Research Guides: Company Information (U.S.): Advertising

Advertising

Hoover's Online
Hoover's Online is a database of public and private company reports and Industry studies. Search by: Company name¸ Ticker symbol¸ Keyword Person's last name. UC has access also to the Members Only sections which includes the Hoovers in-depth Company Profiles where you will find sales leads¸ business contacts¸ investment ideas¸ financial information and competitive intelligence information including a list of competitiors.
NOTE: KNOWN ISSUE WITH ACCESS PROBLEMS; TRY A DIFFERENT BROWSER, CLEAR HISTORY AND/OR TRY AGAIN.
Coverage: Current
IBISWorld
IBISWorld Industry Reports provide in-depth industry analysis for over 700 U.S. industries in all major U.S. industry sectors at the 5-digit level of NAICS . Reports are updated regularly¸ and contain: key statistics¸ market characteristics¸ segmentation¸ industry conditions¸ industry performance¸ key competitors¸ key factors¸ and industry outlook and forecast.
Coverage - Current
AdForum
AdForum containts over 110¸000 ads from over 100 countries produced in the last 10 years with an emphasis on notable and award winning creative work. AdForum has ads from all media types (TV¸ print¸ billboard¸ radio¸ case studies interactive) and all ads are viewable in a high resolution video player that includes zoom-in functionality and full screen viewing on print ads. A large number of these ads also include full production credits. An advanced search tool allows users to find the ads they need quite easily.
Coverage: 2000 - present
Winmo
Provides information on over 20¸000 U.S. and international advertisers who each spend more than $200¸000 annually on advertising. Each listing includes advertising expenditures by media¸ current agency¸ fiscal year-end and annual sales¸ contact information on key personnel¸ brand name info¸ S.I.C. & NAICS classifications¸ and other key data. This resource also includes detailed profiles of nearly 15¸000 U.S. and international advertising agencies¸ including accounts represented by each agency¸ fields of specialization¸ breakdown of gross billings by media¸ contact information on agency personnel and much more.
Ad*Access
The Ad*Access Project¸ funded by the Duke Endowment "Library 2000" Fund¸ presents images and database information for over 7¸000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. Ad*Access concentrates on five main subject areas: Radio¸ Television¸ Transportation¸ Beauty and Hygiene¸ and World War II¸ providing a coherent view of a number of major campaigns and companies through images preserved in one particular advertising collection available at Duke University.
SRDS Media Planning Platform
Information on circulation¸ advertising rates¸ newspapers¸ magazines¸ computer and community publications¸ radio and television and other media. The library subscribes to the following: Business Publication Advertising Source¸ Consumer Magazine Advertising Source¸ Direct Marketing List Source¸ Newspaper Advertising Source¸ Radio Advertising Source and TV and Cable Source. Coverage: Current

Advertising Publications

Ad Age
Ad Age is a global media platform focusing on curated creativity, data and analysis, people and culture, and innovation and forecasting.
AdWeek
Adweek is the leading source of news and insight serving the brand marketing ecosystem. First published in 1979, Adweek’s award-winning coverage reaches an engaged audience of more than 6 million professionals across platforms including print, digital, events, podcasts, newsletters, social media and mobile apps
DigiDay
The publisher covers the current (and future) state of four verticals—brands, agencies, platforms and publishers—and is known for its immersive, comprehensive journalistic coverage and breaking scoops. We highly recommend their daily newsletter, which breaks down the day’s five most important stories. Access the website: https://digiday.com/
PR Week
PR Week may feel more like a news organization than the other advertising-oriented publications above—particularly because its content focuses on the PR of politics, business and entertainment—but it does a service to marketing professionals by breaking industry news, trends and breakdowns of the biggest PR mishaps and the best PR spin.