Research Guides: Technology in Law Practice: Study Aids

West Academic Study Aids

Acing Intellectual Property (West Academic) This study aid uses outline-like checklists to lead law students through the analytical steps necessary to analyze intellectual property issues. The book covers trademark, patent, copyright, and trade secret law. Each chapter begins with a brief review of the important rules and concepts that govern a particular area of intellectual property law. The review material is followed by a checklist that provides students with a clear roadmap for answering intellectual property questions. Each chapter concludes with practice problems and solutions that illustrate how students can use the checklist to analyze intellectual property issues.
Black Letter Outline on Intellectual Property (West Academic) This reference provides an overview of unfair trade practices, including the common-law and statutory basis of unfair competition, antitrust, consumer protection, regulated industries, and labor. Includes discussion of intellectual property, which is also composed of statutory and common-law elements. The text is a helpful resource for students studying business or commercial torts, intellectual property, trade regulation, unfair competition and unfair trade practices, and related subjects.
Copyright Law (West Academic) This title provides a clear and thorough exploration of the doctrinal and policy issues in American copyright law. In a style accessible to both students and practitioners, it covers every major topic in basic copyright courses: history, formalities, exclusive rights, fair use, civil and criminal enforcement, and federal preemption of state law. The authors also address major new issues that have emerged, including the rules of the Digital Millennium Copyright Act regarding circumvention of technological protections of copyrighted materials, and the principles of secondary liability, both in their basic form and as developed through application of the DMCA to Internet service providers. In addition, attention is given to the important points at which U.S. copyright law intersects with international intellectual property treaties.
Copyright Law in A Nutshell (West Academic) This product offers a compact yet comprehensive and up-to-date overview of U.S. copyright law in an uncluttered and readable format. Coverage ranges from the fundamental concepts of originality, authorship, and infringement to the highly technical rules governing digital phonorecord deliveries and digital public performance rights in sound recordings, the safe harbor provisions that limit the liability of Internet service providers, and the anti-circumvention and copyright management information provisions of the Digital Millennium Copyright Act. The evolving doctrines of fair use and contributory liability are also given thorough attention.
Global Internet Law in a Nutshell (West Academic) Global Internet Law in a Nutshell begins with a review of the history, technology, and competing theories of the Internet that enables a deeper understanding of case law and statutory developments discussed in the substantive chapters. It briefly covers the history of the Internet through the rapidly evolving Web 3.0, competing theories of Internet governance, cyber jurisdiction and enforcement of judgments, choice and conflicts of law, cybertorts, online contracting and licensing including social media terms of use, the protection of online intellectual property assets, global consumer law, the protection of online privacy, criminal liability for Internet activity, and European Community statutes such as the General Data Protection Regulation, E-Commerce Directive, Brussels Regulation, and Rome I Regulation. The Third Edition presents a concise discussion of cloud computing and social media terms of use. Each chapter of this revised edition updates the key cases and statutory developments from the United States, Europe, and around the world. This book is an ideal beginning textbook as well as starting point for most Internet-related research. This short treatise provides a succinct summary of e-commerce law developments around the world.
Intellectual Property, Patents,Trademarks, and Copyright in a Nutshell (West Academic) Miller and Davis’ Intellectual Property, Patents, Trademarks, and Copyright in a Nutshell presents the fundamentals of trademark and copyright laws. Authors Michael Davis and famed Harvard professor Arthur Miller provide authoritative coverage on the foundations of patent protection, patentability, and the patenting process. The text addresses: Torts and property Antitrust and government regulation Concept of federalism State and federal conflicts.
Intellectual Property and Unfair Competition in a Nutshell (Westlaw) This guide offers a broad summary of the law of intellectual property (patents, copyrights trademarks, trade secrets, and a variety of other sui generis forms of protection for innovations and creativity) and the law of unfair competition (trademark infringement, passing off, trade disparagement, and deceptive advertising).It also touches on related fields of law, such as antitrust, consumer protection, regulated industries, and the law governing interference with contractual and noncontractual relations.
Intellectual Property Stories (West Academic) This book brings famous cases to life by telling the true, never-heard-before stories behind landmark Intellectual Property cases. It is organized into six chapters, each drawing on cases in patents, copyrights, trademarks, or unfair competition, to illustrate the problems encountered in intellectual property law. The works, inventions, and marks at issue in these cases vary widely.
Principles of Copyright Law (West Academic) This product guides the reader through both the traditional topics, such as fair use, and more modern topics, such as the anti-circumvention provisions of the Digital Millennium Copyright Act, without getting bogged down in unnecessary or tedious detail. This title is ideal for end-of-semester review by students in both basic and advanced courses on copyright law, and also will be of use to practitioners and other legal professionals seeking a comprehensive yet manageable introduction to the subject.
Principles of Intellectual Property Law (West Academic) Intellectual property has helped define our culture, our economy, and our lifestyle. This book provides a comprehensive survey of the entire field of intellectual property, including copyrights, patents, trademarks, trade secrets, unfair competition, and the right of publicity. It is designed to be reader-friendly and is up-to-date through October 2016, including many new important Supreme Court decisions in copyright, patent, and trademark law. It can be a study guide for an intellectual property survey course or used as a useful introduction or refresher for anyone interested in the field. The book focuses primarily on three main federal intellectual property rights – copyrights, patents, and trademarks – along with the new federal trade secret law and important areas of state law protection (such as the right of publicity).
A Short & Happy Guide to Copyright (West Academic) The Short and Happy Guide to Copyright is a succinct, enjoyable, and time-friendly text that is designed for you: •To get up to speed on the biggest issues of copyright law, and the black letter law addressing those issues;•To educate yourself as to your future clients’ rights, potential liabilities, and options and opportunities regarding legal problems in copyright. Whether you plan to specialize in copyright or intellectual property, or simply want to be available to your firm or law office as an attorney who can take on a novel problem in an exciting and potentially high-profile and high-dollar-value area of your firm’s or office’s practice, this book will be useful to you;•To provide a vocabulary of legal terms to use when consulting with lawyers, clients, accountants, financial planners, and insurers regarding copyright problems in the creative, entertainment, and scientific fields;•To identify existing or potential legal problems in your clients’ and your organization’s practices. This guide will discuss a variety of areas in which exposure to legal liability or sanctions may present itself as a current or future problem based on your clients’ practices and procedures.Don’t let the small size fool you! This guide is full of useful information about copyright, but it also is designed to be fun.
Social Media Law in a Nutshell (West Academic) Social media has transformed how the world communicates. Its impact has been felt in every corner of our society including the law. Social Media Law in a Nutshell is a wide-ranging look of how the social media transformation has impacted various legal fields. From marketing to employment to torts to criminal law to copyright and beyond, virtually every legal field has been changed by social media. By looking at high level concerns and example cases, Social Media Law in a Nutshell attempts to give practitioners exposure to social media issues and concerns so they can better advise clients and approach the new social media world with their legal eyes opened to new and old risks alike. This book can also serve as a text for law professors looking to expose law students to the burgeoning area of Social Media Law.

Lexis OverDrive Study Aids

Mastering Intellectual Property (Lexis OverDrive) Mastering Intellectual Property is a practical guide to the intricacies of trade secret, patent, copyright, moral rights, trademark, and related fields of intellectual property law. Less detailed than a multi-volume treatise, and aimed at an interested but novice audience, the book describes and then illustrates each of these separate but related areas of law, comparing and contrasting their distinct features, uses, benefits, and shortcomings. The book features clear statements of the applicable rules and standards and follows each with illustrative examples that demonstrate the application of the abstract law to concrete facts. The book is an indispensable aid and supplement to anyone seeking to master the broad spectrum of intellectual property law.
Questions & Answers: Intellectual Property (Lexis OverDrive) The questions and answers in Questions & Answers: Intellectual Property are designed to cover the broad subject of Intellectual Property in a comprehensive way. The major aspects of each area of Intellectual Property Law covered are addressed in a systematic way -- subject matter/validity, ownership and duration of rights, infringement and remedies, and defenses/limitations. Questions & Answers: Intellectual Property covers, along with others, the following major areas of Intellectual Property Law: • Copyrights, • Patents, • Trademarks, • Trade Secrets, • The Right of Publicity, and • Unfair Competition
Understanding Copyright Law (Lexis OverDrive) The landscape of copyright law has changed dramatically since the last edition of Understanding Copyright Law. During the past several years both the Congress and the courts have tried to adapt copyright law to the new, interactive (internet 2.0) digital technologies, such as You-Tube, and Facebook, and to efforts like the Google Book Search Project. This new edition of Understanding Copyright Law has incorporated all the recent case law and legislative developments, focusing on the challenges of the digital age. Written with clarity and precision, this edition of Understanding Copyright Law remains the most accessible and comprehensive text for students of copyright law.
Understanding Intellectual Property Law (Lexis OverDrive) Understanding Intellectual Property Law, Third Edition covers all of the intellectual property areas and issues likely to be addressed in an intellectual property survey course. After a comprehensive Introduction in Chapter 1, the general areas covered in the remaining chapters include: • Patents • Trade Secrets • Copyright • Trademarks, and • Other Intellectual Property Rights.

CALI Lessons

Copyright and the Open Source Movement (CALI Lesson) This lesson will introduce you to the GNU/Linux operating system and its interaction with Copyright Law. You can complete this lesson without any exposure to the law of copyrights, but the other CALI lessons on copyright will explore basic copyright concepts. This lesson will be helpful to students studying concepts of ownership in the copyright context. After this lesson and the model answers to the essay questions, you will understand the interaction between current copyright and licensing law and the open source movement's freedom.
A Copyright Primer (CALI Lesson) Copyright Law may seem shrouded in mystery: how can you create, transfer, and protect property interests in something intangible? This lesson provides an overview of how it is done, focusing on copyright protection for music. This focus takes advantage of the multimedia capacity of the program; for example, you can listen to two musical works to determine whether one infringes the other, and you can listen to the parody version of "Pretty Woman" that figured in a decision of the United States Supreme Court. Students familiar with copyright law will find many resources beyond those they studied in class. Hypertext links take you to cases and statutes, and addresses are provided for web sites where you can obtain additional information.
Fundamentals of Fair Use (CALI Lesson) Because copyright creates ownership rights in original expression, the private property interests of copyright owners sometimes come into conflict with the public's interest in disseminating knowledge, expressing ideas, or simply enjoying, sharing, and building upon the protected expression. This lesson introduces the basic concept of fair use in copyright law, and offers numerous examples to test the student's ability to apply the balancing test of 17 U.S.C. § 107.
A Primer on Copyright Infringement (CALI Lesson) This lesson is an introduction to the principles governing copyright infringement. After completing this lesson, you will be familiar with the standard used to determine liability for copyright infringement. Specifically, the lesson will introduce the elements necessary to support a claim of copyright infringement, which include assessments of copying, access, probative resemblance, striking similarity, improper appropriation, and substantial similarity.
Social Media Research Tools and Ethics (CALI Lesson) This lesson examines the ethical issues associated with, and tools available for, researching parties, witnesses, and jurors on social media sites.