Internet Branding for Lawyers by 
The Lawyer's Guide to Marketing on the Internet by
In this up-to-date third edition of The Lawyer's Guide to Marketing on the Internet, you'll learn how to make the latest technology work for your practice and increase your firm's visibility. This comprehensive resource provides proven online marketing strategies and guides you on how to effectively and efficiently market your law practice.
LinkedIn Marketing Techniques for Law and Professional Practices by
The concepts in the book would remain timeless enough to become a reference guide for the reader, even as new situations arise and need to be expressed properly, for best marketing effect.LinkedIn(TM) Marketing Techniques for Law and Professional Practices, based on actual experiences, covers each section of the LinkedIn biography page, and is broken into short segments to maximize accessibility and learning. It offers clear guidance, based on proven methods, to make each section work to greatest effect, while also providing long-term marketing techniques and personal branding concepts. It teaches you the essential skill of developing a distinctive brand within your LinkedIn profile, and adds a special focus, for attorneys and other professionals, on ethics and industry compliance guidelines.Author Marc W. Halpert is a "multi-preneur," having started three companies, all of which he continues to operate. His latest business, connect2collaborate, spreads his LinkedIn and networking evangelism worldwide, to train and coach others to better explain their branding and positioning through their LinkedIn profile pages.
Personal Branding in One Hour for Lawyers by
In Personal Branding in One Hour for Lawyers, personal branding expert and experienced attorney Katy Goshtasbi explains how attorneys can highlight their unique talents and abilities, manage their perceptions, and achieve greater success as a lawyer in the process.
OfficeKeeper by
OfficeKeeper is a comprehensive law office management resource for all OSBA members. It is a nuts and bolts resource guide to opening, maintaining and closing a law office, covering both the day-to-day operations of a law office, as well as professional responsibility. It includes checklists, forms, references and links to websites and the new Model Rules. It also includes chapters on Marketing and Law Office Technology.
Ipad Apps in One Hour for Lawyers by
Finding the best apps often can be an overwhelming, confusing, and frustrating process. iPad Apps in One Hour for Lawyers provides the "best of the best" apps that are essential for any law practice. In just one hour, you will learn about the apps most worthy of your time and attention. This book will describe how to buy, install, and update iPad apps
iPad at Work by
Great ideas and advice on using your iPad as a business tool! More and more iPad users discover every day that the versatile, portable iPad has countless business uses. From small businesses to high-profile corporations, companies are integrating iPads into their systems and workplaces at a phenomenal rate. Written by the acclaimed co-host of the Mac Power Users podcast, iPad at Work explores the best practices and software recommendations for incorporating the iPad into a work environment. It covers setting up the iPad and using it for enterprise level word processing, spreadsheet creation, presentations, task management, project management, graphic design, communication, and much more. Offers recommendations for software, best practices, and ways to maximize productivity with the iPad in the workplace Discusses using the iPad for enterprise level word processing, spreadsheet creation, presentations, task management, project management, graphic design, communication, and more Covers set-up, synchronization, data backup, and communicating with work networks Written by renowned industry expert, David Sparks, co-host of the Mac Power Users podcast This is the guide you need to take full advantage of the iPad in a business setting.
IPad in One Hour for Lawyers by
The bestselling ABA book iPad in One Hour for Lawyers has helped thousands of attorneys learn to use the iPad in their law practices. Fully revised and updated to reflect the newest versions of the iPad and the latest apps available, iPad in One Hour for Lawyers, Third Edition, will help attorneys get more out of their iPad. Ideal for lawyers who want to get up to speed fast, this acclaimed book presents the essentials.
The Cybersleuth's Guide to the Internet: Conducting Effective Free Investigative & Legal Research on the Web by
Introduction to the internet and web browsers -- Reliability and admissibility of information from the internet --Who's behind a domain? - How to search the web: search engines and directories -- Sesarch enginees: Google -- Other favorite search engines and meta-search sites -- Finding older versions of web pages that have been deleted or revised -- Introduction to investigative research -- Using a general search engine or a people meta-search site to find or investigate people -- How to quickly find public records and publicly available information sites -- Searching usenet (Discussion) Groups, forums, message boards and blogs to find and investigate people -- Use your public library card for remote access to expensive pay databases for free -- Court dockets as investigative research tools -- Liabilities: bankruptcies, UCCs, judgments and leins -- Locating assests - Vital records - Telephone/address directory web sites - Criminal records -- Finding experts and verifying their credientials -- Dockets -- Searching social networking sites - Locating images of people, concepts, products or places - Finding military personnel - Verifying occupational licenses of professionals - Locating and backgrounding attorneys, judges and other legal professionals -- Locating information via a Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) request - Political campaign contributions - Using case law databases to gather background information about people, companies, etc. - Pay investigative research databases - Pennsylvania Bar Association formal opinion 2014-300 ethical obligations for attorneys using social media
Fastcase: The Definitive Guide by
Fastcase is an invaluable legal research tool that provides a variety of legal resources, from case law to statutes, regulations, and more. If you have access to Fastcase from the more than 25 state bar associations that provide it to their members, or if you have your own subscription, this guide will help you make the best use of your legal research time and budget, and will introduce you to valuable features that you may not know it offers.
Free Internet Legal Research, Second Revised Edition by
A guide for attorneys to the best free legal sites, and how to effectively use them! The internet is one of the most powerful tools a lawyer can use, and it becomes more indispensable each day. Legal information used in practicing law - cases, statutes, regulations, and more, even foreign and international sources - are available for free if you just know where to look. No monthly charges, download fees, or subscriptions needed. For many sources of law all you need are an internet connection and this book to direct you to the best sites and to help you use them!
Internet Legal Research on a Budget by
With cost-conscious clients scrutinizing legal bills, lawyers cannot afford to depend on expensive legal research databases, especially when reliable free resources are available. Internet Legal Research on a Budget will help you quickly find the best free or low-cost resources online and use them for your research needs. The authors share the top websites, apps, blogs, Twitter feeds, and crowdsourced resources that will save you time, money, and frustration during the research process.
Google Gmail and Calendar in One Hour for Lawyers by
Google Gmail and Calendar in One Hour for Lawyers is designed as a step-by-step guide for lawyers to learn what features and functions are available in Gmail and Google Calendar, as well as related services such as Google Chat, Google Talk, Google Hangout, and Call Phone.
The Lawyer's Guide to Microsoft Outlook 2013 by
Take control of your e-mail, calendar, to-do list, and more with The Lawyer's Guide to Microsoft Outlook 2013. This essential guide summarizes the most important new features in the newest version of Microsoft Outlook and provides practical tips that will promote organization and productivity in your law practice.
Microsoft Office 365 for Lawyers by
Introduction -- Getting Office -- Microsoft Office -- Exchange server -- Sharepoint -- Groups and teams -- Skype for business -- Planner -- Migrating to Office 365 -- Administration -- Troubleshooting
Powerpoint in One Hour for Lawyers by
The difference between a successful presentation and an unsuccessful one can often be traced to a presenter's use--or misuse--of PowerPoint in One Hour for Lawyers offers practical advice for creating effective presentations quickly and easily. PowerPoint expert and attorney Paul Unger will help you avoid mishaps and develop a compelling presentation using storyboarding techniques.
The Ultimate Guide to Adobe Acrobat DC by
This book is a comprehensive manual for how to use, and get the most from, Adobe Acrobat (both Standard and Professional). Although the book explains why certain features are of particular relevance to lawyers, the book focuses as a whole on explaining how Acrobat works, for anyone. This book can be used and understood at all levels. A high school student could get as much out of this book as an attorney or another legal professional. It is for everyone. But, if you are a legal professional, we also provide advice and examples on how using Adobe Acrobat will enhance your practice - information not available in any other book.
WordPress in One Hour for Lawyers by
Law firms without websites are placing themselves at a great disadvantage compared with the competition. Even if you feel you receive the majority of your clients through referrals, a website provides the opportunity for those potential clients to learn about you and your firm. This book will explain how to get create your firm's website quickly and easily with WordPress software.
The Lawyer's Guide to Records Management and Retention by
This book will help any law firm create and maintain an effective and well-organized records management program, including administration and storage of client files and administrative records in all types of media. Firms will learn to implement an efficient information, document, and file retrieval system, thus reducing costs, avoiding ethics violations, and ensuring client satisfaction. In addition, the book covers legal and ethics compliance when it comes to management and retention of both paper and electronic files.
Legal Project Management in One Hour for Lawyers by
Provides any attorney with practical skills and methods for improving efficiency, keeping budgets under control, building strong working relationships with clients, and maximizing profitability.
Paperless in One Hour for Lawyers by 
Facebook in One Hour for Lawyers by
Many lawyers use Facebook, the world's most popular social networking platform, to communicate with friends and family across the globe. But lawyers are missing a major opportunity if they do not consider the business possibilities of their Facebook accounts. With a few simple steps, lawyers can harness Facebook to market their services, grow their practices, and expand their legal network--all by using the same methods they already use to communicate with friends and family. Facebook in One Hour for Lawyers will show any attorney--from Facebook(r) novices to advanced users--how to use this powerful tool for both professional and personal purposes. In just one hour, you will learn to: Set up a Facebook(r) account Optimize privacy and other settings Create a profile and manage your timeline Find, organize, and manage friends Use Facebook search and navigation Participate on Facebook with updates, comments, likes, and timelines Send messages, join groups, and subscribe to feeds Establish a business page Monitor your Facebook network Develop a Facebook strategy to grow your legal network"
LinkedIn in One Hour for Lawyers by
Since the first edition of LinkedIn in One Hour for Lawyers was published, LinkedIn has added almost 100 million users, and more and more lawyers are using the platform on a regular basis. Now, this bestselling ABA book has been fully revised and updated to reflect significant changes to LinkedIn's layout and functionality made through 2013. LinkedIn in One Hour for Lawyers, Second Edition, will help lawyers make the most of their online professional networking.
Winning with Social Media by
Social media basics -- Pre-litigation steps -- Stretching the boundaries for service of a complaint and personal jurisdiction -- Discovery, ethics, and motions to compel -- Experts and their digital footprints -- Monitoring social media at trial -- Selecting and monitoring jurors -- Laying foundations -- Authentication -- Admissibility : overcoming hearsay objections
The 2018 Solo and Small Firm Legal Technology Guide: Critical Decisions Made Simple by
This annual guide is the only one of its kind written to help solo and small firm lawyers find the best technology for their dollar. You’ll find the most current information and recommendations on computers, servers, networking equipment, legal software, printers, security products, smartphones, tablets, and anything else a law office might need. It’s written in clear, easily understandable language to make implementation easier if you choose to do it yourself, or use it in conjunction with your IT consultant. Either way, you’ll learn how to make technology work for you.
The ABA Cybersecurity Handbook by
The ABA Cybersecurity Handbook: A Resource for Attorneys, Law Firms and Business Professionals provides practical cyber threat information, guidance, and strategies to lawyers and law firms of all sizes. The guide considers the interrelationship between lawyer and client, establishing what legal responsibilities and professional obligations are owed to the client in the event of a cyber attack. The book provides strategies to help law firms defend against the cyber threat, and also offers information on how to best to respond if breached.
Android Apps in One Hour for Lawyers by
Lawyers are already using Android devices to make phone calls, check e-mail, and send text messages. After the addition of several key apps, Android smartphones or tablets can also help run a law practice. From the more than 800,000 apps currently available, Android Apps in One Hour for Lawyers highlights the "best of the best" apps that will allow you to practice law from your mobile device. In just one hour, this book will describe how to buy, install, and update Android apps.
Cloud Computing for Lawyers by
As more businesses move their IT systems into the cloud, lawyers need to ask if cloud computing is right for their firm. Cloud Computing for Lawyers features a discussion of cloud computing fundamentals, an overview of legal cloud computing products, and step-by-step instructions for implementing cloud computing in your practice--including practical tips for securing your data.
Law Firm Cybersecurity by
Law firms can mitigate the risk of a data breach through a variety of means, including: investing in cybersecurity tools, hiring internal and external cyber resources to augment the firm's current information security practices, and arguably most importantly changing the firm's culture to be more security conscious. No one size fits all solution exists for dealing with cyber threats, but with proper focus and resources, a firm can consider its unique factors and develop an information security posture that addresses its most compelling concerns. While preventing a breach should be a paramount concern for any law firm, it is similarly important to prepare for what happens in the event that a breach occurs. Although there are options, such as cyber insurance, to help mitigate the direct costs of a breach, law firms must also look to other options to resolve these issues expeditiously. As the costs associated with litigating data breach claims continues to climb, it will become increasingly apparent that law firms must begin looking towards other dispute resolution mechanisms, such as arbitration, in order to mitigate and control costs. Firms must take steps to create processes to mitigate and control the risk and fallout resulting from a data breach. A strong step in the right direction is Law Firm Cybersecurity, a resource that gives firms the tools they need to defend themselves.
The Legal Technology Guidebook by
This book explores the transformational impact of new technological developments on legal practice. More specifically, it addresses knowledge management, communication, and e-discovery related technologies, and helps readers develop the project management and data analysis skills needed to effectively navigate the current, and future, landscapes. It studies the impact of current trends on business practices, as well as the ethical, procedural, and evidentiary concerns involved. Introducing novel interactive technologies as well as traditional content, the book reflects expertise from across the legal industry, including practitioners, the bench, academia, and legal technology consultants. All of the contributing authors currently teach aspiring lawyers and/or paralegals and have identified a gap in the available instructional material. Rapid technology advances have radically changed the way we all live and work, and the legal profession is by no means exempt from the impact of these changes. In order to better assist their clients, and to better compete on the legal market, it is imperative for lawyers to understand the ethical, functional, and business consequences of new technologies on their respective practices. This book provides the necessary content by including legal technology texts, information about novel pedagogical technologies, helpful tools for managing legal technologies and IT staff, statistical methods, tips and checklists.
OfficeKeeper by
OfficeKeeper is a comprehensive law office management resource for all OSBA members. It is a nuts and bolts resource guide to opening, maintaining and closing a law office, covering both the day-to-day operations of a law office, as well as professional responsibility. It includes checklists, forms, references and links to websites and the new Model Rules. It also includes chapters on Marketing and Law Office Technology.
Virtual Law Practice by
The legal market has recently experienced a dramatic shift as lawyers seek out alternative methods of practicing law and providing more affordable legal services. Virtual law practice is revolutionizing the way the public receives legal services and how legal professionals work with clients. Stephanie Kimbro's practical guide teaches lawyers how to set up and run a virtual law firm. It provides case studies of individual virtual law practices along with client scenarios to show how web-based technology may be used by legal professionals to work with online clients and avoid malpractice risks.
