Images of art and architecture from the collections of the Courtauld Institute. This site offers quizzes, polls and a discussion forum where visitors can contribute ideas and debates on visual culture.
Images of contemporary visual art by artists of African and Asian descent working in the UK since the post-war period. This site includes a learning index that contains VAD teaching and learning resources written by lecturers and authors who are specialists in their fields.
The National Museum of African Art Library contains individual artist files consisting of gallery brochures, exhibition announcements, and invitations, price lists, resumes, press releases, reviews, and newspaper cuttings. The site also provides a link to Smithsonian Institution Libraries.
The Art Renewal Center offers an online museum of art from the Renaissance through the nineteenth century. The ARC also posts the winners of the ARC Salon exhibition; this Salon highlights contemporary representational art.
A directory to art historical sites. The site provides coverage from prehistoric to contemporary art and architecture in a list of international museums and their links as well as research resources. On-line articles and books are also available to the users through the site as well as listings for scholarship opportunities.
AICT includes a wide array of art historical imagery ranging from prehistoric to the twentieth century, with particular emphasis on images of architectural and archaeological sites. The site offers a textbook concordance which allows its users to connect each image to illustrations in the textbooks used by their institution.
This site allows the visitor to search for a particular artist or title and discover information about the artist's bibliography, links to museums that hold objects by a particular artist, images of a specific work of art, web links, and online articles pertaining to the subject matter. Other resources within the site include an Actual Sizer for the display of art in its "real life" dimensions as well as a glossary.
ARTstor is a non-profit initiative¸ founded by the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation¸ with a mission to use digital technology to enhance scholarship¸ teaching and learning in the arts and associated fields. It is a searchable database of more than 2.5 million digital images and related data.
NOTE: ARTSTOR CONTENT IS MOVING TO JSTOR (MUCH CONTENT IS ALREADY MOVED). ARTSTOR WILL BE RETIRED IN AUGUST 2024.
A collection of core images that support the DAAP curriculum at the University of Cincinnati (UC). These images span a broad spectrum of the visual arts including contemporary performance artists to urban landscapes. This collection is restricted to educational use by UC faculty, students and staff. You must be using the UC network to view this collection.
"Records for objects in the collection of the J. Paul Getty Museum, which includes Greek, Etruscan, and Roman antiquities; European paintings, drawings, sculpture, and decorative arts from the Middle Ages to the end of the 19th century; medieval and Renaissance illuminated manuscripts; and photographs from the 19th century to the present."
A digital database of art and architecture in Asia, ranging from about 2500 B.C.E. to the present, are included from the countries of India, Afghanistan, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Thailand, Indonesia, Myanmar (Burma), China, and Japan. The site features online exhibitions from practicing artists in China, India, Japan and Tibet as well as eduational resources.
Includes Cornell's Political Americana Collection, the Estate Project for Artists with AIDS, gravestones from the American Antiquarian Society, an Indonesian art collection, Catena historic gardens and landscapes from the Bard Graduate Center.
Searchable database which includes the entire collections of the Department of European Paintings and the Department of American Paintings and Sculpture, as well as highlights from each of the museum’s other curatorial departments. The database is searchable by artist, period, or style. The site also features a chronological timeline of art history and several educational resources.
This online database provides access to more than 80,000 portrait records. Separate searches provide access to the NPG collection, a biographical search, and the Catalog of American Portraits, which includes portraits in both public and private collections in the US and abroad.
"NYPL Digital Gallery provides free and open access to over 700,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more."
Oxford Art Online is an authoritative¸ inclusive¸ and easily searchable online art resource. Through a single gateway users can access-and simultaneously cross-search-an expanding range of Oxford's art reference works: Grove Art Online¸ the Benezit Dictionary of Artists¸ the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics¸ The Oxford Companion to Western Art¸ and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms¸ as well as many specially commissioned articles and bibliographies available exclusively online.
Phil Foster (1915-1999) Born in Elsmere, Kentucky, Phil Foster was a painter and art educator who often exhibited in group exhibitions both locally and internationally. He received his BFA from the Art Academy of Cincinnati in 1933 as well as an honorary doctorate in 1986. After his undergraduate study, Foster worked for Burton Rogers as a commercial artist in Product Presentations. He was an instructor at the University of Cincinnati from 1947 to 1986 in the College of Design, Art, Architecture and Planning.
Database for the entire collection of the Tate, which encompasses British Art since 1500 and international modern art. Searchable by artist, subject, title, and advanced search features. The site also includes a glossary of art terms.
VADS is the online resource for visual arts. It has provided services to the academic community for 12 years and has built up a considerable portfolio of visual art collections comprising over 100,000 images that are freely available and copyright cleared for use in learning, teaching and research in the UK.
Contains over 300,000 images from more than 30 collections. These images fall under several subject matters including cartography, fine art, architecture, and photography. The site offers several features for viewing, including a zoom tool and multiple image viewing.
Contains over 12,100 digital reproductions of European paintings and sculptures created between the years 1150 and 1800. A considerable number of the pictures are commented upon and biographies of the significant artists are given. Visitors can choose to search by title, artist's name, type, or simply take one of the guided tours. The site also provides free online postcards.
High resolution scans of works of art by Cleveland artists, commissioned under the Works Progress Administration. The WPA was the largest New Deal program and provided jobs and income to the unemployed during the Great Depression. It built many public buildings and roads, and as well operated a large arts project