Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UC Logo
Libraries | Ask the Libraries

EndNote

Information about using EndNote

Using the Find Full Text Utility

EndNote's "Find Full Text" utility will search for and find full text articles in PDF format and attach these PDFs to the corresponding references in your EndNote library, saving you countless hours of time were you to search, find and attach the files manually.  Watch the video below to observe the process and then follow the instructions below the video to optimize your EndNote desktop product for this utility.


Optimize your EndNote Find Full Text utility for UC Libraries users

Recent versions of EndNote can locate full text PDF files or online full text links. You will need to set your preferences in EndNote to use these features. If you are off-campus, you also need to set up authentication.

Setting Up  'Find  Full Text'  Feature 

Go to Edit >  Preferences > Find Full Text > Authenticate

  • In EndNote, go to Preferences
  • Select 'Find Full Text'
  • Enter this for Open URL Path:
  • http://AJ2VR6XY7Z.search.serialssolutions.com 
  • Enter this for Authentication URL:
  • https://uc.idm.oclc.org/login?url=
  • Click 'OK' and close the preferences window.

Using the 'Find Full Text' Feature

  • Select the references that are in need of full text PDFs. You can select up to 250 references at one time. 
  • In the top ribbon, select References > Find Full Text > Authenticate.
  • Login with your UC credentials. (6+2 and password)
  • Click "done."
  • Click 'Find Full Text' in the ribbon or click on the icon that looks likes a 'dog-eared paper with a magnifying glass.'
  • The system will begin to index articles and look for full text PDFs and links.  EndNote will place a 'paper clip' next to articles to indicate full text has been retrieved. 

 

 

 

University of Cincinnati Libraries

PO Box 210033 Cincinnati, Ohio 45221-0033

Phone: 513-556-1424

Contact Us | Staff Directory

University of Cincinnati

Alerts | Clery and HEOA Notice | Notice of Non-Discrimination | eAccessibility Concern | Privacy Statement | Copyright Information

© 2019 University of Cincinnati