required all links to library resources from third-party vendors be updated, including previous permalinks and DOIs. To determine if you need to update your links please refer to the examples below.

If you have an old link, please use the Proxy Converter tool, linked below, to update to the new format.

Old links will work until December 31, 2021.

Examples:

Old links look like some variation of these links (bold to show differences):  

http://uclid.uc.edu.proxy.libraries.uc.edu/record=b7845410~S39 

OR 

http://proxy.libraries.uc.edu/login?url=http://www.credoreference.com/book/chamblc 

New links will look like some variation of these links: 

https://uclid.uc.edu.uc.idm.oclc.org/record=b7845410~S39 

OR 

https://uc.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://www.credoreference.com/book/chamblc 

Utilizing Permalinks in Canvas Course for Library Resources

Instead of uploading articles, chapters of books and other course documents, where possible use a permalink to the library resource itself. This allows the students to have direct access to the resource from the vendor - giving students the ability to interact with the resources in a number of ways, including accessibility options. You can also use the permalink to link to specific records in the Library Catalog. 

To make sure your students will have access to library resources, you may need to use a proxied permalink or DOI. Please see the box below for more information on creating proxied permalinks.

*Note: If you are linking to an individual database, please use the Library Guides tool. Information on this can be found on the Databases in Canvas page in the left-hand navigation.*

How to Find a Permalink

1. Do not use the URL from the address bar! In library databases this is likely a temporarily-generated link and the stability is not guaranteed! 

2. Remember that every database is a little different. Look for phrases like Permanent Link, Stable Link, or Permalink in menu bars. It may also be located under sharing options. It might also just be indicated by an icon to click or hidden under a Share menu. 

3. The DOI is also acceptable and can have the proxy added to it

4. If possible, use the permalink for the database the article is actually in, not one where just the citation or article linker is the only available information. (For example, permalinks for Summon are only linking to information about the article, not the actual article.)

The following video shows how to find a permalink in the Ebsco databases. This video has no sound.

The following video shows how to find permalinks (or Document URLs as ProQuest calls them) in ProQuest databases. There are multiple ways to do this and this video demonstrates one of them.

This video has no sound.

Adding the Proxy Login

All links to library resources from third-party vendors, including permalinks and DOIs, require a proxied URL for access and authentication. For the most part, if you find permalinks and DOIs from the resource as explained above, the URL will already be proxied. 

A proxied link will usually look like these examples (bold for emphasis):

https://uclid.uc.edu.uc.idm.oclc.org/record=b7845410~S39 

OR 

https://uc.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://www.credoreference.com/book/chamblc 

However, if you do not see the "uc.idm.oclc.org," you may need to add this proxy authentication to your link. Please use the Proxy Generator, linked below.

University of Cincinnati Libraries

PO Box 210033 Cincinnati, Ohio 45221-0033

Phone: 513-556-1424

Contact Us | Staff Directory

University of Cincinnati

Alerts | Clery and HEOA Notice | Notice of Non-Discrimination | eAccessibility Concern | Privacy Statement | Copyright Information

© 2019 University of Cincinnati

UCBA Library | UCBA College | UC Libraries