This continually growing collection contains images of urban planning projects from China, Africa, Europe, and the United States, including research projects of DAAP faculty and students. Images of the built environment are from the Cincinnati Preservation Association, professional and amateur photographers, and from students and staff at the University of Cincinnati.
Over 6,000 images from the greater Cincinnati area. Pre-1940 photos, postcards and slides relating to landmarks and events of local interest (with limited text) are now accessible for use by researchers, students, and the general public.
Provides links to frequently requested maps of the City of Cincinnati.
Census & Demographics: database includes tables charts and maps that illustrate statistically and graphically the character and makeup of the city based on its statistical neighborhood.
Abandoned/Vacant Buildings: report contains residential-only vacant buildings ordered vacant due to unsafe or unsanitary conditions.
The historical map collection has over 93,000 maps and related images online. The collection includes rare 16th through 21st century maps of America, North America, South America, Europe, Asia, Africa, Pacific, Arctic, Antarctic, and the World.
Includes historical maps that typically portray the physical environment and a variety of cultural elements for a geographic area at a particular point in time. The maps in this category show a geographic area larger than a city or town.
The Public Library of Cincinnati and Hamilton County's maps and atlases of Ohio and Kentucky, including Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps for Cincinnati, volumes 1-8. Includes atlases for a number of Ohio counties, and railroad maps for Ohio in the late 19th and early 20th century. Many of the atlases are full-text searchable, and are available for download and offline viewing. This collection is in progress, and will be updated regularly.
The National Maritime Museum collections contain more than 100,000 sea charts and maps dating from the medieval period to the present day. They document the results of exploration and discovery and show how techniques of navigation and surveying developed. Land maps are also included in this collection.
Sanborn Historic Maps are large scale street plans produced by the Sanborn Fire Insurance company from 1867 to 1970. Sanborn Maps show the outline of each building including the location of windows and doors together with street names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries, building use, and house and block numbers.