Research Guides: Resident and Fellow Access to UC eResources: Health Sciences Library Resources

Point of Care Resources

Use Point of Care resources to quickly make evidence-based decisions in a clinical setting. They are examples of filtered information sources and include summaries, with links to relevant articles and guidelines, and are often graded for quality. Total list of HSL databases.

Prep for rotations - try New England Journal of Medicine Resident 360! Free with UC's subscription to NEJM. To register choose via email and use your UC email address.

ClinicalKey
This collection includes medical books, textbooks current journals, practice guidelines, patient handouts, and drug information from Clinical Pharmacology. CME credits via the Cleveland Clinic. This resource is specifically designed to support physicians in evidence-based clinical care and clinical education, and also supports researchers and instructors with an included presentation builder for use with images and videos.
To access ClinicalKey from off campus you must set up a personal account. To do this from off campus:
1. Login to the vpn (https://www.uc.edu/about/ucit/get-connected/vpn.html)
2. Once logged in, navigate to ClinicalKey (http://www.clinicalkey.com/)
3. At the top right, click on register, and create an account w/ your UC email
4. Login to the account.
5. Once logged in click on your username at the top right, and then select Remote Access
6. Enter your UC email and select ok. A confirmation email will be sent to your UC email.
7. Navigate to this email and activate remote access.
In future sessions, login to your account to access the ClinicalKey resources remotely.
If you are on campus, you can navigate to ClinicalKey without logging into the VPN.

ClinicalKey Remote Access

Create a personal account using your UC email address to access all full text content.

To set this up from off campus:
Set up https://mydesk.uc.edu/
Then go to ClinicalKey http://www.clinicalkey.com/ to set up a personal account
ClinicalKey personal account Instructions: https://bit.ly/3goYbZF
While creating the personal account, click on “Remember me”.

Once the personal account is set up and the user is logged in, any link to ClinicalKey should open without the need to log in again. Please note: periodically ClinicalKey requires you to log into your personal account again to maintain access.

Cochrane Library (Wiley Online Library)
Wiley Cochrane Library is a collection of databases containing high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. The Cochrane Library includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), and Cochrane Clinical Answers. It can be searched for a particular topic or disease and will return results on clinical trials, reviews, methods, studies, and clinical answers, and is suited for use as supplemental course materials at the undergraduate and graduate levels, for technology assessments and economic evaluations.

DiSaia's Clinical Gynecologic Oncology

DynaMed Plus
Go to DynaMed Plus™ for answers to clinical questions. Content is written by a world-class team of physicians who synthesize the evidence and provide objective analysis.

DynaMed Plus Mobile

UpToDate Lexidrug
UpToDate Lexidrug (formerly Lexicomp Online) is a collection of clinical databases and clinical decision support tools that provides users with an extensive medical library. It provides clear, concise, point-of-care drug information, including dosing, administration, warnings and precautions, as well as clinical content, such as clinical practice guidelines, IV compatibility from Trissel's 2 Clinical Pharmaceutics Database, and other tools.
Natural Medicines
Natural Medicines provides high quality¸ evidence-based information on dietary supplements (including herbs¸ vitamins¸ and minerals)¸ functional foods¸ diets¸ complementary practices (modalities)¸ exercises¸ and medical conditions
Nursing Reference Center Plus
A point-of-care clinical resource that includes Quick Lessons and Evidence-based Care Sheets; drug information; practice guidelines; customizable patient education handouts¸ care plans¸ and more.

PubMed Clinical Queries
more...less...
PubMed Clinical Queries provides a special evidence based filter to help retrieve evidence based research and systematic reviews in PubMed.

Trip
TRIP was created in 1997 to bring together all the evidence-based healthcare resources available on the Internet.

Core Databases

Use core resources to find journal articles and links to full text. Total list of HSL databases.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text
CINAHL Plus with Full Text provides indexing for 3¸024 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health¸ with indexing back to 1937. CINAHL Plus with Full Text also contains searchable cited references for more than 1¸160 journals and provides full text for hundreds of journals¸ plus legal cases¸ clinical innovations¸ critical paths¸ drug records¸ research instruments and clinical trials. PDF backfiles to 1937 are also included.
Coverage: 1937 - present
Cochrane Library (Wiley Online Library)
Wiley Cochrane Library is a collection of databases containing high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. The Cochrane Library includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), and Cochrane Clinical Answers. It can be searched for a particular topic or disease and will return results on clinical trials, reviews, methods, studies, and clinical answers, and is suited for use as supplemental course materials at the undergraduate and graduate levels, for technology assessments and economic evaluations.
EMBASE
EMBASE (Excerpta Medica dataBASE) is a biomedical and pharmacological international database (1947 to present).
Coverage: 1966 - present
PsychiatryOnline
PsychiatryOnline is a powerful web-based portal that features DSM-V-TR®—the most widely used psychiatric reference in the world—and The American Journal of Psychiatry as the cornerstones of an unsurpassed collection of psychiatric references from American Psychiatric Publishing, Inc.Also includes journals, textbooks, study guides, and clinical and research news from Psychiatric News, and more.
PsycINFO
PsycINFO, produced by the American Psychological Association, is a collection of electronically stored bibliographic references--most with abstracts or content summaries. It contains citations that PsycINFO has created in electronic form. Although the references themselves are all written in English, the covered literature includes material published in over 45 countries and written in 30 languages.Coverage: 1872-present
PubMed
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine. includes over 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
Scopus (Elsevier)
Indexing¸ abstracts¸ and citation searching for science and social science scholarly literature. Scopus covers 14¸000 titles across 4¸000 publishers¸ providing access to over 25 million abstracts going back to 1966 and 5 years of cited reference back years¸ building up to 10 years by the end of 2005. Coverage: 1966 - present
Web of Science
Web of Science is a multidisciplinary database with searchable author abstracts¸ covering the journal literature of the sciences. It indexes 5¸300 major journals across 164 scientific disciplines¸ covering approximately 2¸000 more journals than its SCI print and CD-ROM counterparts¸ with all cited references captured. Coverage: 1965 - present

Times Cited Resources:

To see how many times an author or article has been cited use Scopus or Web of Science (see links above). Look up journal impact factors in InCites: Journal Citation Reports (see link below).

Journal Citation Reports
Journal Citation Reports offers a systematic¸ objective means to critically evaluate the world's leading journals¸ with quantifiable¸ statistical information based on citation data. By compiling articles - cited references¸ Journal Citation Reports helps to measure research influence and impact at the journal and category levels¸ and shows the relationship between citing and cited journals.

Finding Full Text

Many databases available through UC provide links to the full text article. To find out if the full text is available from UC, look for the UC Article Linker icon or the browser extension icon

Resource not at UC?

Request articles or books using the online request system ILLiad.

Citation Management Software

The Citation Management Software guide provides an overview of four citation management software options to help you manage references, cite references, and create bibliographies.

RefWorks is an HSL subscriptions so accounts are free for HSL users. Zotero is also free. EndNote Online is free as well but EndNote desktop must be purchased. Use this guide to review and determine if one of these citations managers meets your needs.

RefWorks
RefWorks is a citation and reference management service. With RefWorks users can create their own personal database by importing references from online databases. They can use these references in writing their papers and automatically format the paper and the bibliography in seconds. As a web-based product¸ RefWorks is available to users across various platforms including Windows¸ Mac¸ Unix¸ etc. UC users can set up their free individual accounts. This is the NEW version of RefWorks. Users new to RefWorks should set up accounts with this version of RefWorks. Most new development for RefWorks service will be on this NEW platform.
Zotero
Desktop free, open sourced citation management system that can be used to collect, organize, cite, and share research. Word processor integration for Word, LibreOffice, and Google Docs, and can sync records across devices. Developed and supported by the Corporation for Digital Scholarship.