Research Guides: Planning &amp; Urban Studies Guide: Maps and Mapping Tools

Maps and Tools

AtoZ Maps Online
"AtoZ Maps Online.com is the worlds largest subscription-based database of proprietary, royalty-free world, continent, country, and state maps. Included in the 4,000+ maps are: political maps, physical maps, outline maps, population maps, precipitation maps, climate maps, and other thematic maps. New maps are added to the collection every month."--Database home page

CAGIS : Cincinnati Area Geographic Information System
CAGIS Online provides public access to key CAGIS GIS data. It enables users to create sophisticated maps tailored to their own needs and to query the underlying geographic information system data. The site includes street, topography and property base maps, along with aerial photographs dating from 1996 to 2016. CAGIS also provides a set of downloadable GIS layers.
Cuyahoga County Planning Commission Green Print
It contains an interactive map of Northeast Ohio that lets you turn features on and off, zoom to the street and parcel level, access parcel information, measure, make printable maps, and use different analysis tools. It includes a Technical Guide that provides instructions, definitions of the various layers and their sources, and a FAQ.
Ecoregions of the Continental United States
Level III and IV
FEMA Flood Map Service Center
The FEMA Flood Map Service Center (MSC) is the official public source for flood hazard information produced in support of the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP). Use the MSC to find your official flood map, access a range of other flood hazard products, and take advantage of tools for better understanding flood risk. FEMA flood maps are continually updated through a variety of processes.
Ohio Department of Transportation (ODOT) Transportation Information Mapping System (TIMS)
TIMS is the Ohio Department of Transportation's (ODOT) web-mapping portal which provides data on Ohio's transportation system. Data can be downloaded as an Excel file or a shapefile.
Ohio-Kentucky-Indiana (OKI) Maps & Apps
Ohio-Kentucky-Indiana (OKI) Regional Council of Governments developed a series of online mapping applications including: Tip on Demand, Cincinnati Bike Route Guide, and Traffic Counts.

SimplyAnalytics (formerly SimplyMap)
SimplyAnalytics (formerly SimplyMap) is a web-based mapping application to create professional quality, interactive thematic maps and reports using thousands of U.S. demographic, business, and marketing variables. Select, sort, and compare data across multiple geographic locations and create custom reports exportable to spreadsheets. First time users must create an account to login.

Social Explorer
Social Explorer contains historical Census data from 1790 to 2010, the American Community Survey, 2005 to 2015 and the Uniform Crime Report from 2010 to 2015. NEW feature -- check out "Demographic Profiles" at bottom of Social Explorer page for a plethora of demographic details by state, county, place, MSA or ZIP code.
more...less...
Database tools allow you to explore Census data visually through the use of interactive data maps and also browse and download Census data in convenient formats for offline processing. You may explore the data through interactive thematic maps of Census 1790 through Census 2010; then create a report from the view of your interest to see numbers and percent breakdowns. You may also go directly to the reports section and choose the data you wish to view and download. Social Explorer also allows you to create and export map slide shows which is very convenient for viewing data over time.
Record date: 07/10/2018
Streetmix
Streetmix is a web-based tool to easily create street sections (2D cross-section view of a street). This tool does not require technical skill. The tool allows you to design, remix, and share your street. It allows you to customize a street with bike paths, widen sidewalks, traffic lanes, street furniture, transit etc. Streetmix can be used as a tool to promote and engage citizens around streetscape and placemaking issues, such as Complete Streets.